Thread: Which Wilson rod

Which Wilson rod

Hi guys I have been following a post started by CHRIS_aka_GWH on a 13'6 wilson live fibre surf (blue range?) rod, thought I would like to see one up close so I asked the guy in my local tackle shop about the rod but there seems to be some confusion on which rod we are all talking about.

My local guy says he hasn't heard of it and when he asked the wilson rep he was told that it may of been a special order that they couldn't sell, hence the cheap price and no more available, there seems to be a few 13"6' wilson rods and the one that my local shop says I should look at is either the 13"6' wilson trophy or the wilson champion trophy costing about $200 the trophy is a bit heaveier.

I have only been fishing for about 12months and am starting to get some gear together, I want a second setup to my 11"4' wilson black magic rod that I have which has an egg beater on it, I am going to try out a mates old alvey and if I can use it and like it I am considering the 6500bcv to put on a bigger rod, thats why I am looking at thw wilson 13"6' rods.

I live on the northern rivers of nsw and have only fished Ballina and Evans Head, having heaps of fun.

Thanks for any help

Re: Which Wilson rod

G'day Tony,
    Good to hear you're having loads of fun fishing.
    In response to your question, can't say I've ever seen the blue model you're talking about either. I have a 13'6 Trophy Wilson LF rod which is a gem and has taken plenty of good fish. It cost $149 (from memory) but that was a few years back now.
    Good luck champ, just keep asking around.

Herby

Thanks Hookem,

Just wondering what does the LF mean, in your reply you said "13'6 Trophy Wilson LF rod", and what reel do you use on it, I was looking at an alvey 6500bcv, not sure if I would be better off spending a few extra dollars and get the 700.

cheers mate

Sportfish_5

live fibre

ah man I feel like a dill, thanks sportfish