Thread: offshore Gladstone early April; what fish?

offshore Gladstone early April; what fish?

I'm on a charter boat out of Gladstone first weekend in April, weather permitting.

Plan is to go up towards the Keppels, or if shelter is needed, out East to the islands there.

I was wondering what pelagics are likely to be about up there at that time, and, if it comes to that, any other info you think might be handy.

PG

Re: offshore Gladstone early April; what fish?

Rick, if ya can, take a peek at Yellow Patch on the Eastern side of Curtis Island. A beautiful spot and well sheltered too. The headland below the lighthouse holds some good mackerel around that time of year also so give it a go. Inside yellowpatch is a very shallow area but a great flathead spot and in the cool months should have some good grunter nd salmon too if you've got some fresh prawn or herring bait.
    I've got a few mudmaps of the area I can scan and email ya if you'd like. Email me if ya want the maps,
    Paul.

PG

I should have added that the mouth of the inlet is a bit tricky so make sure you have a chart to show up the channel particularly if the tide is low or dropping.

Thanks PG,

will dig the chart out to work out where you have suggested.

I reckon I am in the hands of the skipper, but if I get up there with my tinny I'll have a look.

It certainly looks like a nice bit of coast.

Thanks again,

Rick

Not entirely sure where the Charter skipper will take yez but if you are on the move during daylight hours dont be afraid ta troll a lure back of the boat for a Spaniard or two.
    Direction you mentioned he might put you's over anything from Reds ta Lipper and variety of fish and yep Aprils a good month and should be a tad cooler than has been so far.

Thanks Volvo,

Up until now I thought fast trolling was 2kts. (lizards and freshwater) I have done a tiny bit of trolling close inshore off Mooloolaba, but have yet to hook up.

I've been doing some reading, and spent some time and $$ down at the tackle shop learning about skirts and wire, and big rapalas, and tremblers.

I think the boat does 8 or 10 kts, so I'll pick a lure to suit the speed and hope for the best.

I'll certainly be trolling at every opportunity, and I hope to put a livie out under a balloon if conditions permit.

Thanks,

Rick

8-10knots??, you can pick up lures tow behind a rig doin 12 knots .
    You know where you's are headin as yet??and how many of you's??.
    Livie under a Balloon or if in slightly deeper water can float a Pillie out back of boat in the run without no lead. saves tangling in lines fishing the bottom and may want to add a small peice of wire trace if you a going to leave the rod set. Say about twelve to eighteen inches of the stuff.
    can get some nice thin plastic covered stuff 40/50lb breaking strain which blends in nicely with mono .

G'day Volvo,

Location depends on weather, apparently a breaking shoal up toward Yeppoon is the preferred option, if conditions permit; last time it was rough so they tucked in behind Wilson Island.

There will be 10 of us on a 45footer. Sounds like the rest are dedicated bottom bashers; 5 ounce running sinkers and big hooks.

Re wire, I had thought to use fine brown mono wire in about that 40-60lb breaking strain; nylon coat is the go, you reckon. Heat weld twist crimp type thing, or crimped sleeve?

If ballooning, how large do I inflate the balloon, and what drop? I though 4-8 inches would be enough, and use the main line threaded through the balloon knot to set the depth? Perhaps 2m depth close to dawn and dusk, and a fair bit deeper when the sun comes up?

Thanks,

Rick (two weeks to go, cyclones and weather willing)

Ric,wire is wire mate and i mentioned the 40 odd pound coated stuff because its what ive found to suit my liking and do crimp it.
    mindya do use the brown heat twist stuff in the creeks when chasin salmon. Works okay but prefer the other.
    Have heard quite a variety of ways at Ballooning and most do the job i guess but i picked up my habit or way fishin over WA and stuck to it ever since, works for me so here goes and see what ya think.
    ballooning i like ta use a good size livie like hussar, baldy bream or Sweatlip(gunna get shot for mentioning that last one lol) so like ta blow my balloon up enough so the wind n tide can pick it up and carry it a fair ways away from the boat as to not get in the way of my bottom fishing.
    Depending on the depth of water im fishing and depth i want the livie ta sink to, Lets say five meters if depth aint too much i attatch a light line(2-4lb) to the balloon and to the main line up far enough ta give me that five meter depth.
    This allows the livie ta swim about happily(wishfull thinkin Lol) and when hit the line breaks and first notice either by reel screaming or ballooon fadin in the sunset lol.
    Like i said Ric this method ive adopted and gotten used to and it works for me , maybe someone can pass on a better or easier method of ballooning to you ??.
    Dont think depth plays all that much of a roll with dusk or dawn. Just a matter if the palegics are about n hungry.
    Most times as previous said i only use the short trace,gang hooks n Pillie and with some run the Pillie is most times just about on the surface and dont have any problems gettin taken ey.
    Cheers and wish ya well for your comming trip.

g'day Volvo,

Plenty to go on with there. Live sweetlip. Hmmmmm. I think the only legal lipper I am going to be able to put out over the side will be one I catch myself.

I have been amusing myself making up two hook adjustable rigs on the wire using plastic sleeve on the shank of the top hook. I have seen in Wilson's book that he likes a ganged hook rig for livies with the trailing hooks reversed from the one in the bait; what do you reckon?

Today's courier mail had a good report for spaniards where I think we are going. I'm excited.

We went out off Mooloolabah last weekend on Sat and got joggled around a bit in the mates' 14' tinnny.

Tried to get him enthusiastic about tomorrow, but he's busy. Might have something to do with him heaving every time he caught a fish last weekend.

Thanks for the tips Volvo; I've got a heap to learn.

Rick

Ric, people advise on methods that have proven to work okay for them and that Wilsons method works okay too, with some good advice to be had there.
    The trailing reverse hook is a two bob each way method and surprising how many times this hook scores.
    With ganged hooks i dont bother and just leave all me hooks facing in the same direction, though do use the offset hooks and most times dont have no probs.
    With Live baiting ?? yep do like to use a reversed trailing hook slightly smaller than the main hook.This hook is allowed ta run/slide free just above the main hook.

G'day Volvo,

Got it. Well, most of it. The second hook running above the main hook while live baiting? I can't get a mental picture of that that makes sense to me, yet.

I have the main hook in either the nose or above the lateral line in the back near the dorsal fin? And the other hook, smaller, and running loose on the trace above the main hook?

Thanks for your help so far; I am an enthusiastic mug with offshore fishing. That said, I reckon I know how to catch a lizard up a creek on a lure, but they beat me too, some days.

Mental note; buy balloons tomorrow.

Rick

G'day Volvo,

Got it. Well, most of it. The second hook running above the main hook while live baiting? I can't get a mental picture of that that makes sense to me, yet.

I have the main hook in either the nose or above the lateral line in the back near the dorsal fin? And the other hook, smaller, and running loose on the trace above the main hook?

Thanks for your help so far; I am an enthusiastic mug with offshore fishing. That said, I reckon I know how to catch a lizard up a creek on a lure, but they beat me too, some days.

Mental note; buy balloons tomorrow.

Rick

sorry about doubling up; I got a 'this page is unavailable' type message, so hit 'back' and 'Post' again.

Shouldn't have. Oh well.