Good job Budge, You'll find that color won't get that dirty. I had the same on my 1st V-punt,got rid of that boat got tired of getting hammerd in any sort of chop. At least you will know what to do on your next boat.
Excellent work mate well done, looks like your a bit of a perfectionist.
Muz
Tight Lines
Fantastic,Professional job Budge
Congrats to you
Great job mate...very neat and tidy. Well done! I'm looking at getting a mate to do something similar with my tinnie. How much do you reckon you spent on materials all up?
I would have saved a fair bit on getting it donw professionally but for front and rear mine came in well under 400 but this would be dependant on which fittings and what type of wood you go for etc.
Budge
What a great job.
A quick question , what have you used under the hatches to keep them level, (the dark grey strip in the pics), is it alum strip or somthing else?
I am looking at adding a similar hatch in my floor to use as storage or a kill tank.
thanks
I hope mine turns out looking that smick !
What sort of material did you use as the deck?
What did you frame it out with ?
Any smart tips for someone about to embark on a similar task ?
Once again, nice one bro.
Peace Out.
Awesome job
What did you use to glue the carpet down with?
Thanks again guys. I go camping a bit and wanted to be able to take the floors out so i had the extra space so i made the frame up out of pine, the grey strips are allowances in the frame to act as a support for the hatches. If i was going to do it again i would have welded in an ally frame, i think this is a far better option and will give better support. The recess for the foot pedal is held by strips of ally angle so i suppose that maye be one option for you trilogy although i would opt for a different route to make sure the frame will give maximum support.
Stemmie i used 19mm aqua ply at the front and at the rear used 13mm ply, in hindsight i would have used the 19mm at the rear aswell as the 13mm is not up to my standards (I'm a bit picky though). Just make sure you seal whatever you use with a few coast of an oil based paint or estapol etc. My only tip would be to check everything twice when your going through the process its better than stuffing up and having to buy new materials. Make a cardboard template up first but remember that cardboard flexes differently to the ply so even go to a masonite template before the ply if your picky. Ohh and another biggy allow enough for the carpet but not too much so that it looks like there is a gap there, remember the carpet will thin in the joins once itt is down for a while.
Jim i just used some contact adhesive suitable for bonding carpet to wood, i cant remember the brand sorry but i got it from bunnings. Its in a 2 or 4L tin and is a yellow/brown colour and you can just it brush on. Hope this helps.
great boat budge,
hey what sort of $$ did the whole thing cost?
thinking of going down that path myself
tisk tisk..... Budge what were you thinking???
I mean, its a nice looking job 'n all, but, it appears there is something that you forgot.
Crikey, A man goes to all that trouble, and than, no bloody STUBBIE HOLDERS!!!
Now post us some pics when its actually FINISHED.![]()
![]()
![]()
Damo![]()
Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.