Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Cleaning piston heads

Re: Cleaning piston heads

120 grit !!! no wonder it takes me so long.
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

BaysideMarine

Too right mate...!! I laughed hard when I read your 800-1000 grit!!

I hate the time it takes (about 3 minutes - feels like 20) with some blunt 120.... Its damn hard work....

Plus the taste of aluminium in your mouth for the rest of the night.....

You don't use light oil on the paper, you won't taste the aluminium then.
    Less work on the arms too.

BaysideMarine

Nope I do it dry. Give the cloth the occasional blast to clean off the ally.

Hmmmm might give it a try one day, I always thought a oil stone worked better with lube. So figured the emery paper stuff would be the same better wet.

HI Guts.

Finished.

It felt good doing the whoel thing myself - saving heaps of doe and learning at same time...

Will let u know how it runs. THansk for your guidance..

Good luck smelly, sure it will be fine.

hi BM
    just read your post about the bearings and as with anything they will wear out hardened steel or not and increasing the compression on old bearings will lead to much earlier failure.
    especially when you need them the most like putting the juice on suddenly on a bar cossing!!!

BaysideMarine

Yakka,

You are not a marine mechanic are you....

If you are an auto mechanic please limit your comments to your field of experience. You deal with white metal bearings, soft cranks and things completely unrelated to the marine trade.

Needle roller bearings "essentially" do not wear out. A needle roller bearing assemblies only real enemy is water, as water will destroy the bearings and the bearing surfaces on the crank and rod surfaces.

A marine engine rebuild realistically does not typically require the replacement of bearings because these bearings do not wear. This of course is measured and high power magnified at time of rebuild.

Auto mechanical theology really cannot be aplied to marine mechanical theology.

Amen

may I suggest a needle roller bearing will wear out, they are not only used in the marine trade/engine, they be in near every gearbox on the road, just cause they are hard, dont mean they wont wear. And bugger me dont they run on unfiltered air.

BM - keen for your response to this one...

hi bm
    so an engine rebuild where bearings arn't replaced and the head is sandpapered flat.
    should let people know where you work!
    johnson don't think their bearings are magic. are available as spares. but what would they know!!!

Yeah they wear, they have a friction a co-efficient that can be measured, if they didn't they wouldn't produce heat or drag either, one day possibly?

They are extremely efficient though, needing very minimal lubrication and can spin great RPM's with relativly small losses compared to shell bearings - largely because of the very thin oil film needed, low volume and contact area at any one time.

Also contrary to urban legend you cannot hurt these suckers by running the engine out of fuel at any rpm on any stock engine either.

Although rugged, extra loading ie Lugging or increases in compression will shorten their life, impossible not to but on an old unknow history motor - suck it and see.

But doing the time honoured sandpaper on glass re-face is not going to add any extra compression to speak about, now if it were shaved that can be a different story -depending.

BaysideMarine

Blaze,

Outboards run on unfiltered air as there is not a great deal of dust out on the water........... If you disagree take it up with the people who build these things...

Yakka,

If you are not a marine mechanic then its best you refrain from leading people astray. For all others, ring around a few mechanics, folks. Better still how bout I give you a name and number for a former Merc National Service Manager from way back??? Noel Aarons, 0405 190 923. Talk to him about resurfacing outboard heads.. Talk to him about needle roller bearings....

With all due respect, please do not bother trying to have a go at me if you are not a marine mechanic yourself. Apart form being extremely arrogant its rather stupid as well....

And your absolute uneducated RUBBISH about Johnson (or any other manufacturer really) having their engine bearings available as spares.... WHY WOULDN'T THEY????? Um..... if an engine sucks in water its going to need new bearings... Ignition keys are spare parts items too, along with engine covers, midsections and numerous other items that may never need replacing.

I tell you what folks, heres where forums have big problems when clowns like Yakka can post the response that he posted above and it goes unchecked. What we have is someone who is not a marine mechanic having a go at someone who IS and is posting messages that INSINUATE or ALLEGE that the practices of my trade or myself (in line with normal trade practices) are not simply wrong but DODGY?????

Whats next??? Every engine needs new rod bolts (some do)???? or new head bolts with a rebuild?? Or every piston needs replacing and not just using 1 oversized slug??????

Bloody hell....