Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: North Pine Redclaw 27/02

Re: North Pine Redclaw 27/02

Quote Originally Posted by Always_Sunburnt
    Hi Dazza,

One more question for Freeeedom. Do you use an air pump in the bucket for your catch of Red Claw?

Cheers mate,
    Jason
    No - just put about an inch (2.5cm) of water in the bucket to keep them moist. They will survive for days like this as long as you keep them cool
    Cheers Freeeedom

Hi Freeeedom,
    Thanks for all your advice. I went out to Bullocky's Rest yesterday afternoon (In the rain and wind!) and put the pots in. Considering the weather I did not hang around as I was already drenched as the shorts and t-shirt I was wearing did not offer much protection.
    I returned last night (in similar condidtions, but with a raincoat) and was delighted with my catch of eight large redclaw!
    I just want to thank you for being so forthcoming with the advice and tips that you offered me so freely.

Jason

And again....

the redclaw aren't in population like last year there...... i think the water levels and not much weed around the shore line have alot to do with it?
    planning the next onslaught 6.5m Profish
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Glad to be of service, Always_Sunburnt. Good to see you got a few.
    Agree with -spiro- that there aren't as many as last year. Checked last years diary - I had individual catches of 112 in 4 hours, 77 in 4.5 hours in February and 67 in 4.5 hours in March on the three occasions I targeted them at night. Gave me so many that I still have one block of frozen tails from last year in the freezer.
    Cheers Freeeedom

Have you guys got any good recipies??

land_based

I went out there this arvo with 4 pots, only got 2 redcalw so they were released. But picked up a good 25 gar. There salted down and marinating in tuna oil for some top quality shark bait.

G'day Freeeedom - very nice catch of reddies there mate - they're huge.

Always Sunburnt:

Quote Originally Posted by Always_Sunburnt
    Have you guys got any good recipies??
    Check this out:

http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfis...num=1139013445

on a side note and a little tip I can offer others so they don't make the same mistake as I did - I went a couple of times myself recently - the first time I put my redclaw into the bath tub and turned the tap on to fill the tub up to about 2 inches deep. This killed all the redcalw in about 12 hours - apparently (according to some freinds in the know) the chlorine in the town water killed them.

Next time I put them into the bath tub again, but filled the bath (up to 2 inches deep again) with RAINWATER this time from the tank using buckets - they were good as gold this time. So if you want to keep them alive, don't put town water in with them.

Can you catch gar at night??

Cheers!!

Jason

Don't know - I've never tried!
    Cheers Freeeedom

G'day again Freeeedom,
    I was thinking of redcalwing at night, and to pass the time fishing for gar??
    I will let you know how I go.

Hey, what would be your reccommended freshwater spot/ impoundment to go and camp and fish over easter??

Cheers!!

Jason

Easter is one time of year I stay home. It is the worst time to try and get a camping spot and the fishing spots are so crowded it's hardly worth the time and effort. That doesn't help much - sorry!
    Cheers Freeeedom

Yeah, I hear you, but I work full time and I am a part time student at University as well, so the only time that I can get away is with the hoards!!

Just wanted to pick your brain on where you think the best place you thought would be at this busy time of year...

Jason

The weather begins to cool by Easter and for me that marks the beginning of the bream and tailor seasons in the salt. I never fish the dams during winter so I would only be guessing if I offered any suggestions. Does anyone else fish the dams in the cooler months?
    Cheers Freeeedom

Can you catch Redclaw in the cooler months??

Oh, by the way, I bought a small quill float and hooks today as per your advice to catch gar. How do you attach the quill float??

Sorry for all the questions...

Cheers!!
    Jason