Thread: moreton bay

moreton bay

hey
    im wondering wheather or not there are any reefs or any spots that can hold reef fish in moreton bay near pumistone passage and wheather or not you get cobia or dolphin fish in the bay if so were are likely spots
    thanks
    philip
    Bring on the Marlin!!!

Re: moreton bay

dolphin and cobia along the shipping channel markers at times, cobia are a good bet anywhere there is a concentration of baitfish.

G'day Phillip,

I've been told of an area of Coffee Rock that forms a ledge that runs along the Bongaree section of Bribie Is.

You will need to thoroughly investigate the water with your sounder to pinpoint it exactly. It basically runs from the bridge out to South Point in broken patches. A good place to start is where the canal joins the passage at Creel Bend. Sound along where the beach drops off into deep water.

Happy hunting

Craigie.

When fished correctly (evening, day break with fresh bait, lightly weighted etc etc ) Squire and Snapper, cod and other mixed reefies are a real possibility.

hey philip

what size boat are you fishing from ?,is moreton island in range?
    cheers scott

i fish from a 96 model haines hunter 520sc half cabin with a evinrude 90 on the back. i am sure that i would be in range of moreton island only not sure wheatehr or not it is possible ot cut directly across there from bribie island though. if so i am very tempted to head over there for a feed of reef fish
    philip
    Bring on the Marlin!!!

hey philip

#first things first,have you got all the saftey gear you need for the bay and know how to use it?use your radio?can you find your way home if it blows up or starts pissing down and you cant see anything?

#sorry to preach just dont want to see you on the news wearing a blanket or worse #

#yea as cragie said you can get reefies in the passage or the next closest spot is probably around near the aqua culture centre marker which is along the front beach of bribie a couple of miles north of skirmish point.you;ll see a channel marker about 30m off the beach & there is rough ground out in front of that.there are patches of coffee rock all up the front side off bribie you just gotta find em

# as mackmauler said the channell markers hold fish and are easy to find .they are a lucky dip and a marker that is loaded with fish one day might be barren the next.

# #as for cobia in the bay ,my best bet would be #the ledge that runs between bulwer and the #curtain artifical reef on moreton,its not hard to find just drive into the beach somewhere in between there and drive out again watching the sounder .

# # the bay is like anywhere it does hold top fish,but to catch them consistently you need the right spot at the right time with the right gear.

# # #as for navigating the bay,prolly the worst thing to hit out of bribie is gilligans island which is just out the front.you;ll also notice lots of sand banks,the bottom is up and down all over the place,this kicks the waves up and a change of tide or wind direction can turn a placid bay into a washing machine.if you havent ventured out there before you would be best to follow someone that has or hitch a ride a couple of times with a friendly ausfisher.

# # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # #cheers scott

Sportfish_5

And in early morning/late afternoon light watch out for all the freakin crab pots left in the channel and at the bottom of Bribie >

Pick your day for your first trip out and you will be right in a boat that size. As Scott mentioned the bottom corners of Bribie can be a pigs of #places with different combinations of tide/swell and wind. I haven't fished there for a while but there is a spot about halfway between Bribie and Scarborough that is a top whiting spot. S27 08.601 E153 10.415 should get you somewhere there. There is also a patch of ground Sth East of the NW12 beacon that might be worth a shot on a nice day.
    Heading around the eastern beach all the way up to Caloundra should see you come across schools of tuna (mainly mack tuna) and a mate of mine came across a school of spotties near the Caloundra Headlands on Saturday.

thanks for the help ill try and try some of those spots next time dad gets a day off. not looking good > > at the rate he is going at work i wont be fishing for a good 2 months no
    thanks heaps
    philip
    Bring on the Marlin!!!

G'day guys,
    That's great advice nofrills, just reading through and found your info very useful. Much appreciated. Have any of you guys ever fished the seagrass areas at the mouth of pumiscestone?, I'd be interested to know what was lurking around in there!
    Cheers, James

hey james

sorry for the late reply,i got a puter virus im having trouble with .i havent fished the weed beds for a couple of years but on a nice day we did used to get a lot of squid drifting over them with the jigs out.prolly nearly the right time of year for it as well.
    cheers scott