Thread: feedback Hooker 1 Charters please

feedback Hooker 1 Charters please

Hello,

Wife and I are considering a trip in October with Hooker 1 out of the Gold Coast somewhere. Seems they head Nth of the Seaway.

Welcome any feedback re operator or options at that time of year.

Rick

aquarius

Re: feedback Hooker 1 Charters please

Hi Fishtime...Mate have not been on this particular boat but have been on heaps of charters from the Gold Coast over the years.....Its a matter of good luck as to weather you come back with a feed of reefies because this area is heavily fished by countless numbers of charter boats.
    It would seem the fish most people bring back on a bad day is the old Tailor but on a good day if all conditions suit..ie;wind, barometer, moon etc..you may get snapper pearl perch,trag and the list goes on.
    Don't be dissapointed if you come back with a handful of fish because 50% of my charter trips we did just that.
    If you want to get serious about a fishing trip head up north to Hervey Bay and beyond.
    Cheers Brent

thanks Brent.

It is sometimes hard to get excited about paying almost $150 to catch parrot on big alveys and bottom bashing gear, which has been my experience of other charters in the past.

Rick

Charters
    My thoughts
    If its somewhere ya havent seen before its worth it just the the scenery ( does'nt matter if ya dont catch a fish)
    If ya want to catch fish for sport ( can't beat light line in estuaries) In tassie a 5 to 10lb salmon on fly 2kg tippet or 1 or 2 kg string on a light spin stick is better value and fun than any charter.
    That said spending 3 or 4 hrs trying to work a marlin up from the deep off st helens is fun to I enjoy the hunt as much as getting a fish and even to see one of these fish is worth the expense