harvey bay

Thread: harvey bay

harvey bay

I'm heading out on a charter from there on sunday it's 4 day trip. Does anyone know what the weather will be like? What am i likey to catch? We are heading out the front of frasier and heading up to lady musgrave. Any help would be appericated.

Re: harvey bay

Weather is looking good, its a charter what help could you need in those waters you could catch anything.

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhh h. Spell it right, it's HERVEY BAY.

I go out every year on Summer Bay with Time 'N Tide Charters for a 4 day trip and always come home with more than an esky full and thats a big esky. We usually go August or September to coincide with the full moon.

You will have a ball.

Derek

Derek,

How will the new bag limits effect the esky filling?

Long charter trips(greater than 48 hours) are limited to twice the normal bag limits. I guess 60 fish is a lot of fish.

I've heard good thing about Time 'N Tide Charters.

I'm keen to try the new Sport/Gamefishing & Mothership operation Nomad. Mmmmmmm 100lb G.T.
    http://www.nomadsportfishing.com.au/...20SF%20Adv.htm

Wes

We're looking at heading up to Hervey Bay next week, weather permitting of course to get into the snapper. The fishing North of Fraser Island is totally fantastic and as long as the weather holds out for you, it'll be a good trip.
    I suppose you're looking at variety up there - snapper, trevallys,maori cod, sweetlip (heaps of variety), trout. Generally the big Red Emperor are more of a summer proposition but you never know!!!
    Geoff Taylor of Time N Tide charters is a great operator and knows where the fish are! Been fishing with several times a year since 1995 and the only thing that ever disappoints is the bloody weather!!!!!

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrrggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhh h. Spell it right, it's HERVEY BAY.
    Sorry mate.
    Thankx for thr replies guy's. I don't know the name of the charter I'm going with but will tell you all about it when I get back. Still worried about the weather. I live in Stanthorpe generaly the coldest place in Qeensland. It hasn't stopped blowing here for the past 3 day's Hope it's not the same up there.
    Just a Qiuck ? What's this about the double bag limits and where can I find them out?

Size and bag Limits for Qld Tidal waters(Came into effect in Dec 2002)
    http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/fishweb/11416.html

Infosheet 5: Charter operators - how the proposed changes affect you(this was with the draft proposal, but I couldn't find anything about charter limits in the above document)
    http://www.dpi.qld.gov.au/fishweb/10983.html

Your charter operator should have all the information about these size and bag limits.

Wes

I just got a confirmation email that we are heading out on 13 July with Time N Tide, a month earlier than usual. Yep, the charter operators sure know the rules. Big fines if they don't. Anyway you can only keep fish frozen for so long. But let's face it we go just as much for the adventure as anything.

As far as the weather goes ......... if the boat can stay out there, I'll keep fishing.

Derek

How true Derek. I don't even eat fish but was interested in the bag limits. Just out of curiousity. I would prefer to them all back for another fight another day. Thankx for the sites Wesley.

Snarker, The weather here in Hervey Bay has been similar to Stanthorpe (ie Strong Wind Warnings) - the good news is that it's eased off considerably and the weekend looks like it will be great weather.

In terms of what you'll catch the other guys have summed it up pretty well - "Just about anything" is correct! :-)

You might still stand a chance of a nice Red - a mate of mine got a monster only 2 weeks ago out at the African Gutter - I've been getting some nice reef fish in close (Coral Trout, Cod, Reef Barramundi etc) so it should be cranking out wide ;-)

I've fished in 4 metre seas outside of Hervey onboard Seaspray. Funny thing was it was our best charter. I think it was because we were effectively jigging in a range from 0-8 metres from the bottom according to the wave.

We had to use a pound of lead - due to the winds and current - I'd say i didn't even know I had 40% of fish on.

Fish ranged from hussar, parrot, cod, sweeties, to mackeral and wahoo.

Lucky I wasn't scared of heights. One minute your feet was in the water on the front deck of the boat - next you were standing on the edge of a 30 foot drop to the water.

Only 2 of the 10 on board kept breaky, lunch, dinner, down. It was myself and I'm proud to say - my girlfriend Leanne. It's funny the little things that put a glow in our hearts.

Bugman