Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Cleaning piston heads

Re: Cleaning piston heads

Think the fella's are just having fun with you BM, can always count on you biting back.
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

BaysideMarine

Perhaps I should start throwing it back the other way and see what gives eh??

You may well be right RAG, but I don't see the funny side....

Merry XMAS

Hi BM
    I dont get on chat boards to have a go at any one but I have been in the mechanical Game long enough to know that if a statement like needle rollers dont wear out then I should have the right to question that statement. I have been in the the trade 30 + years and have post trade qualifacations (not that that should have any thing to do with it). I agree that an uncontaminated needle roller will run for a long time but they will still wear out.
    Funny about the unfiltered air though, if the motor is running out on the water the air is nice and clean but what about when flushing outboards, most people dont even think about there $20,000 motor running without filtering the air.

Quote Originally Posted by blaze
    Funny about the unfiltered air though, if the motor is running out on the water the air is nice and clean but what about when flushing outboards, most people dont even think about there $20,000 motor running without filtering the air.
    I thought it's a bit weird not having an air filter on the little Honda. Dust and crap gets in everywhere when I'm towing the boat around the country side and I worry about the salt spray getting in on bad days so i put a little pod filter on. The little Honda isn't anywhere near the $20,000 (I reckon you can get nearly 15 little Hondas for that ) but it makes me feel better after 100km on a dirt road and I can start the little motor and feel confident no crap is getting in.
    I should put some on the T.O.P. as well to stop the cockroaches getting in >
    My grandad taught me the sandpaper trick for the motor-bikes and such.
    We use a 1/2" thick sheet of glass though (don't like the wood idea as wood isn't perfectly true) and 240 then 320 wet & dry paper and kero as lub. If I didn't do a figure eight he'd kick me up the bum for being a dill and stuffing it up. Just the same as sharpening chisels.
    That gets the alloy heads really flat and true.

BaysideMarine

Blaze,

Most of what I wrote there was really directed to Yakka

hi bm
    just what bit that i wrote was incorrect. the bearings do wear as has been said by others and in great detail how this occurs.
    this was on a motor that has a dubious history just going by the description of salt build up in the water jacket and is what 17 years old.
    taking to much off the head increases the compressionand puts extra stress on the big ends. as again stated by others above.
    these are principles that apply to all motors not just car or outboard.
    shining the head how you suggested if doing it at home well fine, so be it.
    being shiny does not guarantee a flat surface.
    If its taken to engine reco they can shave the heag in 2 thousandths (or whatever the metri equivalent is) of an inch increments and ensure you have a truly flat head.

me thinketh you protest to much.

BaysideMarine

If you purchased a "remanufactured" outboard it would come with a complete set of new bearings and a price tag not far off purchasing a brand new powerhead.

Yakka, do you think that replacing one piston in an engine with an oversized piston is wrong??

Needle roller bearings are regarded typically as non wearing and are not required ot be replaced during a rebuild unless damaged by water or some other mechanical influence. Main bearings are almost never likely to be replaced although big ends require closer examination but in almost all cases will be returned to an engine.

Bear in mind the rollers are checked under high powered magnifier to check for any faults.

Salt build up occurs in any outboard engine that is used in salt water, and not a function of poor care or lack of maintenance. Flushing helps but it does not remove all the salt deposits. Some brands have finer water galleries than others and are more prone to clogging.

Even pressure on a head as its worked back and forth on emery cloth on a flat surface WILL ensure a flat surface. This is how it is done in the marine trade with alloy heads.

I do protest Yakka, yes loud and strong when people outside the industry tell someone within the industry that how the industry does things is wrong....

By the way, just a quick one for you, I assume you know what plastigauge is?

Quote Originally Posted by BM

By the way, just a quick one for you, I assume you know what plastigauge is?
    I do and I'm a sparky
    We used it a lot during my apprenticeship. Amasing stuff the old plastigauge and it's amasing how long it's been around.
    In my opinion it's the only true way of checking the variablity of clearances between two supposed flat surfaces (does that make sense??)

Something more accurate than using me thumb print to measure thicknesses.

Might come in Handy.
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

BaysideMarine

Yes finga,

Thats about it mate.

Not used on outboards with roller bearings but very important for auto type engines (or some marine engines of course) with soft cranks and white metal bearings.

Gives you a guaranteed reading of your running clearances on your bearings.

Nicholas

WOW!!!

Hi all.....

BM.... Please don't take offence, BUT, Are you a QUALIFIED mechanic?

Marine or otherwise?

(BTW, the 6 week tafe course in small engines doesn't count)

BaysideMarine

Wouldnt spend the time doing a 6 week tafe course harry. 6 weeks is not long enough to understand marine engines.

Its probably worth looking further into the term QUALIFIED. If you mean trade certificate, then NO.

So does that mean a succesful operation that repairs, services and rebuilds engines without a plaque on the wall is inadequate?

By the way, the bloke I mentioned a number of posts back, Noel Aarons, a former Mercury National Manager and Training School Lecturer for Mercury Australia and New Zealand (in the 60's) and subsequently has 40 years in the trade as a marine mechanic does not hold a formal qualification either....