Thread: Monduran - 23-30/04/06

Monduran - 23-30/04/06

Weather conditions were very good with temps between 16-28?C. Water temp
    varied between 24 and 27?C but strangely didn’t seem to impact on the
    fishing. We caught good fish in bays that only registered 24?C. No rain and
    winds varied between 5-15knots from the SE/SW in the morning to NE/NW in
    the arvo. Min baro 1006, highest baro 1016.

Arrived at Monduran at 2.00pm to check into cabins. This trip comprised of
    me, Big Ren and my brother Vin in my dinghy and Gary, Dale and Kim and
    Gaz’s tinnie. Due to the Broncos game being on at 4.00pm, we decided not to
    fish and have a few ales instead while watching the game.

Mon – Launched at 7.30am and fished a few bays we did well in last November
    but due to the dam levels dropping a metre or two since then, most of the
    good snag were high and dry. We travelled up to White Rocks as we haven’t
    seriously fished this area. Flogged the bays and finally at 1.20pm I got a
    Barra at 68cm from a point. Fished it until 3.30pm before heading back in
    to refresh and get ready for a night session.

8pm – Launched in total darkness (new moon) and couldn’t see a foot in
    front of my face. Still persisted and trolled for an hour before anchoring
    up on a point and casting. No good so trolled back in and called it quits
    at 10pm.

Tues – 9am launch and again only headed a few kms up the system. Found a
    bay that we have caught small fish in before and after 10mins of casting
    had a Barra attack a lure on 3 separate occasions without hooking up. Gave
    the spot a break for an hour and hit it again with the same result. Barra
    swirling at lure by no hook up – more than likely the same fish as snag
    wasn’t that big.

10.45am – headed up the system and fished a small bay just off the main
    channel and within 10 mins, Vin hooks an 85cm fish from some Lantana -
    tagged and back in the water. About 45mins later, Reno struggles to land
    his first Barra after it takes him into timber for a few seconds before
    constant pressure forces it out and Big Ren is able to regain control over
    the fish – not a bad christening at 83cms.

2.37pm – Headed into the main channel and fished the Western bank about
    50mtrs from the channel. Only 10 mins passed before Vin hooks another fish
    at 68cms. At this stage, both Dale and I are fishless with only a few
    tentative hits before Dale gets busted up but gets a bonus as lure floated
    up. A few more missed fish and Vin gets another at 60cms.

4.00pm – Followed channel into another small bay and Reno gets his 2nd
    Barra at 64cms (skulled dragged this one in). 45mins later Reno gets
    another Barra at 84cms to beat his previous PB.

5.10pm - This time it’s my turn to donate a lure to a big fish – gold Viper
    gonnne. This fish just busted my 80lb leader. It didn’t even need a snag.
    Saw Barra swirling in snags trying to free itself of lure and even jumped
    once (could hear the rattle of the lure in mid air when it jumped so knew
    it was the same fish).

5.40pm – quickly approaching dark but one more cast produces a 73cms Barra
    for Vin.

This was the best day of the week with 7 landed fish, 2 bust ups and at
    least a dozen hook ups or hits.

Cancelled the night sessions for the rest of the week as too dark, wind
    picked up and chill kicked in.

Wed – Headed up to where we had good action late yesterday. Tried looking
    for my gold viper to no avail.

10.15am - Fished the snag that I got busted up on and Gary lands barra at
    68cms. Continued fishing bay for 1 more hit before working our way back
    into the main channel.

12.20pm –Dale gets barra at 65cms and 10 mins later gets another at 73cms.

SHUT DOWN – we managed a few more brief hook ups but things really shut
    down.

5pm - Gary’s wife Kim hooks her first Barra (momentarily). Fortunately, Kim
    got to see the Barra leap clear out of the water before unfortunately,
    parting with her lure.

6pm – back at ramp.

Thurs – As Vin had to work today at the Burnett Dam and Gary had to spend
    time with Kim. Dale, Reno and myself decided to head up the system to show
    Reno how big the dam is and to fish some country that we have scored fish
    in the past. After 45mins and about 25kms travelling, we started fishing
    country that had produced fish in the past but again, most snags were high
    and dry. I hooked the first catty of the trip and only 1 of 3 for the whole
    week. We have found the catty catch rate dropping dramatically in the last
    12 months??
    In hindsight, this day was a wasted day both time and petrol and we should
    have continued fishing the areas that we were doing well in, but as they
    say, you never, never know…..

10.45am -persisted anyway and Dale did manage a lonely Barra at 70cms and a
    few hits. Unfortunately, that was it and although we did work our way back
    down the system late that afternoon, we couldn’t raise a scale.

6pm – back at ramp.

Fri – quickly fished 2 bays that we had success in on Tues but only 1 hook
    up that got off. Pulled the pin after an hour and headed up system to try
    some new bays.

9.20am – After fishing a bay for 15 mins, I loose a fish that straightened
    hooks and Reno gets busted up by a really good fish – lure floated up. 10
    mins later and Reno gets busted up by another fish, this time no floaters
    and Reno finally donates a lure to the cause.

9.50am – I get a barra at 630cms and 10 mins later, Paul gets done by
    another fish that bolted around some timber before tearing hooks free. Reno
    is getting a bit pi%%ed off by now.

11.05am - I get another little barra at 64cms again from this same bay and
    although fish was rather small, it still took me into snags before I could
    force it out.

1.05pm – the barra are shrinking and my 3rd for the day is a whopping 60cms
    but none the less, still a barra.

We lost contact with the second boat but in this time, Dale lands 2 barra
    from the same bay at 65 and 68cms.

2.35pm - slowly worked our way into next bay south and Vin lands barra at
    64cms of sunken tree.

I get lure caught on springy branch and try twitching rod to free it – no
    good so twitching gets more violent to the point where I smack the rod on
    the boat and thought I’d snapped it. Lure still caught and I’m getting
    super frustrated so give it a few solid flicks before lure dislodges and
    heads straight back for my face. Just manage to turn my head in time to cop
    it in the jaw. I was waiting for the lure to hit the deck of the boat but
    it never did – buggers I knew it was now in my face. Although a treble
    penetrated and the point was just about poking out of my face, the barb was
    still exposed (albeit by only a millimetre), we managed to get it out
    (unfortunately wasn’t quick enough to get a photo).

3.00pm – decided to run back and on the way stopped at another bay that we
    have fished previously. This bay looked very average but thought we’d give
    it 1/2hr.

3.30pm – Just about to pull the pin when Dale gets a Barra at 72cms. Boats
    parted at this stage as we wanted to fish different bays.

4.30pm -Unfortunately, we had no action but Dale looses a Barra next to
    boat.

5.00pm – Dale lands Barra that comes close to doing him – 86cms and the
    biggest for the trip. No more action.

6.00pm Back to ramp.

Sat – Final day on water.

7.45am – Headed only 10mins from ramp to where Dale got 86cm fish
    yesterday. Flogged it hard for an hour with not a hit.

8.45am – Decided to head to bays we fished yesterday as we didn’t flog it
    that hard and confident that fish would still be active.

10.38am – I get a barra that I got a hit from yesterday at 65cms.

10.55am – Separate boats but double hook up between Dale (64cms) and Reno
    (65cms). A few more lost fish between the boats.

12.15pm – Starting to get monotonous with Dale getting most of the action –
    68cm.

1.15pm – Headed to next bay north and Vin hooks Barra but reel comes flying
    out of the reel seat (obviously not tightened enough or worked it’s way
    loose after 6 days fishing) which Vin catches mid flight before handing
    reel to me. So Vin is at front of boat with rod, I’m at the back of the
    boat with the reel and Reno is in the middle with the landing net!!
    Somehow, I manage a few turns on the reel while Vin keeps the rod fully
    loaded. First net shot and Reno lands the unluckiest fish of the trip.
    Barra only went 65cms and may explain why we landed it. Any bigger and we’d
    have no chance.

This is the last bit of action for the trip and although we fished solid
    from now til dark, we didn’t get a touch.

Sun morning- packed up and hit the road.

All in all a pretty bloody good trip with a total of 28 Barra between 60
    and 86cms. Definitely hooked bigger fish that got the better of us. We did
    fish 50lb braid with 80lb leaders on basically top of the range rods and
    reels so couldn’t even blame the gear.

The barra were definitely active the week we fished it (and from local
    reports, the action has been good for a few weeks). Just about every bay we
    fished from the 7 Day Adventist Bay right up to past “F”. We thought that
    gold was the lure colour but anything worked - vipers, barra baits, classic
    barras, river rats, scorpions etc. Hopefully get a metre plus fish next
    trip.

Some guys staying in cabin one scored 30 fish for the week with 3 going the
    metre mark and weighing 50, 52 and 60lbs all casting in 2 feet of water. We
    caught fish anywhere from 1 foot to 30 feet so go figure??

Big Ren will post some pics tonight.

Re: Monduran - 23-30/04/06

Some pics as promised.....Navi's (Black_Sheep's) first fish of the trip....68cm.

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Vin's 85cm model......

My barra virginity broken....84cm

Another healthy specimen.

One of Dale's 10 for the week, the victim to yet another Gold Viper....

And a gentle release...

Another for Navi

What a way to wake up....

All our fish were tagged and released....

All very healthy swimmers....

How unlucky can a barra be when reel parts from rod on the strike?

But he got a second chance to show who's boss next time....

Well done lads, sounds like plenty of action. I'm heading up there in the morning. Will mainly be concentrating on tomorrow arvo and sunday arvo, so good to see the fish have been active during the daylight hrs. Weathers looking great too, preceding the S change on monday. I also like the fact that ya's didn't have to venture too far. Once again good work, and thanks for the info I've gleaned off your report.

Tiges

TIM-DONSELAAR

[smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif] EXCELLENT REPORT....EXCELLENT PICTURES....EXCELLENT BARRA [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

cheers tim