Thread: Brisbane area locations

Brisbane area locations

Hi guys,
    Relatively new to Brisbane area and looking for some places to bend a line,

I am looking for locations for garfish, tailor, whiting and flathead. No boat or car, so I am on public transport, so the spot needs to be close to bus, train or citycat.

I live in Ascot - so something around that'd be great.
    Tight lines, Look Cool - Act Cool - Be Cool

Ocean Kayak Prowler Elite 4.5 meter

Re: Brisbane area locations

Bretts Wharf if you like catties or sharks It also has a few bream if you use herring for live bait or prawns cast back near the bank but its snaggy Try the change of tides to

As i dont live in Brissie i don't know where you can get on public transport but up around redcliffe there are a few jetties at which all of the species you asked about and more can be caught I.E Woody Point. Apart from that i'm not really sure mate ???

Anyway hope that helps, Lachie

Hi phoenix,
    Jump on the train to shorncliffe and head down to the pier, it's about a ten minute walk. From there, you may be lucky enough to amongst a few bream, gar and maybe the odd flathead. Actually, just try along the foreshores near the pier for flathead on a rising(and changing) tide. It's actually worth a shot there. Good luck, James Harmon

sRe: Brisbane area locations

i fished Shorncliffe pier today and caught 2 bream and 2 whiting over 25 cms and a small tailor about 20cms
    cheers tom

jewies, how long and what time were you there for?
    what bait/lure were you using ?

sharky

Phoenix,
    Another place close to Shorncliffe is the boat ramp at Cabbage Tree Creek (next to the sailing club). I often go down there when the wind is blowing and I am not able to hit the bay. You mostly catch Bream, but you quite often get a few good Flatties. Hope that helps in some way. Cheers!

Whats Pinkemba like? Or areas around there?

I've heard that gar can be caught near there - where.

Thanks for the replies.
    Tight lines, Look Cool - Act Cool - Be Cool

Ocean Kayak Prowler Elite 4.5 meter

I've caught gar in the brisbane river at Colleges crossing. As well as mullet and bream and in summer the sharks are there. I have also heard of people catching legal flatties there.
    cheers tom

G'day Phoenix,

A great land based spot this time of year is the Wynnum/Manly Foreshore at night (run in tide) for Bream.
    It may be a 10 - 15 min walk from the nearest train station ?
    Pick a night with a high tide between 8.00 pm and 11.00 pm and fish the second half of the run in. Arrive before dark and pick a spot where there is a bit of rocky structure within casting distance. set up your rigs and wait for the tide. Bait can be anything from Mullet Gut to Flesh Bait or Yabbies or even Chicken Breast !!!

Tides this week are perfect Dark moon so the fish will happily move into the shallow water at night. There are usually quality fish mixed in with 'just keeper' size fish..

Craig.

Pinkenba can be good at times but its a bugger to get to with public transport.

Clutter

Cleveland Harbour can supply some good fish .
    Train station 30 Seconds from the water .......Jacks , Bream , Flathead , Flounder , Tailor , Gar , sharks , mullet , squid , cod...
    Same as most spots around the Brissy foreshores ..Fish right up against the rocks , late night King high tides ( hour or 2 either side ), New moon is best .