-
Eel problem
Gday all
My mate has a servere outbreak of monster sized eels in his dams which are eating the duck!!. We were going to head over and try to fish out the eels. Things we do fo him .
Ive never really caught any eels so any advice would be great.
Damien
-
-
Re: Eel problem
Think we'll need more than that. He tells me their anaconda sized
-
Anything with vibration slow rolled, keep it cheap these guys will bust you up.
-
you will struggle mate,
they get in over the land, so as soon as you get rid of them theres likely to be more moving in soon,
good luck with it anyways,
live fish or bits of meet will work, actually even bread, come to think of it they eat anything
-
Friend whos old man used to eat eels told me a trick. They used to shoot a roo hang it over a creek and leave it for a few days. They'd come back when it was maggot blown and net the eels eating the maggots as the dropped into the water. Live shrimp or 3" gulp craws also work well for eels.
Good luck
-
"Anything with vibration slow rolled,keep it cheap these guys will bust you up."
Your not wrong Cowboy,bought a suspending Megabass two days ago (30 bucks), third cast nice little bass 30cm,sixth cast best bass so far this season 41cm of the same snag,next cast I'm calling it for an Eastern Cod as I'm getting taken all over the water hole....right up till it surfaces at my feet as a plury eel at about a metre long,after a few feeble attempts to grab it with my leatherman it decides it's had enough and rolls up my eight pound leader snaps it and makes of with my brand new lure.
As for the Eels in the dam,we used to use 50 pound handlines and a long shanked 6/0 with meat when I was a kid to land the big green motely conga eels(my eastern Cod),but if they are a real problem you may have to trap them,in my area there are a few commercial eel trapers but I don't know what a proper eel trap looks like.
-
Ausfish New Member
Just the cheap ET vibration slow rolled on the bottom will do the trick there $5 at big W
-
120lb Hand Line a 10'0 and any meat bait. If they are the size you are talking about thats all that will land them. Fish heads are also deadly. When they start rolling they break just about anything. Dont muck around with lures the trebles wont be strong enough to get them out.
Good Luck
-
hi mate
eel traps are real easy to make and very effective , theres info online (late here or id find it for you)
if using heavy line watch your rod tip as theyll climb/pull the line down and wrap around the rod tip.......... lost a good beachcaster to a morey eel
try smoking em , germans and others euros luv em
-
Mate went there(without me > ) and set whole heap of handlines. Pulled out 3 eels in 1 arvo
of work. One was about 20cm diameter across (must be eating well). He plans to rig up more lines
Damien
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Bunch of garden worms on a 4/0 and your set.