Thread: Land Based Rocky???

Jack_Lives_Here

Land Based Rocky???

Heading up to Rocky for "work" next week. Only get part of an afternoon and one night there, so with time limited want to make the most of it.
    Plan on throwing in the baitcast gear and the fly rod.
    Need some pointers on hot spots to try for lure and fly - no stinky bait.

Re: Land Based Rocky???

Hi Dave,

My brother lives in Rochampton, he's told me stories of Barra being caught around the Bridges and Rock Bars that are litterd throughout the town reach of the Fitzroy River.

If no body is looking , sneak up to the Barrage at the Northern end of town. There should be a few Barra around the base of the fishladder ,

Good luck mate,

Craig.

Jack_Lives_Here

Thanks bloke. Will throw some fizzers in to work around the structure at night.

PG

G'day Jack, I live in Rocky and I'd advise against the river at the moment. There's still a strong flow from the floodwaters coming down and the water is bloody dirty.
    If you've got the chance try going to the Woolwash Lagoon on Port Curtis Road. I've caught plenty of Barra out there but with water up now they might be few and far between. Some of the run-off around the old highway has seen some tarpon and small Barra taken on small lures and surface poppers.
    Let me know when you're coming up and will see if we can't meet up for a session if ya like.
    As for the barrage I'd give that a big miss if I were you. The locals are pretty much on-the-ball when it comes to illegal fishing. There's a 100m limit to fishing around the barrage.
    Let me know if I can be of any further help,
    PG.

Any chance of a croc saying 'Hello' or were the locals pulling my leg last time I was there?

PG

Personally I've only ever seen one croc bt I haven't spent much time on the river really. I have no doubt there are quite a few around. If you're sensible and don't stay close to the water's edge downstream you should be safe but in the town reaches I've not heard of any reports. I've heard of a child being chased up the boatramp at Nerimbera a few years back but nothing else.
    Hey, I'm still kickin' !
    Don't take my attitude as the general local opinion but I know quite a few people with the same opinion as me.
    Cheers mate.

Thanks again PG. I know the barra netters help a few crocs meet their maker, but it seems that one mistake may be the last mistake, where crocs are concerned.

Spent a couple of weeks in Karumba a while ago at the beginning of the season. All the pros were very careful launching their boats at the town ramp, boat parallel to the shore, no-one in the water etc.

That said, we did see two blokes neck deep in the mouth of a little creek rooting around with a bit of trawler net, for perhaps 40 mins. Nothing ate them.

Rick

Jack_Lives_Here

I reckon you could put that down to LUCK.
    Always cautious when I venture up north. Just last week when I was in Cairns, they said they got an 8 footer from the drain beside the motel I was staying in. This is the middle of Cairns.