Thread: Monduran arvo spin session 7th jan 2007

Monduran arvo spin session 7th jan 2007

Had to drive down to Hervey Bay this morning to pick up one of the misses friends from the airport. When i got home the weather was the best ive seen it in a month so i grabbed the dog and boat and went for a arvo spin session at Monduran.
    Hooked a nice barra on a squidgie but it did a massive leap and bit me off!! Spewing!!!

Took the dog for a swim and then as the sun went down i went and worked some timber and scored a nice 92cm barra on a classic. The barra have not been hitting lures properly lately and i think they are being more aggressive and territorial rather than feeding so i put the noisiest lure on to give them poos and it seems to be working!!

Crocadog

Re: Monduran arvo spin session 7th jan 2007

Nice fish there again mate
    I reckon you are right about them not hitting the lures-had the same thing at Awoonga. They seem to be swiping at them instead of eating them proper.

Were you the bloke that came in behind my brother-in-law after he got the 75cm fish. He was in the new dark grey Bluefin side console with the Yammy 4 stroke.

He finished with 2 fish, a 77cm and the 75cm.

WHITTO

G'Day Rob, Great Photo of your mate, sitting there like he owns the place, Nice Fish as well, Cheers Whitto

love them fish
    figjam :wink:

Once again, well done Rob.

Big Ren fished it on the weekend and although they didn't boat a fish, had similar results with fish flashing and swirling at lures but only 1 solid hook up.

BTW - What lure does your dog troll?

I reckon you are right about them not hitting the lures-had the same thing at Awoonga.
    Yeh i had 5 hits in as many minutes so that tells me they arent hitting them for a feed, all i could think is well im obviously pi$$ing them off with these lures, imagine what a bigger noiser lure would do!! has boated a few barra this technique so ill keep at it till they get hungry again!!

Were you the bloke that came in behind my brother-in-law after he got the 75cm fish. He was in the new dark grey Bluefin side console with the Yammy 4 stroke.
    Not sure mate as i wasnt paying much attention to other boats, where were you guys? I was the boat with the dog that zoomed into the bay where i caught the barra and basicly caught a fish as soon as i got there, a few cammera flashes and i was gone back to the ramp.

BTW - What lure does your dog troll?
    haha he lacks the coordination to reel the fish in so he doesnt fish mate, we were casting by the way, fish was from right up in the timber but we drifted clear by the time i took the photo's.

It certainly was tough fishing Rob. As Navi (Black_Sheep) said, I fished the arvo sess on Friday and morning sess on Sat with a mate Garry (gaz066) and lost our only hookup after the fish bolted under the boat and straight pulled my braid leader knot clean from the double My fault as I didn't re-tie it from a recent Awoonga trip. The fish must have had some power as I had at least five tight wraps of mono tied into the braid double.

We were using gold Vipers and chrome pilchard Scorpions. Might have to try something noisier like an F18 next time.

Great fishing again mate. Just think of all the more fish you would boat if you taught your dog to cast and fight fish properly

Ranger 188VX - "Sweet Chariot"

Well done Rob... Nice fish, and looks like the hound had a good time aswell.
    TT

nice fish mate, and great pics. The crocodog looks like he is loveing it
    Brian

hey Rob

nice fish, looks like the old mate has settled in nicely there, does he enjoy the boat?

Juzo

He loves it mate!! i have to keep him on a leash as he loves trying to jump in.

When i hooked up the barra he went into attack mode growling and if it wasnt for the leash he would have jumped in after it when i netted the barra he tried to jump in the net He didnt like the barra but he loved the boat and swimming he also likes to smart eye the local bulls but i recon if we were on the bank he would hide behind me lol

Hi rob,
    can you give us some info on the oufit your using for casting in the timber. Always keen to know what equipment the successful fisho' is using.
    I used a classic 120 10+ last trip and I already have mental note to pick up a few 125mm scorpions, including one of colour R19 (am i right) next time i'm shopping. I'm planning another trip up there for the end of feb so time to stock up!!
    do i need to go crazy deep?

cheers, roo.

HAHAHAHAHAHA
    that cracks me up mate. Great to hear all is well. I always wonderd ow he would go on the boat. Mine isn't really set up for it so never took him out.

And yeah I reckon the bulls would give him a bit of what for, I've seen a cow sort him out before

prbyroo that fish above was on a Curado 200 and an ian miller barra raider. Yup cant go wronge with the r19 and im keen to get some in the 5m range!!! you might be wise grabbing a couple!!!

Juzo i would have loved to see that!! The fat bugger ran and charged me a few weeks ago and took me out!! my knee is still aching!!