yellow raincoat brigade

Thread: yellow raincoat brigade

yellow raincoat brigade

Hey fellas, hows the prawn season shaping up, are there any reports yet? Has anyone seen large numbers of the raincoats gathering in the usual haunts yet?

Re: yellow raincoat brigade

Plenty of prawns at 1770 Rob
    And no yellow raincoats.
    Just hope it stays that way!

Regards, Tony

i have been to schulz canel twice last month and the usual crews were there. Prawns weren't thick but got a feed. I generally work the north side of briss until the end of this month, them move south. will be visiting my net maker for some repair work, after 1770.He generally has the goss.
    dont no what its going to like due to this rain ??? 2 big flush's in a short period of time not good

Michael

Rob there were 3 or 4 boats of people netting prawns at the kedron brook floodway yesterday. I got 2 small ones in my cast net while trying to net herring and mullet. The prawns became livies and i got smashed by something on the 1st cast not sure wat it was ??? but seemed to be heaps swimming out the side when i was bringing it it

Tony, you might have to change your profile pic, if your eating prawns at the rate im imagining

Thanks Michael and Tom will check out those areas.

Yeah mate we've had a good run so far this year,seems like the last lot moved out on or about friday with the rain. The next lot should be a good size by the next moon. Should have just about run out by then, just in time for a restock

Ausfish Gold Member

Hell Tony this trip to Baffle sounds better my the day mate. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    Any chance of squid in that area ???

Hey Dasher
    We do get a few nice squid around the jetty lights at night, But tends to be during the winter months. Had a fella tell me he went for a dive on the wreck of the KARMA alittle while ago, reckoned that the whole hull was virtually chockers with squid and squid eggs! He said it was like swimming in a snow storm!

Ausfish Gold Member

Thats a bit of a bugga Tony, have to take em off the menu for the BBQ eh. Just have to suffer with prawns, muddies and fish. Will give ya a call b4 we leave, catch ya soon mate.

P.S. bottle of scotch with your name on it already packed.

Way to go Dasher!
    What are your dates?

Regards, Tony

P.S.
    Apart from aerial maps, the one you got from baffle bob is apparently the best one available. Will keep hunting though!

Ausfish Gold Member

Tony, getting there lunchtime Friday and coming home > Monday. Seen Bobs map and not too bad, but a bit hard to read some of the tips/warnings. Evidently no markers in the system. ??? If we get stuck on the mud I'm sure we'll have enuf provisions to wait out hi tide. [smiley=drunk.gif] [smiley=helpa.gif] [smiley=oops.gif]

Hi Dasher,
    Maaaaaaaaate forget about the mud banks jusst watch out for the ROCK BARS
    I reckon Baffle has more rock bars than the "cross"
    good tip "TAKE A SPARE PROP"
    bob

Ausfish Gold Member

Thanks Bob, geez bank fishing is starting to look good. ???

Been into a few of the sleezy baffle bars have ya Bob?
    They are always open and anyones welcome!

LOL Tony