Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Bearings aint bearings

Re: Bearings aint bearings

Where are they Brian ??...want me and my dogfish donger to go in on your behalf .....go into the dealer and make a scene on Friday arvo or Saturday. Stuff the phone walk in and demand to see someone and you want it fixed properly.
    It starting to sound a bit of a worry now with 3 dealers in this page od boating stuff giving clients the runaround.
    Don't do the grease nipple trick. It's only going to give you more grief.
    You should be able to let your boat off slowly (ie use the winch) so no damage is done and there's no need to drown the trailer.
    We launch the big boat like that and it's a 5m and we don't get the rims wet.
    Good luck matey

gogecko

Who made the trailer? Might as well tell us what brand to steer clear of.

G'Day again..

The 30205 is not a bad bearing set, (so long as its a good brand)
    They fitted the rear of Mazda's and the like.

Not sure what load rating they have, tho.

A shame you can't fit bearing buddies to the hubs.

Personally, I'd be spewing. I would persist to see if
    they are willing to do anything.

It may be possible to turn or sleeve the hubs so that they would fit.

Good luck.

Harry.

can i ask who the dealer was[ sorry if i missed it inthe post] because right know [like everyone] i would want everything to be right so that you can enjoy your holiday break[ i hate sitting on the side of the road]. hope it works out all well cheers sid

All very good suggestions guys, VERY GOOD!!

I will take advice as such.

1. I will back the trailer to the hubs, not sink them below the water line, and use the whinch to manage it. I will also lower the end centre roller, which is not actually load bearing once the boat is on the trailer.
    2. I won't put grease nipples on the caps for now, but really pack the hubs so full of grease the water will find it hard to find a way in.
    3. Harry O, your suggestion of sleeving the hub sounds like a brilliant idea, but not a home mechanic project by any stretch of the imagination. I imagine that you would have to tap a thread inside the hub, and make a sleeved washer with thread that is removable, so you can still replace the bearings when needed. The centre hole of that sleeve would then be the right size for the bearing buddies to fit. I reckon that's the best suggestion yet mate But I would need to take the whole hub to an engineering mob and have it measured up, which will cost more money!!
    Anyone know a engineer/ metal worker who knows what we are talking about?

4. Scottie, the dogfish donger has crossed my mind several times, beleive me. The few years of Martial arts I've done would love to make a statement, but that's not the answer either. One of the reasons I chose this dealer to purchase the trailer from is because they are authorized Johnson service agents, which I have been considering for my next service on the donk. Now I am not so sure. For those that are wondering who the dealer is, it won't be too hard to work out now, I live at Loganholme and they are 10 mins down the road. I won't name names though, I have to give them the benefit of the doubt. Maybe the lack of response is something to do with the time of year when everyone in retail is flat out. But I did ring the guy who sold me the trailer, and gave him a rev up. See what happens, but still nothing heard. In the meantime I have a repack on the horizon ( it's on stands at the moment), so sometime over the holidays I might even get a chance to use it!!

I want to explore the idea of sleeving the hubs, thanks Harry. Any recommendations of who to talk to??

Mate, being busy is NO EXCUSE.
    Stuff them. They have your money and you haven't got what you asked for.
    Mate, they would have been up you like a rat up a rafter if your cheque bounced so up them now.

To get the machining done is going to cost at least 5 or 6 slabs of beer.
    A new axle and hubs would be a cheaper option.

But you haven't got what you paid for.
    You spent enough money so why spend more for no reason.
    If you brought a pack of salt and vinegor chips and got chicken instead I could understand letting it slide but this is a fair bit of money that could go towards, if not get, your new alloy baitboard.
    That's probably a better way of thinking about it....either they fix it or you don't have a baitboard...
    Option A, option B
    If the axle and hubs are wrong how do you know the wheels/tyres are actually approved for aussie use or what the stud pattern is to get/use a spare??
    More food for thought.
    Baitboard or no baitboard

If it's the same dealer I'm thinking about on the big roundabout on the way to the drive-in I had a bit of a spit the other week. I rang about prices for the VHF aerial and they quoted me around the $80 mark (can't remember the amount) and when I got there and grabed it and went to pay the price had jumped to $168. I spat and the price came down. Easy
    Make a noise in their busiest time....Saturday morning

Scalem, If you do have to keep that axle with the odd bearings you will be able to buy bearing buddies to fit but you will have to mail order them from the U.S. The Australian importers [to the best of my knowledge] only bring in one size which is 1.78 inch or just over 45 mm.The manufacturer makes a large range & I'm sure that they will do your size.A friend of mine imported some once for a trailer with Jeep hubs- over 2 inch.I tried a Google search but the bearing buddy web site is expired?.. iboats. com had a list of sizes. Hope this helps.

Marshy

Hi scalem, check your pm's. If your not far away i'll knock you up some hub sleeves for a late christmas pressent!

Just go back to the dealer

Hi Scalem

it is all sounding very complex and a lot of stuffing around and expence.

what happened to KISS?

for the price you just paid for the bearings you could have bought new HDG hubs complete with bearings in them. then only need an axle.

if you import the bearing buddies it will cost and Murphy's law says that you will loose one in the first week. (sorry if it does happen )

GET what you asked for and keep it simple and cheap

the stress you will always have is not worth it. get a standard common setup.

have a great Xmas

cheers Murf

If you cannot get satisfaction and as a last resort there is a wholesaler down your eay at Logan River road. I dont know if I can Mention their name but you will find them on page 2789 of the current yellow pages they are very Active.
    Their prices are 50% below retail and they are extremely helpful. They may even be able to supply a drop axle that will make your boat easier to launch. It will just depend how much clearance you have on your mudguards.
    Good luck i hope it doesnt come to this but it is an option.
    Ray

Scalem, forget all the other solutions - this is simple. Finga is spot on. You did not get what you asked or paid for. end of story. No negotiations.
    Don't try and fix up their mess. What happens when you want a spare wheel/ hub/ axle? MORE stuffing around. Finga sounds like the man - let him come down with ya, heck, i'll come too, i am pretty good at these things. Really gets on my goat. >

Damo

Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.

Scalem,

the guys are right, but if you have no joy, theres a mob
    called Parker Drayson Engineering (BHSS) at Bowen Hills,
    that we used to used regularly for all types of stainless
    sleeving.

It may not need to be threaded, but you'll need to ensure that
    the OD of the 30205 cup is not larger that the flange of the
    bearing buddy.
    That way, the sleeve won't hinder the cups removal come
    bearing replacement time.

The ID of the sleeve should be 10 thou smaller than the
    flange of the buddies, to ensure a firm fit.

They knurl the outside of the sleeves and press fit with loctite.

Guessing at a cost of $20-$30 per hub.

Harry.

I have to marvel at the quality of the information and advice offered in this thread.

Ain't the internet (and Ausfish, of course) amazing?! Where else would people without knowledge on this specific topic find such people with such specific knowledge on what is such a specialised topic.

Simply amazing!

Good luck with the matter, Scalem.

Gidday all,

1st I think I will start with the latest reply and work backward. Charlie, you are soooo correct in your comment. What advice is offered to me here is priceless. I have spoken on the phone to Mark221263, and I am happy with what we have planned after Christmas when we will be making sleeves to enable regular sized bearing buddies to work. Damo, Finga, this whole saga is not finished with you can count on that, as far as the dealer is concerned. I'll let you know when I go in. Your support will be appreciated on the day. I will choose my moment, and it will be when the dust has settled and I am in control of my emotions some time after Christmas. I won't be interrupted at the dealer yard by other customers or the dang phones ringing - just me, the sales guy who sold me the trailer and his boss. My wife just reminded me that one of the 1st things I asked was if I could purchase the trailer without wheels, me supplying them, because I had only recently bought new holden galvanized rims and put them on the old trailer ( when I originally thought Finga and I were going to patch it up ourselves, but it became too big a job) This is why, from the outset, I asked that everything to be holden rims and hubs. He replied that getting the trailer from the gold coast to Yatala was going to be awkward, and far more trouble than it was worth. "The trailer comes complete with wheels" he said. I replied that was OK, I might sell them or keep as spares....

I am looking forward to Christmas and a couple of weeks rest, I have plans to get the boat out a few times and take the kids skiing and forget about the bearings for a while, taking advice as many of you have written. Mark, I will get a tub of that American grease you told me about, and pack the hubs full. Finga, I'll back the rig only to the axle but no deeper, lowering the end roller so the boat goes into the water at less angle, and slower where before i was letting it roll off herself.

HarryO, you are on the ball, I really thank you! [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Any more developments I will keep you all posted, but you are all probably tired of my ranting by now, but I feel much better about it all.

Thanks all [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif] Have a fantastic Christmas!!