North Pine Bass Going Off!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: North Pine Bass Going Off!

blue-mako

North Pine Bass Going Off!

Hey Guys.

Ando (mat_anderson04), Tim (TIMBO) and I headed down to North Pine today to have another shot at those 50cm+ Bass. We started casting at around 9am and continued for around an hour for nothing. Then Ando suggested to head back the other way to the bank we had pulled a 50 and 40cm fork double hook up from a few trips before, and that we did. Turned out to be a great decision.

Within 15 mins of casting Tim's TT Spinnerbait gets clobbered by a weighty but very sleepy Bass. He didn't take much line until he saw he bank then zzzzz. A few final ditch efforts and he was banked. Smashing Tim's old 39cm P.B, a solid 51.5cm fork Bass. Turns out he really wanted that Spinnerbait with the stinger hook up the back on the top of his mouth.

An hour or so and a few more Bass upto 40cm past when I had jsut finished the sentence, 'Matt's the only one here not to have landed a 50cm+ Bass'. Immediately after, 'Here's my first 50cm' when a solid 50cm Bass takes his Yozuri 3D Series Vibe, and boy did he take it! The big Bass were really taking the lure with gutso but lacking in the fighting department .

I switch lures to a Jackall Mask 60 since they weren't into rattles so much. Three casts later I'm onto my new P.B. at 51.5cm fork. The same time I hook up Tim throws his spinnerbait at the same spot where I hooked up and he's immediately on with a 48cm fork and a nice double hook up of fat Samsonvale Bass.

These fish were going absolutely balistic from then on with a hook up every 5-10 casts between us. Many of these led to solid fights and more 50cm+ Bass. To be honest I can't remember everything in order. It was too much to take in all at once.

Ando then went on to nail another 51cm Bass that was the heaviest and fattest fish I have ever seen! It had a huge tail wrist and really gave him the best stick I have seen from any Bass.

We ended up with 3 double hook ups, a load of missed hits, I got bricked twice by absolute thumpers that didn't stop. One time i swam out to get him off but still not good enough. After reefing him from the snag he just went back into another and busted me off > . The fishing was unbelievable and somthing we probably won't experience for a long time. We bagged 3 51.5cm, 2 51cm, 1 50.5cm, 1 50.3cm, 1 49.5cm, 1 48cm, 1 46cm, 1 44cm and 12 other fish ranging from 21-43cm. All fish were Bass and measurments were to the fork of the tail. The 51.5cm fork fish were 55.5-56cm full length. I think the most annoying thing was seeing one of my Bass falling just short of 50 at 49.5cm.

We didn't move for the whole day once we reached this bank. Lures that worked were Jackall TN60's, TN70's, Mask Vibe 60's, Yozuri 3D Series Vibes, TT Vortex Spinnerbaits and Glitter Gold Tassie Devils.

There's quite a few pictures we took with Ando's new digi. He should have a few posted up either tonight or tommorow morning. Sorry about the vague report. I'm a bit tired from casting heavy lures all day and reeling in those big ones!

End Tally was:

Troy:
    13 Bass: 51.5cm, 50.3cm, 49.5cm, 44cm, 41cm, 8 other fish ranging from 21-39cm.

Tim:
    9 Bass: 51.5cm, 51cm, 48cm, 46cm, 5 other fish ranging from 30-39cm.

Ando:
    4 Bass: 51.5cm, 51cm, 50.5cm, 45cm.

Troy

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

Re: North Pine Bass Going Off!

awsome can't wait to see the pics
    figjam :wink:

cdenyer

Great stuff. Look forward to the pics.

me bass

troy

tim bass

on the mat

down its gob

last one

troy with a bass

well done guys,

thats a great session hey,

tell me do you get many snags there?

blue-mako

yellahunter: The fish seem to find the snags for you! . I think we lost $150 worth of lures yesterday.

Troy

thats no good mate,

i wont bu using jackalls out there then,
    i might stick to the g-vibes

Great fish fellas, well done. Those bass look very solid and there is doubt you would have lost soem gear. Looks like I may have to make a trip there sometime.

Can anyone tell me if its bank fishing only on North Pine or can you go on with electric and canoe?

Roydsy
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

Wow De Ja Vu.
    I swear i have seen this report somewhere else
    well done guys!!!!

Angus