Thread: beachworms - the technique - want all secrets

beachworms - the technique - want all secrets

Come on guys and girls tell me how you catch them. I have my ways just wondering if someone has better technique and skill. Would like to learn another way.

zoomFishing

Re: beachworms - the technique - want all secrets

Quote Originally Posted by thargor
    Come on guys and girls tell me how you catch them. I have my ways just wondering if someone has better technique and skill. Would like to learn another way.
    Ok Thargor, from my personal experience catching beachworms, this is the technique i've used and GUARANTEED you'll be seeing many worms sticking their heads out of the sand.

1. Use the juices of any baits like squids or fish, and mixed them with saltwater from the area you are about the catch.

2. Sprinkle them scatter on the beach where the washes are.

3. Observe for any water disturbance caused by the worms.

4. Pinch them out using index and middle finger.

That's all

Goodlucks to your worms catching

Hi zoomfishing,
    Pretty right in your suggestion. A fish bag with a high smell factor always draws the heads of beach worms up for longer periods. D'ont forget when approaching, try to come from a side on angle. The ocean beaches with long runoffs provide essential time for you to prepare and "pull' the beast from the swallowing sand mass.
    rgds
    MD

best way ive found is to provide the missus with all the equipment needed then stay out of the road.
    cheers nofrills

Sorry Thargs

But beach worming is one of those things that you only learn by feel and practise. Took me about two years to pull my first worm and ever since then I'm getting gradually better.

As the other guys said - the stinkier the bait the more the worms will become agitated and come out of the sand. Seeing them is the easiest part though.

I use a pippi to give them something to nibble - and the the technique that works best for me - is to dig my thumb and right index finder a couple of centimetres into the sand close to horizontal with the surface beside the worm. That's the second easiest thing.

The hard part is the capture - Slowly squeeze - absolutley no jerky or pinch motions. Squeeze slow and deliberately. If your fingers are going blue because the pressure is so great and the worm's head is still there - you've got him - then pull up in one motion - be careful not to stop the pull motion otherwise they'll go back down.

Hard to teach - even on the beach but practise is the only way to go.

Bugman

After using the smelly gear and locating the worm,get your thumb and fingure each side the worm, (while using the pippy to keep their interest), with some sand between your thumb and fingure , between you and the worm. The sand is important.
    Wait till the worm arches,(you will feel this), then sqeeze with your thumb and fingure, sand and all. You can hold the worm for a long period of time that way.
    Then when you are ready lift the worm out. A 70 year old showed me that method, and he had all the kids cathing worms in a short period of time.
    Hope this helps
    David

Justme

use the 3 P's method
    Patience,Perserverance & Practice
    i started when i was about 7 i guess
    40 years later i don't miss many
    can't get em all
    got to leave some for tomorrow
    i prefer a piece of squid for my hand bait
    it is not as soft as pippi
    let the worm get a good grip on the bait before you put your catching hand anywhere near it
    put your thumb & forefinger about 5cms under the sand well behind it's head and move them towards the worm as it rises to have a feed
    DON'T touch it's head
    close your fingers around the worm as it is rising and keep lifting it from the sand
    DON'T grab at it
    give it a go
    it works for me
    but remember the 3 P's
    Larry

DaneCross

hi thargor,
    practice makes perfect, i used to spend what seemed like hours of back-breaking worm catching. i caught them between thumb and pointer about and inch down from the head. you can rest your thumb lightly on the worms 'back' and the rest is done by feel. as you feel the worm BEGIN its arch thats when you strike, if you hit him at the top of its arch it'll be gone. squeeze over a broad area so you don't pinch its head off and pull him out in one movement (if you stop it gives him time to grip the sand).
    bottom line is patience and take your time with each worm learn to feel its arch, don't be in a rush to pull it out first arch, i like the second or third arch, they seem to be bigger as the worm becomes less timid.
    good luck
    DC

hey guys
    do beach worms leave mounds of wormie looking sand on the beach at low tide? Moved to yeppon and see this quite offten but aparently you can't find worms on all the beaches up here. Do you need the water washing across were they are or will they still rise when the waters a couple meters away

Snapper,

ou're not talking about pippis here are you mate. As the tide goes out the shell fish continues to pump water/sand through it's shell making a small mound if it's near the surface.

Dig down about 5 cms and you'll find a great bait and something that's not bad on the chew - If you can get the sand out of it.

Bugman

Justme

Gday Snapper
    Worms leave no tracks
    Must have waves washing up & back
    I think your looking at something else
    Larry

I use pantyhose on the hand bait, there teeth stuck in it gives u longer to grab them, try that.

Hi Snapper,

The sand on farnbrough beach is a little to compact for sandworm I think your seeing squirt mounds there a different type of worm. A bit like tube worms. The beaches from Ridges Resort up to 9-mile beach hold heaps of sandworms. Just look for the heads out of the sand when bait is in the water, the wave action is bigger therefore moves the sand around. Now I'm back from there, I find the worms on the gold coast are harder to catch, I think it is to do with the more aggressive wave action.

If needs some spots let me know ;

Ray

hello i'm going to be coming over to oz next month for abit of fishing and travelling,these sandworms where do you normally find them do they leave worm casts on the surface or what,and can't you get a pump of some sort to pump the whole thing ou in one go?Over here in britain we have lugworms which lie vertically in the sand and we have these pumps which are about 30 inches i length and all you do is pull up the pump plunger and it drags the pump into the sand around the worm and all you do is lift the pump out and eject the sand which you've pimp and hopefully the worm .Are they similar these sand worms and are they a good bait,and do they bite? ???

Heya snapperhead

Those wormie looking mounds are usually snails, at the end of the line you will see a bit of a lump, flick your finger into the sand and a snail will popup