Thread: Questions fishing Bundy Area

Questions fishing Bundy Area

After conditioning the other half not to book ANYTHING at all for the next 3-4 months because it is tailor season and actually having some sort of agreement, I have been booked to go to Bundaberg at the start of the first weekend of the Kawana run (judging from last year).

Oh well, so much for negotiating.

She suggested I take a few rods up, which is exactly what will happen.

Now a couple of stupid questions for you to ponder. Can I catch tailor that far north?

What can I target?

Where do I target these fish ( I will be at Bagarra and later at Moore Park)

I promise not to take much, I just need to stop the itch.

It will all be land based, I don't really care if it is river or ocean, night or day, live bait dead bait or lure.

Help?

Brett_Finger

Re: Questions fishing Bundy Area

Hi,
    while you are at bargara, this will give you access to the region,s fishing from the beach and rocks are on your door-step.

while at Bargara you will be just minutes from the mouth of the Burnett river (6-7k's away) where you can target fish from the long breakwalls,take a good hi-speed spinning rod and reel as you be able to target the many spotted mackrell that are about at the moment ( use chroms slugs) ,this rod/reel will also give you a outfit for chaseing Tailor that are about in numbers here as well,Flathead - Bream - Dart are just some of the species on offer.

Kelly's Beach is at Bargara,this beach fishes well at night for Tailor - Bream - Whiting - Dart, go for a "romantic stroll" along the beach with the other -half in the day time around low tide, and check out where the flat-rock shelf lies then back at night for the reel action

a short walk to Mon-Repos beach from the Bargara caravan park end, (or drive around) is well work at look good quality fish such as your beloved Tailor as well as good numbers on Whiting - Bream - Flathead ect....

More-Park,
    this place has tailor written all over it , you will see what i mean when you walk onto the beach that streaches for miles north and south,standard Tailor fishing is the way to go here,targeting the many-many gutters along the beach should see you with a feed of fish,head south to the mouth area and here,Tailor -Queenfish - Flathead - Whiting are on offer,have a chat to the locals at the shop/servo to see what's fireing and where.

we are in the process of putting toughter a Fishing Bundaberg web-page here at Ausfish and hopefully it will be on-line soon.
    Hookin,Brett

Thanks very much Brett Lookin' forward to do some spinning of the walls. Are those macs early morning, late arvo, or change of the tides?

I didn't know the place was so good!

Looks like I'll be taking quite a bit a gear with me

Brett_Finger

Gav,
    morning and arvo's mate,check your private messages.
    Hookin,Brett

Mad_Barry

Quote Originally Posted by Brett Finger
    Hi,
    , go for a "romantic stroll" along the beach with the other -half in the day time around low tide, and check out where the flat-rock shelf lies then back at night for the reel action
    Now, that's a class act 8)

We all know Brett's in a class by himself.

I thought that's the only time you go for a stroll with the better half on the beach!!