-
Ausfish New Member
OffShore Luck
G,day. Just recently got the offshore bug and concentrating on bottom bashing. Been fishing off Mooloolaba not to far out (Murphys and Old women island) also tried Southport (24 fathoms). Results havent been too flash some little stuff and the odd squire and tusk fish. Is it slower in this close or is it bad luck. Should I be going further a field such as 36 fathoms and 52s of Gold Goast or Barwon Banks of Mooloolaba. Any help would be appreciated.
-
Re: OffShore Luck
bottom bashn as I know it is sending down a rig with a pounder on the bottom, doesnt produce many fish in the shallow grounds, in my experience, the floater setup does.
Same cant be said for the deeper spots, its often the only way to get a bait down and the fish are less fussy, it is more effort to fish the wider spots and many dont like it for all sorts of reasons, most of the reef fishing I do is at the 50s, usually try the 24s first as a guide to current and go out if its not running much. if you have the fish finding gear on board the 50s is the go.
-
Ausfish New Member
Hi Zeff,
We fish inshore at Palm Beach reef. I bottom bash all the time we are out there - and to date have caught trag jew, tailor, cod, squire, bream, tarwhine, shovel nose sharks and heaps of baitfish - slimymac's, yakkas and other baitstealing pests like scorpion cod, grinners, happy moments, and even a blubberlips (mother-in-law fish).
Steve fishes the top of the water with a floating pillie and has a live bait under a float away from the boat.
We haven't ventured out too far yet -only as far as the Gravel patch
because I don't like the up and down very much
I reckon have at least two options covered eg. a bottom bashing rig and a floating pillie rig or a livie rig and you'll have more sucess
That's JMO though,
Lindy
-
Ausfish New Member
[smiley=2thumbsup.gif] Thanks Mackmauler, I will be heading futher a field in search of some fish. Ive got some gps spots for out at the 50s so I will take your advice and have a crack at it.
-
Ausfish New Member
Hi Lindy thanks for your tips. I will try a pillie on a floater. Do you get a little queezy when your out their?
-
also if you need a bit of lead to get down use a dropper rig that way you can still feel the bait and i find less snags
-
-
Ausfish New Member
Is a dropper rig one with the sinker at the bottom and a hook coming off the side . Say about 50cm away
-
Yep thats the one, remember you are only allowed 6 hooks, and at that depth it pays to use 6, it is a long way up to rebait
-
-
Ausfish New Member
wouldn,t 6 hooks be a pain in the butt when it comes to bringing it up(Tangles).
-
it can be, getting it into the water takes some practice, but overall the result is worth any trouble, I use 50kilo trace which keeps the rig fairly stiff, and easier to untangle if need be.
-
Ausfish New Member
Whats the go with braid. Is it as good as what people say in offshore conditions and what are the benefits.
-
braid is the go no stretch so you feel everything and you dont need as much lead to get down as there is less drag because it is thinner
-
Ausfish New Member
I'm gonna have to get some and give it a try have you got any preference on brand or type