Thread: sunday\monday on north pine dam

caught-ya

sunday\monday on north pine dam

Hello fellow ausfishers and guests, this is a report on north pine dam.

DAY 1: Me and my friends met up at our local park and made our minds up on going to the dam and fishing with live shrimp from the trap that I put in earlier that day and it was full of shrimp.

We set of to north pine dam to go chase some fish. When we got there we rigged up and through out our live shrimp and sat there for a while. We sat there for a least one-hour with no bites. Finally we had our first fish but it was to small so we let it go.

We caught three more bass and lost all of our shrimp so we packed up and went and ate yummy hotdogs. Sorry no photos for this day we only brought a camera on the last day.

DAY 2: My friends and I went down to north pine dam again to see if we could catch any fish. We left at about 10ish to go get our shrimp trap and head up to north pine dam.

We got to north pine dam and set out our live shrimp, five minutes later, tap tap bang we are on the first fish of the day. After a little fight I pull in a nice little 36cm bass, took a couple of snapshots (pic below).

10 minutes later comes in a small 32cm bass with a nice little fight, by the way this was my friends first bass. 15 to 20 mins later I pull in a 33cm bass with a couple of pics and it swam freely.

We ran out of shrimp so we walked up and down the bank looking for mussels. Does anyone no if mussels are good or bad bait?????

We also found a tn\60 lure , the colour was purpley colour on top and a greeny-yellowy colour on the body with one missing treble on the back.

All in all we had a good and happy 2 days and also getting sunburnt mind you

Bassamundi

caught-ya

Re: sunday\monday on north pine dam

brandos 32cm bass,

caught-ya

the last bass 33cm

good onya mate, sounds like a bit of fun, apart from the sunburn

Quote Originally Posted by bassamundi
    We ran out of shrimp so we walked up and down the bank looking for mussels. Does anyone no if mussels are good or bad bait?????
    First up, nice going bassamundi . I have fished north pine many times and am usually lucky to pull 1 decent fish, i obviously havent worked out impoundment bass yet .
    As for the mussels i have caught catfish and turtles on them but thats about it. I reckon you would be better off trying to catch some grasshoppers, moths or something like that next time you run out of shrimp.

Congratulations on the catch Bassamundi [smiley=thumbsup.gif] Mussels are good bait for Catfish & Murray Cod! About 10 years ago or just after Cressbrook dam was open to the public, We targeted some catfish with some fresh water Mussels as someone wanted a few catfish to eat. Got 1 Catfish and surprise surprise 3 Big Bass landed in around 10 minutes on Mussels, Bit out of the ordinary i know!! Take a few lures next time and try them when ya run out of bait.

Cheers Les

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."

caught-ya

hi clint06, thanx for the tip and i will try that next time i go down there

McCod, loooks like mussels work, do u break them up or use them whole???

i will try and take down some lures and grashoppers and moths next time,but I have to start getting ready for going up to awoonga dam to chase barramundi.

wwwoooooooo hhhhhoooooooo!!!!

bassamundi

Quote Originally Posted by Clint06
    [quote author=bassamundi link=1159868218/0#0 date=1159868198]
    First up, nice going bassamundi . I have fished north pine many times and am usually lucky to pull 1 decent fish, i obviously havent worked out impoundment bass yet .
    As for the mussels i have caught catfish and turtles on them but thats about it. I reckon you would be better off trying to catch some grasshoppers, moths or something like that next time you run out of shrimp.[/quote]
    Mate, I would be very careful about catching insects to use as bait, in some areas this is illegal.

Quote Originally Posted by Canoedle
    Mate, I would be very careful about catching insects to use as bait, in some areas this is illegal.

Never heard of that.... when i was younger all we ever used for bait was grasshoppers and crickets.
    Anyone else heard of this?? or know how to find out what the rules are?? I did a quick google search and found nothing
    Anyway thanks for the heads up canoedle, i'll have to look into it more

I know I read it somewhere, but having trouble finding it now, will do some more research and get back to ya. I might have misunderstood what I read. See what I can come up with.

Stupid double post
    I couldn't find it in the literature I have on hand, or on the DPI website, so I called em, waiting to hear back from an officer.

Update -
    OK, heard from DPI, this is not something they would cover as the grounds around NPD and Big W are controled by SEQ Water. Unfortunately the gentleman in the office that handles enquiries of this nature is away today, so hopefully hear back from him tomorrow.

Good on you bassamundi I used to have a licence to put the electric in the nth pine caught some good bass on lures the best 52cn found that purple colours seemed to be best followed by green. good luck!!!!
    Work to live
    Live to fish

well fellas

caught-ya

hello silver19,

i have gone up and down the banks throwing plastics and mack slugs around and catching heaps of bass, we used to have a permit for the dam. The biggest bass we've caught to date is 54cm.

bassamundi

bassamundi.... Re the Mussels mate ' Use them whole!

Cheers Les

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."