Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: What do you tow your boat with

Re: What do you tow your boat with

Have you got a tranmission cooler, bit of preventative care there, also keep it locked in gear, no O/D. Stops the bands from slipping and burning up. My Reco just over 3 K. 2nd hand 1200 bucks, bloody thing has a cooler too.

Yeah no fun, no warning, just reved out at the lights, and went no where.
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

I reckon that in terms of todays cars you are much better LONG term with a manual trans. If you like shifting gears dont be tempted to autos. The new electronic shift boxes are worth a kings ransom if they toast themselves.
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

1750kg 18ft Fibreglass with a 2005 4.2TD Toyota LC Ute. #Does it easily 19L/100kms travelling at 110kph. #When using the family LC 4700 V8 Auto it does it easily but uses 24L/100kms travelling at 110kph. #I live 700kms from the water so keeping the speed up is a priority. #Dropping back to 90km/hr would improve fuel economy but it would take a further 1.5hrs to get fishing . #It only gets used about four times a year so whats an extra $40 in juice.

16ft glass boat behind a 3.2l DiD Pajero 5 speed auto, Boat what boat?? Average 10l/100 without boat and around 12l/100 with boat on @ 100kmh.

Cheers and Beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

I tow a 5.2m glass rumrunner 1 and 90hp Johno with an EL Ford wagon you know its on there but it seems alright, got to watch the braking distances in the wet.

97 triton v6, tows the 5m Tabs and 115suzy no drama , up the gillies in 3rd , over the cardwell range no probs, plenty of grunt and comfortable enough
    Give a man a fish and feed him for a day , teach a man to fish and feed him for life .

MY06 Subaru Forrester 2.5l manual. Struggles a bit with my 4.55 polycraft( about 750kg on trailer).

The gearing is a bit wide between 4th and 5th gear, 1000 rpm drop to a cruising revs of 2600rpm @ 100kph The suby is a bit weak untill about 3200 rpm.. the normal driving economy gets smashed around with the boat on. 9L /100 stretches out to 13L/100 when towing. Otherwise it is well balanced on the road, a recent swerve and recover to avoid a Motorway hopping KangaRoo was a interesting experience @ 110kph. all good in the handling dept. just needs some more grunt. turbo model would be nice but company would'nt go for it. I got the manual for the low range option. I need it when pulling out at some ramps (see above comment on lack of low end grunt) Maybe the Auto would have been a better option, no low range but not needed with an auto really. as for offroad ability.....I'm not kidding myself, I'll stick to the well made dirt and bitumen thanks.

cheers, roo.

Ps. Company cars make the best tow vehicle/ offroad machine/ beach car/ paddock bashers.

Quote Originally Posted by orbyroo
    cheers, roo.

Ps. Company cars make the best tow vehicle/ offroad machine/ beach car/ paddock bashers.
    Ill take that one further and say the most capable vehicle off road is one that is fitted with a healthy dose of N-GAS which in laymans terms is "Not give a sh!t" when your vehicle is equipped with N-Gas it will surprise you how far it will go and what it can do

Cheers and Beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

I tow my 5.7m Quinnie with an SS Crewman ute. #The Ute and boat together measure almost 12 metres long. #It towes it well though, can hardly notice there is a boat behind.

I had it in O/D the particular time doing about 110k/h up to Tin Can Bay and about Noosa turn off the warning came on. It doesn't have the cooler at the front etc as its not the big tow pack option.

I have run it in selective mode since, or performance mode whatever you call it, so it doesn't go into overdrive.

Fuel is about 21L/100k in fuel, usually about 10L/100k.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Show me the Snapper!

I tow my tinny with Wally the Mazda wagon....no problems at all
    Actually I keep trying to convince myself that Wally is really a dual cab with a really close fitting canopy so I can do more ute type things with it
    Big boat with the series 3 Landy. Still no problems (except when the rust got too bad and the towbar stayed on the boat ramp oneday . Time for a rebuild then)
    Cheers Scott

I tow my S/box boat with my S/box ea falcon the 17'er with the same S/box falcon
    Rainbow Trout is NOT skittle flavoured fish.........

G day all she's a 1982 f100 351 780 four barrell auto no air and thirsty as. but she's a pleasure to drive. Boat is a 20 footer glass job on an ally trailer wieghs in just under 2000 kg

PS sold the efy and bought a rodeo 2004 no character but air con and fuel efficient.

Cheers MM
    I am a fisherman,it's not something I merely do,it is who I am! Fishing is not simply my escape,it is where I am supposed to be,it is not a place that I go, But a life long journey I am taking, it is a passage that was shown to me and that I will continue to show to others. When you understand all of this, you will then know me and we will fish together.

Tow my 6.4m glass behind the V8 sahara and bearly know its there, alo brought a 2003 V8 disco and its just not quite the same !! but at least I can still go fishing when the wife wants to take the kids shopping.

Take the 2 off road mate and you will need the Disco to tow the Saraha out!
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing