Thread: awoonga lookout

sea_tiger

awoonga lookout

Hi guys, this is my first report for this adictive site, heading to Awoonga Dam tomorrow to try and catch my painstaking goal in life, a metre plus barra. Running up hours on my new outboard motor to get the 10 hour service done, trolling up a couple nice yella's and a swag of small bass at Somerset Dam. The best yella being 53 cm, and hotlips lures in green and gold getting nearly all the fish. Trolling a steep dropoff from the deep side heading towards the shallow section with no hits trolling in the opposite direction. A 35 cm bass caught with a tag, i rang the DPI to find the fish was caught two days fom two years growing 15 cm in that time. Must have a good home because he was caught in the same area two years ago, be interesting to see if next time caught in the same area. If you see me hanging from the nearest tree from the boat ramp at Awoonga next weekend you'll know i was'nt sucessfull. I'll be in a 6 metre sportfish, 140 johnson with a 15 hp 4 stroke yamaha auxiliary, come say giday, i might need to borrow some rope!

Re: awoonga lookout

Sure thing Tiger. Myself and the Dudds will be up there early next week, but it isn't looking flash on those days. Looks to be cool and windy. It's been a strange summer! two of us have done the metre up there but a few more will be wanting to bust it up. I have a white ally with a 60 yammie. might catch up with you there mate. good luck!

sea_tiger

Hey Sheik, yeah weather looks like shit, oh well wont catch a barra sitting on the couch at home. Spent close to a $1000 on fishing gear, auxiliary bracket, motor service, not to mention fuel costs before i even get there, but all worth it to catch a fish of your dreams. Good luck also, think we'll need it!

Good luck Sea tiger, bring heaps of positive energy. Weather is making it tough for most travellers, but effort, smart thinking and patience will see rewards.
    Look forward to seeing you achieving your goals and posting a few pics.
    Jas

You're right mate, better to be out there for sure, always reckon the planning and anticipation are nearly as good as the trip anyway. Ihave just bought a 50 4stroke and ive had no trouble getting the hours up for the service, truoble is not getting near the 50 hr! but it's a good piece of gear, although goodness knows how i can afford it. never mind, cant take it with you. might see you out there. Jas has it been a bit slow iwth this colder weather up there at benaraby?

Sheik, without trying to sound like a legend, its been tough for travelling anglers. There's a few of us guys up here who see these conditions on a regular basis and fish accordingly.
    Its all well and good for us who fish it all the time, but yeh the weather has made things difficult.
    They are catchable mate, no doubt about it. Always are. The weather gets the blame for bad fishing, but I put it down to being not good enough to catch them on the day.

When the fish are "on", anyone can catch them, that simple. However when weather cells like what we are experiencing now develop, it gets harder and harder. Trying different methods, depths, lures and tactics will paint a picture.
    Expect to have to activate fish who may otherwise not be in the mood to feed or chase lures.
    Effort will see results, hard lessons are always best learned.
    Good luck
    JW

Pistol_Pete

Nice Yella.....I always find the yella's love Green coloured lures.

Thanks Jas, perhaps a few slick rigs along the weeds late at night might be worth a try? What other little wrinkles might be worth a try next week mate?

I'd be combining hard bodies with plastics mate, fishing daylight hours in the arv into the dark.
    Im not that keen on night fishing, you will learn more when you can see whats going on.
    Slick rigs are great fish catchers, but expect them to short strike if its cold, so take some stingers.......and a few suspenders.
    Have fun.
    Jas

sea_tiger

Well guys, after spending the entire day packing the car, boat, getting everything organized, thought i would have one last look at the weather and decided to hang off until this pattern improves, Fingers Crossed. I was planning to spend the week fishing and sleeping in the boat, but by the looks all I'm going to get is a wet arse (no fish). If it wasn't so far away would give it a shot, will wait and see what happens by the end of next week. Thanks for your comments guys, if the weather is still crap the following week, i will definitely have to go, end of holidays!

sea_tiger

Hey Woolybugger, thanks heaps, really appreciate your input, don't know the dam and need all the help on catching and releasing my much anticipated barra dream fix. I cant send you a Personal message until i reach more than ten posts. My main passion is offshore fishing, haven't fished Somerset for a number of years until the other weekend, but hey i love any fishing, live for it. Will get back to you for sure on where we had our success. Points where it rises quickly is a sure thing to look for, on the edge of a bay. I live an hour south of Somerset and wish they start releasing barra into our dams, that would be heaven. Thanks again.

Thanks Jas, we're locked in for two days next week so we will be there rain hail or shine, whateverhappens the Dudds will enjoy ourselves and hopefully not break anything. Looking orward to giving the 4stroke a try our anyway. last time we went up in October it was more like Toowoomba than Gladstone, and it looks like this one might be similar, never mind. Have a good new year mate and thanks for the tips.

Yep hopfully the weather turns good ill be there on wed the 3rd for a few days just to catch my first barra ill be happy with a 30cm one lol but all the reports of metre barra sounds promising so ill be rain hail shine and might have to stay longer if i dont pick up up a fish hopfully ill post a pic of my first and a good report cheers and happy new year to all

jas