PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Catching Threadies?
No expert, but we accidently caught some about 9 years ago in the Calliope River in Gladstone, whilst retrieving our prawny baits. They seem to hand near the edges, and strike anything that moves. I reckon they'd love lures. Fish on!
Had them smashing bait all around us last year at Hinchinbrook but couldn't turn a scale. Managed a few blueys but not threadies. We could see 'em mooching around in the shallows with half their backs out of the water.
Gunna give 'em a whirl on the wand with a prawn fly this year, apparently that's the go.
land based you would be looking to walk out to the front of buff creek on the large sand bar. fish the changing low tide as ya would for barra, except look to the flat type aeras a little more. Other wise they are all through the harbor and bynoe harbor etc. West arm has good numbers and they are caught of channel island and the east arm boat ramp aeras (both land based).
They eat mullets but when we get the jelly prawn runs, then prawns are the go and even then it is hard. YOu get them on dead squid, lures and fly, but I'm yet to take one fly but have seen it.
normal barra haunts are threadie haunts just like the catfish...
G'day Roman.
Had a ball with them a few years back on the Mary river. They were pretty fussy and were slamming bait in real shallow. We got a few small blue salmon using chrome slices because: 1. it was too shallow and 2. the lure was the approximate size of the bait (50mm).
Had a few follow the fly when it was stripped flat out back to the boat, but they wouldn't take it (any ideas there muz???)
Last year dad's mate got one 94 cm on a lure, but not sure what. The ones we got on lures were all on rattlin spots and chrome slices (both chrome lures) in dirty water.