-
Ausfish Gold Member
hard yakka at monduran...
managed to sneak away to monduran sunday and monday for my first barra trip of the season....was very hard going we cast our arms off all day sunday for a cattamundi then a rather large storm decided to park itself on top of us for the night forcing us to sleep in the cooking shelter (good to see the dam get some rain though) woke this morning to find it still raining, a bit of a late start waiting for it to stop and by 2pm i had managed to put 3 in the boat and christen the new outfit (Daiwa I'ze Light and Wheezer's Custom Rods 8kg barra stick ) my mate unfortunately went fishless...nothing of any real size all going low 70's although they pulled hard with one fish in particular opening up 2 of the 3 owner trebles! not bad for small fish...can't wait till next trip merry christmas to all
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: hard yakka at monduran...
Persistance pays mate. Good to see you broke the new gear in, that rod felt sweet in hand. Pretty good effort with the way the weather was today. How's ya mate Benny, a bit devo'd?
-
Ausfish Gold Member
he spent half the day sleeping with a hangover southerly change hit after the storm with a fairly stiff sou-easter cranking with rain squalls made it a challenge but all the more rewarding when you nail a few....we'll get up there next trip hurry up with the reno's would ya!!
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Nice fish in tough conditions wheezer!!
Those Daiwa rods are nice!!!
What lures were going well? How deep was the water you were casting or trolling in?
Cheers SB
-
Ausfish Gold Member
its not a daiwa rod.....
typical structure based fishing...find good looking structure flog it until you get a fish! usual suspects in the lure arsenal including B52's RMG's classics arafuras bombers etc etc
-
Wheezer glad ya had a great time, beats changing nappies even if you did get wet. Looking forward to wetting a line with you this week. Maybe Lenthals if my boss allows.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
-
Ausfish Gold Member
looking forward to it myles....if not lenthalls definitely macca's
cheers les...a few more and bigger fish woulda made it a bit sweeter but hey anytime barra fishing is good...i know alot of anglers come away from monduran disappointed because it can be such a hard dam to fish but because of that is one of my favourite dams...looking forward to jumpin on the skeeter as a deckie with ya one day...actually i'm keen to check it out as thinking of a goin yankee 'glass too in a stratos...good news re rod talk soon
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Thanks for the info wheezer.
Sorry about the stuffup. Your make your own rods nice work.
Do you have enlarged guides all the way to the tip?
Most rods we see in the shops limit casting heavy line with knotts etc through very small guides. It's changing but slowly.
How long are your rods and what pound of line do you cast with them?
All the best for future trips. Cheers SB
-
Ausfish Gold Member
the beauty of a custom rod is just that, it can be customised to suit the anglers requirements then built to a standard above what you can buy off the shelf. I don't want to pimp myself too much on the forums as i don't think that is ethical seeing as i am not an advertiser so if you are interested send me a PM...
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Wheezer,
Good to see you finally christened that I'ze light. How did it feel (any comparison to the Bay Cast Spec???).
Is that one of the Hasting blanks you were building??? looks similar to the new range that Ian Miller is putting out with the split grip system.
Is this your first Monuran trip Andrew?
Navi
-
-
Ausfish Gold Member
hey Navi/Whitto nah definitely not my first trip to monduran...cut my teeth hard at that dam! just that with alot of family/work commitments i haven't managed a trip there since may.
Navi, reel was awesome, everything i was wanting...immediately noticed how light the whole combo was (reel 195grams rod sub 130gram est.) casting was a dream, with the type R+ tuned rotor on the spool it really lets fly! retrieve was maybe a little smoother than bay casting, due to higher grade gears i think...drag was great (immediately upgraded to carbontex)
re rods yes i build on blanks from the Hastings range...i could go into detail as to why i believe their blanks are superior from a technical point of view, and how i can offer a hand built rod tailored to your needs with unique components never seen before in oz PM or email me for more info if you like...
-