Thread: Awoonga Barra

Awoonga Barra

Hi guys.
    Thinking of going up at christmas. I don't know much about the place, but that it has good Barra there.

So guys I am after all the info I can get,
    Where can i camp (phone numbers to book)ect..
    What lures ( hard bodies, soft plastic's and flies.)
    How to catch. ( morning, mid day, afternoon's and nights)
    Can you get live bait on the dam ( how do I do this)

So you can see guys, all the info I can get Please would be much appreciated

Thanks again Biff

Re: Awoonga Barra

There is a wealth of information in this forum. I made a my first trip in September and spent weeks searching through the Freshwater section, tackle section and freshwater reports section. You will find answers to all your questions except maybe the live bait question but it probably covered as well. Awoonga would have to be the most widely covered freshwater spot on this site.

Good luck with your trip.

Raymond

Mate, I did the same as RayB.
    Went back thru all the old posts, cross referenced the dates I want to fish with reports etc from that same period 12 months ago.
    There is a wealth of info there, easy to find just not so easy to turn into fish.
    I'l be up that way at Chrissy myself, just dont know if it will be Awoonga or Monduran yet.
    Watch out for a bloke in a 3.9 Blue finn with a kota bolted on the bow, thats me, come say gday.
    Best of lucl

Brian

Raymond And Brian
    I am on the job with the old post as we speek, Thanks for the info.
    Brian If things all work out I will be heading there between Christmas day and New years. If you are going to be there between this time, I will be sure to give you a bell. PM you in the future. It would be good to meet a fellow Ausfish member.

Please keep the Info coming guys. If you don't mind the keyboard that is, thanks. It's going to make my job alot easier

thanks Biff

DNO40

Quote Originally Posted by BR65
    Watch out for a bloke in a 3.9 Blue finn with a kota bolted on the bow, thats me, come say gday.

I'd hate to think how many 3.9 Blue Fins with a Kota bolted on the front there would be out there !

DNO

Dont know where you intend to stay. The van park will be pretty full . If you intend staying at beneraby willowgrove van park is very good but if you have a site near the front you have traffic noise all night. Forget the other park it is well below willowgroves standard and also has traffic noise. There iare a new set of cabins called awoonga gateway cabins ( 0749750033 ) they are brand new,fully selfcontained,split system airconditioning, with large fridge,washing machine and clothes dryer. The people who run it are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. If you are not going to camp i would recommend there.
    they are situated about halfway between beneraby and awoonga.
    It is a few more ks to travel to launch your boat but the difference in comfort is worth it especially even if you stay at the park at awoonga you still have to drive a couple of ks to launch your boat.
    If possible i would avoid the area during school holidays as the boat ramp is very congested and the lower car park fills very quickly and then you are faced with a long steep uphill walh to the upper car park.
    If you have a disability parking sticker you can use the ramp near the camping area but only between 7am and 8pm when the rangers are on duty. You have to page rhem and wait for them to come and unlock the gate for you when you launch and retrieve your boat.
    hope this helps
    ray

Thanks Ray