Thread: Barometric pressure???

Jack_Lives_Here

Re: Barometric pressure???

My barra is the same. He has been going nuts on the tucker lately. Hell I've gotta hold it back or he'll have a guts like me.

Thanks for all the input guys, Sean by the way I see a few of you went to Corinda High.......does the name Johnno ring any bells??

PAUL_SIMPSON

hey you guys that went to corinda high i finished there in 1985,johnno
    was the best teacher and he was voted that once that i know of by b105 competition.what about ken macguire you guys should know him as well

Shoot, 1985, I finished up at Oxley ( spent a lot of time at Corinda ) in 1975..

Did not make it to Wests last week(work). have you fished the Flathead classic. I am thinking of going in it this year.
    I will send a private message to get details.
    85' was when i finished as well(sorry Phill you really are showing the age)no wonder you were sleeping when Brett caught the fish
    Saw Julie Budgen on Monday has not changed much.

Back to the point.

Barometric pressure. Now, we know that the sea rushes in or out to equalise the pressure, so, so far as our fish is concerned, the barometer makes not one jot of difference to the pressure it feels. Because if the air pressure goes up, the water pressure goes down.

I agree with the earlier poster. There is more going on here than we understand. How do eels and salmon find their way from mid ocean to the stream where mum and dad did the the deed, and they hatched out as eggs?

I reckon that the barometer changes in response to some other change in the environment, including the sun etc, and the fish pick up on that.

If bloody birds and ants can navigate by the stars (including the sun) and birds can navigate by the Earth's magnetic field (forget your gps, get a gull), then who knows what fish can do.

But. I don't reckon they have a hope in hell of detecting barometric pressure changes.

Just imagine a billfish in 100 metres of water (over 3 times the total pressure of the atmosphere PLUS the pressure of the atmosphere) in 3m swells, off the shelf in 2, 000m of water. That fish ain't gunno know what the barometer is doing.

But, we accept that tide and barometer affect the fishin'. If it is so, I reckon that tide, and atmospheric pressure are symptoms of some other change that fish is detecting.

Ron_Collins

Hey Fishtime

Enjoyed your good, well reasoned post.

But I'm in the camp of those who think, but haven't got a snowflake's chance in Hell of proving it, that barometric pressure does impact on fish and their habits, such as feeding.

I reached that decision years ago through personal experience, info passed down by my father and other relatives who enjoyed better than average levels of success and what I'd read. I imagine none of that is sufficient to satisfy a scientific purist, but it did me.

One of the few things that you didn't canvas in your post was the air bladder in fish. I think it has a fairly big part to play in all of this. Do you have any thoughts on that? Best wishes. Ron Collins.

G'day Ron,

I assumed that the airbladder was probably one of the main means fish used to detect pressure changes. On no evidence whatsoever, except that they don't look too happy when pulled up from 20metres.

It would be interesting to know what more experienced people like yourself have to say about the effect of barometric pressure on things that have no swim bladders, like prawns and sharks.

It will be a hoot if both barometric changes and fish activity are both dependant on something obscure like the solar wind (don't forget the ABC weather show this Wednesday)!

I have friends who work in hospitals and they all expect more work on the full moon; hence lunacy.

Whether its barometric pressure that actually makes the difference, or something else, who cares as long as the barometer is a reasonable indicator of likely success.

Gee I like this board. Just started to read BnB too. Ripper.

Rick

Quote Originally Posted by Sean
    I was just wondering what everyone thought about this. I know it effects Bass but what about Mackeral, Snapper etc.... Coments welcome
    Ive found the higher the barometric pressure the better the fishing