-
Re: Pommes in OZ - we need some guidance
There is actually lakes near all those queensland spots your going stocked with barra!
Tinaroo Falls Dam on the tablelands a hour from Cairns.
Peter Faust Dam about the same time from Airlie.
Lake Awoonga near Gladstone hour and a half from Bundaberg?.
That will get you started.
-
G'day Johnny Wilco ??? (are you sure !! Sounds like a "Gee-up")
Sorry to hear about your dad, I'm sure he'd be proud of ya, giving us convicts a bit of sledging . We enjoy a verbal stouch, so keep it coming
Looks like your missus got herself a big Fijian Wahoooo, nice fish ??
Sounds like your here to see a fair bit of Aus, hope the fishing is kind to you. Your passing through a lot of good fishing country (north and central Queensland, etc).
How long will you be staying on the Gold Coast ? Plenty of Fishing Charters down that way that are mainly geared for the tourist (no fish, but a nice day on the water ).
I recomend you go on a charter with a guy named Bob Cosien, he runs a Fishing charter in Moreton Bay (It's the wide expanse of water between the Gold Coast and Brisbane)Caters for small groups like yours, charge is $100 per head or about 40 quid. Sharks are a very real possibility !!
If your interested, I'll pass on more details.
I could finish off with a crack about your cricket team and the 'Ashes', but that would be too easy.
Craigie.
-
Yeah,right ...We let you blokes win that one (rugby world cup).
Geeez... we beat you at everything else. Swimming, golf, squash, cricket, olympic games places etc. etc. Even beat your team at SOCCER. It gets tedious really. And there's only 20 million of us against how many poms??
Just hope our sharks, barramundi etc. don't do you too when you come here. After all, you wouldn't have much experience at handling big, wild spawned fish out of your bloody pond fishing set up would you ?
Sorry to hear about your dad mate. All our sympathies on that one.
I hope you have plenty of time to go to all the places you mentioned. It's a big country and car travel takes time here. Maybe you intend to fly around.
You've passed the first test anyway. You copped the sledging and gave some back. Good on ya.
Anyway, hope you enjoy it when you come here.
GES
-
What-ho, Jonathan, old man.
Point of pedancy, old bean... the colliquialism is spelt 'POHM'.
This is an acronym for Prisoner Of His Majesty, as emblazoned on the outerwear of the convicts and undersireables we washed our hands of a couple of centuries back.
One might even opine that the usage of 'POHM' to a native Englishman is a misnomer, as quite clearly, 'POHM' is a reference to the original Australians or the heathen, beer-swilling descendants thereof.
Speaking of beer-swilling heathens, this site is awash with them, and I have to admit they're not bad chaps (for colonials ).
Don't worry too much about all the pish-ripping over the fact that they win a lot of games involving chasing balls and other important things like that. There's bound to be a lot of needling. They're a tad sore that we decided to stop letting them win the rugger. I have to say, I agree that WAS a tad unsporting of us, especially when you consider that the poor colonials haven't won any wars or had any Empires or anything else to brag about
Listen to the excellent advice you'll receive from the chaps and that'll see you well on the way to getting some of the magnificent fishing down here!
R
Oh... one other little bit of advice, concerning Aussie 'pubs'... if you drop your wallet in an Aussie pub... kick it out the door
-
Hey Render
That flapping flag is going to wear those bloody numbers out soon and it's going to be quit a while before you get something to replace them with.
GES
-
Render,
The spelling of POHM is a long running debate I have been having with numerous other beer swillers. Although I have been backing POHM, I'm still looking for the diffinitive answer:
POHM - Prisoner Of His Majesty
POME - Prisoner of Mother England
Either way, you are all only a half-inched loaf of bread away from the shackles.
Jeff
-
I back POHM, too.
HM is a long-used and common abbreviation for the crown.
OHMS is On Her Majesty's Service, for instance and appears on all government correspondance up here.
I have never heard of 'Mother England' being used in any official sense, or even heard of it at all, to be frank.
So, my vote goes to POHM.
Incidentally, 1720 is an abbreviation for 'Makes An Aussie Cry Every Time'
Cheers, mate
R
Oh, GES - it'll be about 3 1/2 years before we get some lovely numbers to replace 17-20... perhaps we might post up a few 10-0's when Beckham and his crew decide to adjust the attitude of the Suckeroo's over their one solitary win.
Har!
-
-
Render,
Yep, POHM seems right to me, but 99% seem to spell it otherwise.
As far as your 1720, all I can say is, make hay whilst the sun shines!
Shit, we beat you at darts not long back, guess you need a good old crow about something after such a drumming in absolutly everything for so many years.
Jeff
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Its been POM for a long time but probably started out as POHM in that theory. It makes some sense. I heard a theory that the prisoners from England would arrive and the free Aussies would know them as POHMs, which later stuck for every Englishman arriving and then every Englishman anywhere. But I'm not sure it makes a lot sense given convicts stopped being sent here fairly early on.
Unfortunately its probably derived from pomegranate. Either through rhyming slang for immigrant ("Jimmy Grant" and "pomegranate"). Another theory is its from the ruddy skin tones of Englishmen affected by the heat in Australia, red skined like a pomegranate. Take your pick, the rhyming slang is the more accepted source.
http://www.quinion.com/words/qa/qa-pom1.htm
-
-
Come on guys, everyone knows a good joke about any country, why don't we just give them a bit of advice on what they want. I would if I knew anything about catching sharks, I'd even take them out but in the 3 years I have lived in Ballina, I have yet to catch a shark. Don't you think if they came over here and got on to some great fish that alone would shut them up about what a great place England is. I hope some of you guys out there will help them, I'm sure if they go on acharter iup north and ask to catch sharks the guide will think, hmmm .....this is easy. Any way, best of luck fellas, remember to be aware of crocs and stingers when you are in the northern part of aus.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
G'day mate, let me know if ya gunna be in Hervey Bay and I'll chuck a few stubbies out in th sun for ya and hopefully get ya onto some fish. NEED dates and places to help. ???
In the meantime.
An Englishman goes into a Sydney Sports Bar to watch the England France Rugby game on the big screen. He has with him a miniature Dachshund with an English flag painted on its side. The Sports Bar manager approaches the Englishman and says "I'm sorry sir but no dogs allowed in the bar". The Englishman says "its OK, he's very well trained, he's only small and he does tricks... the punters will love him". The Barman says OK, but I want you to sit him on the end of the bar where I can see him.
The dog sits dead still, focused on the big screen. 10 minutes into the game Jonny Wilkinson steps up and slots his first drop goal. The crowd goes up and the Dachshund flies down the bar, high fives everyone and moon walks back to his spot amidst rapturous applause.
"That's fantastic" says the barman, "what does he do if they score a try?"
"Oh I don't know" says the Englishman, "I've only had him three years".
Boom boom
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Aww bugga it one more.
PRESS RELEASE
The England team's training session was delayed today
for nearly two hours at Telstra Stadium. One of the players, while on his way back to the dressing room happened to look down and notice a
suspicious looking, unknown white powdery substance
at the end of the field.
Coach Clive Woodward immediately suspended practice
while the Police were called in to investigate.
After a complete field analysis, the Police determined
that the white substance, unknown to the players, was
the try line. Practice was resumed when the officials
decided that it was unlikely that the team would
encounter the substance again.
Hehe
-
Ausfish Gold Member
What the hell, I'm on a roll. Have we got any Kiwi members. ???
An Australian rugby fan, a Scottish rugby fan and a New Zealand rugby fan are all in Arabia, sharing a smuggled crate of booze when, all of a sudden, Saudi police rush in and arrest them. The mere possession of alcohol is a severe offence in Saudi Arabia, so for the terrible crime of actually being caught consuming the booze, they are all sentenced to death! However, after many months and with the help of very good lawyers, they are able to successfully appeal their sentences down to life imprisonment.
By a stroke of luck, it was a Saudi national holiday the day their trial finished, and the extremely benevolent Sheikh decided they could be released after receiving just 20 lashes each of the whip.
As they were preparing for their punishment, the Sheikh announced: "It's my first wife's birthday today, and she has asked me to allow each of you one wish before your whipping."
The Scotsman was first in line, he thought for a while and then said: "Please tie a pillow to my back." This was done, but the pillow only lasted 10 lashes before the whip went through. When the punishment was done he had to be carried away bleeding and crying with pain.
The Kiwi was next up. After watching the Scotsman's in horror he said smugly: "Please fix two pillows to my back." But even two pillows could only take 15 lashes before the whip went through again and the Kiwi was soon led away whimpering loudly (as they do).
The Australian was the last one up, but before he could say anything, the Sheikh turned to him and said: "You are from a most beautiful part of the world and your culture is one of the finest in the world. For this, you may have two wishes!" "Thank you, your Most Royal and Merciful highness", the Aussie replied. "In recognition of your kindness, my first wish is that you give me not 20 lashes but 100 lashes."
"Not only are you an honorable, handsome and powerful man, you are also very brave". The Sheikh said with an admiring look on his face. "If 100 lashes is what you desire, then so be it. And your second wish"?
"Tie the Kiwi to my back."