Thread: Check your rego sticker!!

Re: Check your rego sticker!!

Yep... All is correct there. Conspicuos (however you spell it), above the waterline, adjacent (this can be interpreted as loosly as you like) and on Port side or rear (mostly yachts) dependant on display of registration numbers.

no_name

i was told by DPI to put sticker THERE 'WHICH I DID' 3 DAYS LATER GGOOONNNNEEEEEE 5 days after the fact SAME LADS BACK got chewed for no STICKER.

'BRING ON KARMA'

Glenn_Woods

Wow. And i blamed the kids. I lost mine and it was only new. Told the missus and she got onto the transport department and she got the same story, that there is a problem with adhesive.

Woodsy

Hi everyone,
    What never ceases to amaze me is this 'faulty glue' excuse seems to come up time and time again over the years. How many years have rego stickers been made? You would think any problems that did exist would be well and truley sorted out by now. I am fed up with copping the end result of the faulty glue and not the manufacturer. What are we supposed to do, drive with our head over the gunnel checking that the sticker is still there.
    Enough of my beefing.
    BillB

It's not just a matter of them staying on.
    You also have to take them off without ripping the paint off with them.
    There's a pretty fine line between the two I'd say
    Mind you the orange ones were pretty good but these blue ones are a pain in the butt.
    My average is a trip per sticker so I order one as soon as I get home so there's no waiting for the new one to arrive.

Lost my sticker on the last trip out. I had it stuck on the port side window as I don't want it on the paint near rego numbers. Why can't the stickers be like a car rego and have the sticky side as the colour side so they can be stuck inside the glass. This would have to be better then having them out in the wind, rain and salt water. Will have to order some new ones.

Hows it going guys

Quote Originally Posted by Stuie View Post
    Lost my sticker on the last trip out. I had it stuck on the
    port side window as I don't want it on the paint near rego numbers. Why can't the stickers be like a car rego and have the sticky side as the colour side so they can be stuck inside the glass. This would have to be better then having them out in the wind, rain and salt water. Will have to order some new ones.

The only prob with having the sticky stuff like the cars is a lot of boats don't have windows be a bit hard to see the details on a tinny .
    Not having a dig but i could imagine the confused looks on the policeman's face as he trys to figure out how to read the sticker.
    Russ
    Last edited by russ81; 22-05-2007 at 11:10 PM.

I've found the fisheries blokes from Townsville to be great. With the Polycraft, almost nothing sticks to it, at least not for long. The times I've been stopped I've had rego label missing and some of the rego numbers have fallen off. No worries. They seem to know about it and just told me to get it fixed, which I did. If you don't get a fine, don't be a whinger. Even if you do get a fine, tough luck, everybody knows the rule. As usual, some of you blokes like to shoot the messenger. If they weren't out there doing their job our waterways would be a hell of a lot worse.

Quote Originally Posted by bootyinblue View Post
    Well, have to stick up for the 'boys in blue' here!

They are out and about policing the waterways, and checking that all boat owners/drivers are adhering to the Acts and Regulations.

Also for those people who are attaching registration labels to centre consoles and the like

"A label will be issued which must be placed on the exterior of the ship in a conspicuous place above the waterline."
    Now I will have to re think where I try to attach my new label on my Centre Console. I put it on the C/C last time after the other one fell off the side. Same glue problem.

Well unfortunatly i have to agree with bootyinblue BUT. About one year ago i was aproached because my label was not visable, it was on the dash as i had lost several before and did explain that at the time. I was infomed i needed to order another and attach it to the outside on the port side, so i did so and have almost lost count of how many replacements have have ordered. I now attach it to my side screen and have cut narrow neat strips of 100mile an hour tape and taped the edges, if i notice the tape lifting i just renew the tape. Works a treat.

I was checked by the fishos on the weekend and recieved a warning for no rego sticker this is the second one to fall off the boat in four months. They advised me I could put it on the port side of my centre console they reckon it will stay there.
    IF IT CAN'T EAT A WHOLE PILLY I DON'T WANT IT

I've lost two as well. Just ordered new ones on line and it cost me nothing. There must be thousands of these things floating around Queensland waterways.

Camo

Agree STUIE63, Stuck mine on the port side of the side console (and its still there) I think. My boat when I picked it up from Motor Marine had rego QQ301Q on the boat sides, when I got the Rego papers and sticker it was for QT115Q ?????????? However quick visit to Qld Tpt got it sorted out. Now the trailer, still waiting for rego papers and sticker, Turns out that someone in Innisfail registered his trailer before mine and both have the same VIN details, be interesting if I get pulled up for no rego label on the trailer. Tried the online link that is posted here, put in the No plate details 362QNG fixed to the trailer and will not accept it. Cant rush these things the wheel turns slowly in the North.