-
Ausfish New Member
Bait for Yeppoon
Hi gang,
Going up to Yeppoon in Sept. and starting to get a little bit organised.
As I'm from SA, can I collect my bait up there (worms, cockles/pipis, garfish or should I bring my own.
Will be fishing mainly from shore.
Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.
Geoff
-
Re: Bait for Yeppoon
Gday fishless
Mate what ya need up there is a cast net. Then you should be able to get live herring,mullet and prawns. You can get one from any tackle store once you are up there.
Regards, Tony
-
If you're only going for a holiday don't worry about buying a cast net, call in to Barra Bait and Tackle, they will supply all your bait needs while you're in Yeppoon. If you intend living in Yeppoon they will sell you a cast net so you can catch your own bait. The service there is great and when it comes down to who is catching what fish where in the area they'll know that too. They've also got the cheapest juice in town.
Don't forget your whiting gear, at that time of year there will be plenty of whiting down at Bluff Rocks which make great live bait for threadfin salmon off the beach. If you turn right at the end of the main street and go the other way on the dropping tide at the entrance of Ross Creek on live whiting you can get flathead, barra and threadfin.
Enjoy your holiday.
Grant (Ezmay)
-
Live bait is the go!
If you are going to use whiting, make sure they are either winter whiting or over the legal size of 23cm.
Regards Tony
-
Ausfish Gold Member
G'day Fishless,
Try the outside rock wall at Roslyn Harbour.
Yorkie herrings are available everywhere in the harbour and make great livebait from the outer wall.
Small metal slugs and slices are great for pelagics off the wall with some impressive mack and salmon catches seen every year.
Behind the headland on an incoming tide there are XOS jewfish but be careful you dont get cut off by the rising tide...
We spent an uncomfortable night on the rocks rather than swim through the berleyed water to dry land lol after landing 2 larger than average bronzies.
Also try off the rocks on the main beach at low tide for some good sportfish in Steelback salmon.
Very tasty smoked or cooked fresh and they fight very well on light gear.
Good luck and cheers,
Rich.
-
Save the ice for the coldies and dont bother bringing bait as there is always a good supply in the roslyn bay harbour using a cast net or bait jig. And the bait in the shops up here is some of the freshest around. Not much bitting here at the momment but I think in sept/oct there were some good spotties taken off the rock walls at the harbour. You will have a ball there are so many creeks and beachs to explore up here if you have a 4wd that opens up allot more beachs to the north. You wont have a drama finding plenty of shore based options.
Cya
-
Geoff,
The other lads have given you a couple of good locations. But here are some of my spots when I was there for two years.
Kinka beach , from the road entrance, at the end of coolwaters esplanade. Is dirt track that takes you to the water.
If you go there at low tide you can pump your yabbies in the creek bed at low tide. Then come back on the incoming tide. And fish the holes on the flats for bream , flathead and whitting being the predominate catch. There is some good elbow slappers in this area. Water height is thigh high in the holes so don’t get so concerned. You'll need to wade out a hundred meters or so.
The causeway - In winter is very slow, Spring is seeing an increase in activity. If you stand on the bridge and fish the left hand side of the bridge facing the lake side with a live prawn under a float with a metre drop, you should land yourself a barra. The prawns will be under your feet. You'll need to stand on the causeway proper. All you need is a flashlight and a scoop net. Late at night is best.
The harbour – is great fun for kids if stick to the right hand side of the road leading into the harbour, it will lead to the fishing co/op. The pier here is new “3 years old” using live bait under a float with a meter drop, will catch” steel backs” especially that time of year.
The mouth of Ross creek “tip of the rock groin” is a lottery ticket, be prepared for anything but use live bait. Fish the top of the tide an hour either side. Flathead, Barra and Blue Salmon will be your main Catches.
Live Bait is the bait to use, a cast net in Roslyn Harbour on the boat ramps and pier will see enough bait to last a good session of fishing.
The yorkies in Roslyn are a great bait but they only school up in the harbour early May and are gone by the third week of June. But boy do they cop a hammering in this time, by sea and land. One cast with a nine foot cast net filled a sixty litre esky. I fished all winter for bream with that one cast.
If Your there for an extended stay, P.M me if you are interested in other spots, and different species.
I hope you enjoy the place as much as I did !!
Ray
-
Fishless, there's a few options here really. Try places like Coorooman Creek (mouth near Emu Park, boat ramp upstream a few Km, boat ramp at Keppell Sands), Keppel Sands (Pumpkin Ck), Fishing Creek(north of international resort) and as the previous posts have said, Rosslyn Bay at Double Heads.
If you have a 4wd there are also other options further afield and if you have access to a tinny while you're here, even better.
Yabbies are available at Ross Ck, Kinka Beach, Fishing Ck.
Ross Creek usually holds some prawns and herring at low tide under the bridge. Rosslyn Bay between the boat ramps are good to cast net from with prawn, mullet and herrings, a bit scarce sometimes but usually there.
If I can find it, I have a mudmap of the area, I can scan it and email it if you'd like.
Hope you enjoy yopur trip !
-
yeah. fish while the water temp is low and the sun isn't hot..... like it is now.
from what i've experienced, when ever the wind is blowing don't even bother wetting a line. but i have 1 spot that works. but generally it's a waste of time.
in the harbour inside between the new units and the boat building shed with small flasher lures is great for blue salmon. though be warned. they do say it's private property, but i've never had any problems fishing there during the day. at night they will tell u to move on. strangely enough. same place but on the other side(ocean side) you can fish anytime. expect anything and everything there. salmon, sharks, rays, BIG jew, mackeral.
like most guys have said. use live baits.
let me know when your up here and imight be able to show u a few spots.
-
Ausfish New Member
Thanks for your time and effort in replying fellas.
Muchly appreciated and I'll contact you via IM a bit closer to when I go.
If ever you want to know a bit about spots in SA....send me an IM....have fished all over the State and whilst not an "expert"....I can normally find a feed or three.
Geoff