Shonky Dealer ...or not?

Thread: Shonky Dealer ...or not?

Shonky Dealer ...or not?

Recently bought a 1994 Southwind SF20 with 175 Yammy done 169 hours.

Boat number 4.

Paid $25k+ and thought I got a good deal.....now seems I may have been shafted.
    Bought it interstate so test run was not really an option, but I had the dealer confirm to me on many occassions prior to, and after the purchase as to the quality of the package. 'Everything is in good working order' I was told.
    On delivery of the boat I immediately smelt a rat, as some of the options we discussed were not present eg safety equipment, power winch etc.
    Nevertheless, after inspecting the boat and raising these issues, the dealer was quite accomodating and supplied these (excluding winch) at no cost.
    Got the boat home and immediately found a few more problems.
    Bilge pump was totally corroded (minor issue), and motor was very difficult to start and quickly overheated. This was odd, as the dealer had the motor running on day of pick-up.

Rang dealer to question problems and told them I was considering taking in for local service.
    Response was to save $300+ dollars and take boat out and enjoy.
    Then tried to contact previous owners using rego forms (provides name and address).....no such listing.

My gut feeling led me to get serviced which revealed that 170 litre tank was predominantly full of water.
    Cost to repair $500.

With the motor now running well, overheating problem fixed, and keen to go fishing, I proceed to headout to sea yesterday with family onboard.
    After cruising for approx 30 mins I note that hour gauge is not moving?
    Should be increasing every six minutes.
    Right...so how many hours has this boat done?????

No other visual problems until we return to the ramp.
    I decide to run the bilge just to see how much water on board?
    The bilge runs for approx 5-10 mins before emptiyng.
    I calculate approx 50 - 60 litres of water in the bilge after being on the water only 4 hours?
    Now I have no idea of hours on motor or how water is getting in?

The whole package looks great, and generally in great order for its age.

So, have I been sold a lemon?
    How can I estimate engine hours?
    What can I do to locate leak/s?

Appreciate any feedback....

Ps...and dont tell me I should have test run first......learn't my lesson here.....
    I have kept dates of all correspondence, although most was verbal.

Cheers Jonah.

Re: Shonky Dealer ...or not?

Hi jonah
    mate never trust dealers

to find the leak place in bungs and fill with water and food dye (red) this will give you a better sight as to where the leak or leaks are

as for the rest send the dealer the bill with the letter that if not paided will seek legal advice

Ausfish Platinum Member peterbo3's Avatar

Jonah,
    Dept of Fair Trading in State of purchase should be your next stop. You need written evidence. Ads, emails, that sort of stuff. Try & reconstruct a diary detailing your conversations with the dealer using your phone records. Act quickly. Seek advice tomorrow. Do not contact the dealer until you get qualified advice.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

That's a shocker! But repeated australia wide sadly.
    Do yourself at least a small favour and just forget about the hours it has done but first get a compression check so you can jump on any problems it may indicate, if all even - go play.

I know it is second best news, but really if your engine has in reality done 550h but compression is good it may well outlast the engine you thought you were buying.

Just a hint - prop it when heavy-est and prop it at the manufacturers highest operating limit or slightly above then relax. If it is now WOT somewhere lower than what I said above I would stay jumpy.

Cheers Guys.

Will fill boat tomorrow and check for leaks.
    Compression seems fine, so hopefully motor is sound.

I have not contacted the dealer since my last discussions re motor overheating, and have since had motor serviced etc.
    Still building my ammunition!

FNQ - I dont understand your last paragraph. Can you please put in laymans terms.

Jonah

Regarding the leak I would check the bungs first. If there is a split in the rubber ring you have probably found your leak.

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

Agree with Billfisher above, most leaks are from poor sealing bungs.

If that isn't the obvious cause and you do have to put some water in to search for the leak, then some bloo-loo in the water will help find it and it washes out easily later.

- Darren

If your motor is running, but running hot it is most likely the water pump impeller needs replacing or your thermostat has some sand or dirt build up in it. I would have both of these checked, they are relatively cheap fixes.

On the leaks.....

I had one on new boat, couldnt find it, was underfloor checking with boat on water etc etc.

Filled up with water, bungs ok, no leaks showing.

Dealer very helpful, eventually he filled up in workshop, and she took heaps but they found the leak, one of the motor bolt holes!
    Was only taking water when I was stopping and the tail wave running up transom, so very hard to find. dealer fixed up no dramas though.

So if filling her up, might pay to go fairly high if nothing shows early.

Good luck

Ron

I recently bought myself a little tinny (i know its nothing like buying a bigger boat) from a guy in QLD (i live in ACT), I was told that the boat was in A1 condition and the motor was a 1998 mariner 25hp. When i got the boat i took it out to my local dealer to get it all checked out, the dealer told me the motor was a 1990 not a 1998. It still ran ok but needed a really good service. I should've checked everything first. I ended up selling the motor and by sheer fluke i bought a 2002 15 hp Yamaha off an air force guy in QLD for $800. Thinking i'd have to fix it up to get my moneys worth i was prepared to pay some money to get it right. When it arrived i was truly astonished at the bargain i had got, not only was the motor in tip top condition, it ran perfectly. So its really a hit and miss situation buying from dealers and buying interstate because you cant test it out first. I lucked out the first time but got a great deal the second time.
    Best thing to do is get all the information possible and in writing, so if its not what it says, you have written proof to take to fair trading.

Best of luck mate, at least the boat is in good condition, pity about the motor.

Thanks guys.

Filled the boat tonight and immediate leak from the bung.
    Its a funny set up. A latch type bung that screws in and is connected to a poly tube.
    Hard to dislodge from the boat.
    Hoping I can find a replacement?

Motor is running fine (floods easy) just dissapointed the hour gauge is not working as the main reason I purchased was due to low hours.
    Working on the theory the cable fell out recently (wishful thinking).

Jonah

I would never spend $25K unseen. If its interstate lash out a few hundred dollars for a professional to go check it out and give you a report. It will usually work out cheaper in the longrun. As for engine hours it is impossible to know for any boat who knows if some past owner has had the hourmeter disconected.

Sorry just realised this is not what you want to hear at this stage..

Will change the subject.

Did the dealer offer a warranty with the boat????

Sorry I can be confusing most times, will take more notice this time - when on the water fill it with fuel, all buddys, fishing gear etc until it is as heavy as it is ever likely to get for a trip out, travel flatout for 2 minutes in calm conditions and take note of the maximum rpm reached, if this RPM does not touch +- 50rpm of the manufacturers highest recommended operating limit as defined in the manual - at the very least you need it make it do so! by choosing a new prop and/or raising the engine.

In a nutshell if faced with the choice of an engine that can only reach mid manufacturers operating range when tested as above with 300h up on it or a 600h engine that conforms to the above test with a pass mark, the long life sticker goes to the 600h hour engine .

Your 'possibly' higher hour motor is only a bad thing if the compression is uneven now or with OK comp's you do not bother to set it up correctly now that you own it.

Even though I did re-Sika the bung housings and brought new bungs I still get water in the hull bilge. Not sure where it's getting in so I'm going to pressurise the hull with a little air, on the trailer, to check for leaks.

I got mine serviced after being told, by the dealer, that the previous owner had it serviced every year for the last 7 years. My guy said that it had not been touched for at least 5 years. The impeller was stuffed among other things. Who cares, now it runs great. Who believes dealers anyhow.

Photo attached of the old and new impeller, the collar was frozen onto the shaft.

Jeffrey