Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Glenlyon dam report

Glenlyon dam report

Just got back from Glenlyon a few days ago..... fished 5 sessions over 5 days with 4 days fished.... fishing was a bit slow for this time of year..... but there was a few cold windy days also! landed 7 Cod from 55 to 97 cm all caught casting and then released.... A mate got a few trolling as well. Place should fire soon for Yella's and Cod!
    These big fish are mean on gear and other fish but are soft to touch and can not handle being lifted by the lower jaw as it will break there gill latch the same as with Barra. Support the whole fish and keep it off hot surfaces if its going back in the water get it back in quick... say under 2 minutes! It is law to return any @ 110 cm and bigger so please treat them nice and return them to the water. Most fisho's that keep big Cod then regret it after the kill and say they should of let em go..... bit late then

Cheers Les

"Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever."

Re: Glenlyon dam report

good report mate love the pick i havnt caught one yet my time will come

yeah good looking fish mate, nice catch

McCod,
    They are certainly a great looking fish. Is that the area known as "the caves" behind you? Is the weed still thick? Must make the trek back there some day.

Russ

nice cod and yeh the place should start to fire soon , nice report these big cod are just so awesome ill agree, i release 99% of my cod and may keep asmaller one from a stocked impoundment to eat every blue moon. good stuff bdowdy.

blue-mako

It's a shame there's not more of them around. 99% of fish, to me are catch and release only. Especially fish from the Fresh. But still great to see some good sized ones still about!

Troy

well done, can't wait till the day I catch one that big

scott_b

Gday Les
    Mate its not hard to see why they call you McCod !. I think I seen a pic or a report of a nice cod from you at Glenlyon a while back. I bet the green buggers will be sh#tting themselves next time you turn up .
    Done well wamjam

G'day Les, nice fish you make it look so easy.
    when are you heading there next?
    I will be there 30th-8th oct.

rossco

Quote Originally Posted by derfla
    McCod,
    They are certainly a great looking fish. Is that the area known as "the caves" behind you? Is the weed still thick? Must make the trek back there some day.

Russ
    Yeah Russ sorry for the late reply..... that's the caves in the back ground. Rosco! hoping to get back up there around mid October..... have fun mate!!!

Cheers Les

Cheers Les

Steve_Monckton

G'day fisherpeople, Nice fish McCod, love those greenfish. They are not a fast fish but they hit hard and slug it out. I release 100% of all freshwater fish these days, but thats my personal choice. I am looking forward to taking my 12y.o son to Glen Lyon about november when it warms up and getting amongst them. I want to give the cod a run using S.P.'s and see how they go. Then it's off to Copeton Dam in december and crack out the surface lures. Yeah baby!!
    cheers, steve.

have never done any good with surface fishing for cod in impoundments, love the rivers and creeks for surface, has any one done alright in dams ,sounds as though rabbi gets a few a copeton. cheers bdowdy

scott_b

Gday bdowdy
    I'm the same had no luck in the dams with surface lures.
    wamjam

gday wamjam yeh mate really havnt heard of anyone doing any good on surface in impoundments, but someone may . i reckon i would rather catch any fish on surface compared to divers it just gets the heart going. and cod when they hit a surface lure noone will forget. cheers bdowdy

Only caught 1 impoundment Cod on surface @ Glenlyon..... but that was 6 or 7 years ago. Have only used them for a few hrs in total so a guess ya can't catch em if ya not using them. I think if you put in the time you would do OK! With the amount of weed beds and prime points to cast to @ Glenlyon at the moment you would think the Cod would have to come undone in the lower light hrs!

Cheers Les