south passage bar - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: south passage bar

BS

Re: south passage bar

Correction...
    Matt Hayden and Andrew Symonds went over on Sth Passage. Their engine was swomped as they were coming back in. I headed out with some mates through the Amity Channel as the film crew's were at Amity at lunch time that day. It wasn't good. 3 metre breakers throughout the Bar. 5 metre's out the back of Flat Rock and that it no exageration. Can be a wild and scary place on day's like that.

bungie,give bill corten a ring he runs bar crossing courses at south passage,worth its weight in gold

Bill corten (07)3286 3647
    should be worth a spotters fee hey bill

Yeah they went over on south passage i remember hearing about it on the news. . Gone over sth passage a few times and we usually go out through the northern channel and come back in over the "amity channel" It gets down to about 3 or 4 m in some places doesn't it ??? It is only about 300 m or so off the beach or somethin i think but stay clear of any breaking waves

Cheers fellas, Lachie

Top info nofrills ,and thanks to everybody for the input.As anew member the best advice i can give is ASK

craig

G'day Bungie,

No probs matee, and yes as has previously been said, I would recommend Bill Coreton, you can't beat local knowledge and a professional to boot. (its worth just to drive the cruisecraft)

I would actually prefere the Amity from the Northern channel, but that's just a personal choice and I guess it depends where you intend to fish away.

Cheers and good fishin'
    Skip 8)

Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

It was definately South Passage. The infamous joke "What is black and white and sits on the bottom of Moreton Bay - Matt Hayden and Andrew Simmons!" came out of that episode. Trent Butler from QFM and ex Mossops was the third member of the crew. Trent was the one struggling a bit becase the other two were obviously a lot fitter. I think Matt got to shore first and raised the alarm.

It's the only bar that has put the wind up me. In the Little Ships game tournament just gone I came in from the outer bank and it all looked the same to me once I got into the middle part so I went back out to wait for another game boat to follow. You can't be flybridges for seeing where to go.

Too close for confort,the news we have recieved
    after this weekends boating proves how invaluable
    this sight can be.My families condolances to all family and freinds concerned.

I have only ever crossed it on holidays... I believe you can say, 'this is the best way' 'that is the best way' but the bottom line is read each bar on its day. It's a long bar and i have crossed it about 20 times and have not yet once hit a broken wave. If you watch and time your run and have a good reliable engine you will be fine. Never get complacent, but always have confidence, as, if you turn around half way you will be in trouble.

firstly i reckon guys that where surfers , spearfishermen or even boogie board riders-esk lid patrols- have the big advantage when they start sea going boat travel they have the ability to "read water" and they also do get so adrenline charged as ure westie types(i have worn black levi's myself at one stage and drove a L34). secondedly swell size and direction is what will tell u whether or not its possible to cross and for the standard 18' 2meters is about tops for a bar that breaks its entire lenght(sth passage as mentioned in certain conditions will break its entire lenght). now im not trying to scare u just to make u aware that there is a time and place for everything- a good time to start attemping bar crossing -sth pass ie- would be 1.2 m s/e swell at high tide become familiar with how things work in your boat and how u r able to deal with different situtations ,also trimming of ure hull and how it reacts too much leg out into the swell will land you to bow high and will increase the potential to "flip out" too much bow down over the swells will lead to nose diving on re-entery(these are exaggerated but only to make for understanding of hull disposition, also some hulls react differently depending on beam to hull lenght proportions and swell size and lenght).
    what im trying to tell you is get experince in conditions that arent dangerous then u will know how to react in the a given situation also u will learn that if the toll booth is closed u cant go that way today !!!!! in seafaring its not just about your destination its about the hazzards along the way! if you have the capabilities and confidence to deal with certain hazzards you will also be able to deal with the fears and doubts of your crew so they dont pollute your thought, remember theres' on one guy behind the helm, he is responsible for all that happens on deck' safe and happy bar crossing to you and family,damo'

Damo,I cant say too much info so I wont,nothing like a few crew screaming in your ear for achance to break in a potential decky or two.Looking forward to appropriate conditions as to spend some time in and around the passage and if any of you blokes feel like your being followed on that day,good chance its true.

craig

Craig, this weekend should see the conditions as safe as they get on south passage, ill either be fishing out there or mooloolaba, cheers Rob

Rob I'd love a demo, but unfortunitly this weekend is out for me and yes the conditions are looking great mainly sat morn from where I'm sitting.Crossing fingers for next weekend I'll let you know if heading towards the passage .

Burley up Craig

Yes , the first of many crossings happened am today.Considering all the information above and weighing up all the possablities any doubt was throughin overboard as we lingered around the outa most beacon ready awaiting . Search and Rescue just to confirm if whom we might follow just happened to pass,never let a chance go by.Thanks guys if your having a read.Just to top off the conditions as we were reaching the outa of the bar system our guides stalled , couldn't beleive my eyes ,whales ,my first sighting (not Grahams who's riding shotgun) too good soaking it up for about half an hour.Left Rescue taking footage and pointing us in the right direction for flat rock.The only way so far this day might improve is if we landed a fish or two,and it did after adjusting ourselves to the current around the rock we landed some but definitly room for improvement,no keepers.Still a day to remember only to be beaten by a better catch amongst whale watching which we also caught on the way back in .
    Worth the wait
    Thanks all Craig

G'Day Craig,

Good to hear you had a safe crossing and good day 'outside', those whales are a awsome sight but I've never seen them that close to the Bar....... maybe that's what we can expect now their numbers now are starting to increase.

Mate and I where off Tweed last year, when a couple came past, bit spookie really, we could see him (her??) coming from a distance While we were anchored, bugger came up right beside the boat, scared the you know what out of us!!!!

Tony 8)
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak