Thread: Somerset

Somerset

13 November

Went last Sunday and fished all day for some thro-backs and one 38cm bass. Yesterday was looking to be about the same.

Arrived at 10 am and trolled all over looking for the fish. Pulled in some some small stuff but generally nothing much at all.

The wind came up about 3.00 pm and so did the fish! Ended up with a 52cm, 45cm and heaps more between 40 and 45 cms. All on 2Kilo line

Really good day - even the skiers kept away from us.

Phil

Re: Somerset

Stuff Phil. It sure is fishing well up there at the moment. When we found some active fish they were just going crazy. I have been fishing Moogerah a lot lately but with the big fish of Somerset starting to get excited I may have to rethink the location!!

I went to Somerset on Melbourne Cup day last week and caught about 20 fish for the day, the largest gping 48cms to the fork. A lot of fun and there was only one other trailer at the spit. Had the place to myself and the weather was great.

Raymond

I was at Kirkleigh on friday, what a waste of time, sitting there waiting for them to open the gate till 7.30 looking at the water, then when we got down there there wasn't a fish to be had, I'll be going to the spit next time, not worth the extra drive for me.

Hi Canoedle

I always go in at the Spit end anyway while the water is so low. Catching the 52 cms bass was a bit tricky using 2 Kilo line and I had to start up the boat and chase the fish to get some line back.

In your canoe I reckon it would have towed you for miles - Good fun.

I have a red boat with an Ausfish sticker; if you see me stop and say hello...

Phil

hey canoedle

shouldn't you have mentioned the banded grunter - and the turtles

Sorry mate, if only I got some pics of those turtles.