Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: south passage bar

south passage bar

wanting to venture out through south passage to flat rock this weekend. can anybody tell me if it is as easy as it looks in beacon to beacon.

cheers craig

CHRIS_aka_GWH

Re: south passage bar

yeah, just follow the red line in the water.

its northern entrance is always best - can jack right up in an easterly swell & pothole in the runout. The break extends a long way out so don't turn to flat too soon. The fine print in Brownies ("should only be attempted with local knowledge") sums it up.

Rob (Mackmauler) could probably give you a recent, accurate update on how it is, I haven't been across south passage for 2 years.

thanks for the advice chris ill use it.

CHRIS_aka_GWH

... eeer craig, I was just kidding about the red line thing .. y'know...

Craig, nope it aint that easy northerlies such as today make for awful conditions, I prefer the amity channel, less distance to swim to land (Kev)Reel Hard and myself crossed both a couple of times today and had no problems, it wasnt pleasant though.

Be carefull out there Striker, a few of our famous Aussie Cricketers flipped their rig on the South Passage Bar a year or two back. Matty Hayden and Andy Symmons had a long swim back to North Straddie. Thank heavens they survived, they've won us a few Cricket matches since then
    They should have let that wave go to the 'Keeper' rather than play at it

cheers.

how come rob and kev get to go fishing while the rest of us are doing the hard yakka and out working ??? Lachie

I have only been over the South passage bar once, followed a friend out over the Amity side. Suprised the crap out of me to come across the wreck of the Rufus King sticking out of the water between the swell. You think they would mark the bloody thing.

Lifesaving responce guys,I will hold back on the solo attempt,observe you blockes while finding my Moreton sea legs,hopefully faster than my typing skills

craig

G'day Bungie,

Mate be careful, if you were going thru the Amity Channel, and happened across the Rufus King amongst the breakers, you are waaaaay off course. The South Passage bar is one dangerous place if you don't where your going. (end of sermon, just don't want to see you on the 6 o'clock news !!)

Take care and good fishin'

Skippa 8)
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

Hainer

Here is a good piece of advice. Dont go by yourself unless you have local knowledge. The bar is no place for someone who is not familiar with it.

Does the coast guard run courses on the safe navigation of the bar??

And thanks for the warning skippa

Quote Originally Posted by craigie
    Be carefull out there Striker, a few of our famous Aussie Cricketers flipped their rig on the South Passage Bar a year or two back. Matty Hayden and Andy Symmons had a long swim back to North Straddie. Thank heavens they survived, they've won us a few Cricket matches since then #
    They should have let that wave #go to the 'Keeper' rather than play at it #

cheers.
    The cricketers came unstuck on the Southport Seaway. Going "outside" over an unfamiliar bar is always best done with someone experienced in that location either on board or on another boat you can follow.

too late red line extended,highlited and ready for use