-
whiting on SP's
Hey im moving to sunny coast as a few of you know and i havnt had a good feed of whiting for ages now so i was wondering if anyone knew some good spots for whiting and if you can catch them on SP's. If you can, what soft plastic should i use and in what colour. Thanks for your help.
-
Re: whiting on SP's
very small 2" grubs in red.. light jigheads but enuf to cast them out and 4lb leader at most.. also try the 1.5" Atomic Crays in Pumpkinseed, Watermellon, Salt and Pepper.. ill show ya a few plastics to try when we meet for a fish Tim
-
g'day tim NQ i don't mind a feed of whiting my self. I live not to far from you. got a couple of spots in the passage if you want to line up a trip out send me a pm cheers brewman
-
-
Cheers for that guys. Is it harder to catch whiting on plastics rather than bait?
Bad bubby, yea they deffinetly arent as thick as cattle creek but there are a few. Spewing i broke kiels rod.
Brewman for sure, hopefully ill be living in caloundra so nice and close to the passage. Im actually having a hard time finding accomodation down there though so i may have to stay with a mate in chancellor park for a while.
-
Gday Tim
We catch a few on softies(same types Zeeke recomends) but if you are serious about getting a feed, I reckon bait will outfish the softies on whiting every time. For fun and entertainment go the softies!
Bad bubby- Is that tilapia in salt or fresh ???
# # # # Cheers Tony
-
the tilapia was in the fresh at louisa creek. you will find a photo of the creek if you do a search, a mate put up a report for some tarpon there.
Also tony what bait would you suggest to use for whiting? i used to use either bloodworms or yabbies, is there anything which works better? Also the little red tubes they use for whiting, are they any good at bringing the whiting to you?
-
Fresh yabbies have always been my favorite, and a very slow retrieve always seems to improve results, they love a moving bait!
Those red beady and tubey things I am not sure on. Iv'e caught them with and without, and have actually had better results on bream with them. Yeah , a bit undecided on those, but fairly sure they dont hurt.
Regards, Tony
-
Guys,
On the subject of the red tubing, I say it helps with the whiting hook ups. To back this up, one day, me my girl and my grandfather (RIP) were fishing for whting on a bank out from some mangroves using live bloodworms and me and my partner kept pulling them in over and over. Poor old mate didn't hardly get a touch, he was the only one who didn't have the red tubing on. As Tony said, it certainly doesn't hurt - but the little gnarky bream seem to like it to when they see it unfortunately.
One thing I have noticed though on the bait front for 'em, they don't seem to like the head of a bloodworm?! They certainly give you a nasty little nip if they grab a hold of you, so i normally decapitate them anyhow. Maybe the whiting know they are going to get bitten too if they eat the head.... ??? Has anyone else noticed this or am i just crazy?
Not much better than a good feed of whiting though......tis a great feeling when you are pulling them in over 30cm each....some of my fav fishing.
Tight lines!
hutcho
-
Oh yeah, on the SP side of things, Atomic Crawdad's in pink pumkinseed colour (1 1/2inch I think) work well with a 1/16oz jighead work best for me. Normally a quality fish caught too on the SP for whiting, but you need more paitence than bait.
-
Yeah Hutcho
I dont reckon you can go past those 1 1/2 inch atomic craws.
Ive been told the red tube works many times and I sell heaps of it in the shop,I suppose I just havnt used it enough to convince myself! I like to drop down the jig head size to 1/32oz on the craws. Another good one is the 11/2inch paddle tail grubs in motor oil gold.
Regards, Tony
-
I find the red tubing works well together with slimy beach worms and certainly doesn't seem to turn them off when used with yabbies. Seems to get them coming up the hook better if they are a bit picky.
However, it can work too well when they are on the tooth, you end up gut or gill hooking a lot, so i take it off. I'd say don't use it if you are getting small fish or intend to release.
When I first read the post, wasn't sure if you really wanted a feed or you wanted to catch them on frangers. If you are after a feed, bait.
Jeff