-
Location, Location, Location
After a recent post were one of the members made comment about fishing Mud Island being a waste of time, it got me thinking and trying to work out, ok if I want to try somewhere new, if not there then where??
Probably lots of us that would check out new spots if we just knew approximately where. So what do you suggest?
No not asking about gps spots. Just general areas.
This weekend a few are heading to the pin. So where should they head? Is Kalinga bank really the spot, Tiger Mullet, or somewhere completely different like little rocky point or one of the other Islands?
If I headed to Mooloolaba then which of the reefs are better.
If I went to Noosa, where are the better areas in the river.
In the bay I have heard of good catches around goat and Peel Island, but is that really the place to be?
Just generally, where is the best location, location, location?
And on the opposite side of this, where would you recommend NOT to go to. That could be even more valuable to save some of us ausfishers frustrating hours sitting in the WRONG spot.
My interest is in SEQld but no reason to restrict to just this area. Sorry Mexicans and northern members.
-
Re: Location, Location, Location
-
Cheech, i mainly fish reefs off point lookout, anywhere east/se of flat rock in 100m is worth a look, thats just the main depth im into, there is probably stacks of ground all over the place, rather than flog one spot ill move around searching for others. yesterday arvo we were doing it tough on a proven ledge so took a punt and headed to a rise id never dropped on and as luck would have it it was loaded with pearl perch! one double hookup saw 5 pearlies hit the deck with the dropper rigs, needless to say we left em biting as the limit came up soon after.
-
Hey bloke,
I've always been a firm believer that the best spots have a lot to do with how much effort you put in - regardless of how many fish are there. Now, obviously a spot is never going to be good if it literally does not hold ANY fish whatsoever. But, if a spot is known to hold fish, then it is only a good a spot as you make it - i.e, by the amount of effort you put in. On the other hand, if you go and sit over a spot and do fark all in the way of attemping to catch fish, you're sure as hell not going to get them.
Never having owned a boat, I've always had to make do with land based spots, and some of the most fun I had when I was younger, and still do, was/is exploring areas of potential fishing success, and looking for others.
Whilst it's always good to hear from someone about a good spot they found on the weekend, I find more satisfaction in doing the homework, exploring areas, finding a spot, giving it a throw and basking in the immense pleasure catching decent fish from it brings.
Slightly off topic, and not really answering your question Cheech, but that's just what I think.
-
Mexicans? In Australia? I thought they only emigrated to Chicago. I think I'm missing something here.
Well, I'll give you a hot spot of mine. Fox River, North ###### Dam. Stand on the third big boulder and cast into the dam with a white 2 inch twister tail. You'll catch smallmouth and white bass. Of course I'm writing this sitting in a chair in Chicago Illinois on the other side of the world (isn't the internet neat?!) so it probably won't be at all helpful to anyone reading this but you DID ask for hot spots!
Posts asking for hot spots usually end in full scale brawls on most sites I visit here. I never really have a problem sharing info. but then again I do go, "Oh heck! Shut up stupid!" when someone else gives away the EXACT location of one of my favorite spots. You had the tact and class to not ask for precise details, so you will probably get some good replies.
Anyway, good luck! Catch a ton Cheech!
P.S., I've got a load of other hot spots on the Fox, so if you ever visit the area and want to fish just ask!
"When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained.-- Mark Twain"
-
the main piece of advice i can give you for mooloolaba is to move away from all the people!! the main reefs such as currimundi, murphies, gneerings and coolum cop a flogging every calm weekend. i have found that moving off the main reef and working the smaller lumps and bumps around the outskirts proves much more productive.
fishing the close reefs, burley is the vital ingriedient!
-
Jeffo and Rob. Thanks for your contributions. I think that you have understood my intent. ie not to do anyone out of there secret spots, but more to assist fellow ausfish members in at least heading in the right direction.
Would like to see more posts though.
Ben,, your post confuses me. Based on what you wrote, I should perhaps start out at the tweed, and then spend the next 20 or 30 years trying every likely spot between there and Noosa and find my own "general areas"? Is that what you are doing to get into likely "general areas"?
BA229, yes very clever. Just don't stop me at the trafic lights and try to clean my windscreen.
El Carpo, same concept. Anyone that is south of the border (any border) is termed a mexican. I am just concious that we sometimes are just south east Queensland specific and almost exclude other states and areas.
-
-
I like the thoughts you have Jeffo, My big dissapointment is my SX100 Hummingbird which is, in my hands anyway, hopeless at spotting the fish or spotting the sharp boulders. I can't even pick the pipeline as I exit the Seaway. If I'm to map out the seabed I'll probably need to invest in a more upmarket Sounder but I dont know how upmarket I will need to go.
Anyway I'm brewing my new mix of Burley and we'll see how I go testing these ideas.
-
Ausfish Premium Member
Cheech, Spot x's are only as good as the knowledge learnt buy those that fish these area, yes they may help you in starting out and learning what these bottom structure will hold and what species will visit that area. But a lot of these so called hot spots are governed by the knowledge of how tide and winds effect them.
Your best advice is seek and explore, once you have learnt what sort of structure holds certain fish. Shit there are heaps of the same structures everywhere, you just have to find your own and then work it out, and it wont happen over night.
Yes im manily referring to the bay, shit loads of boaties roar over areas that hold fish, and they dont give any though to stopping and working these areas, there all intent on heading to the same old regular spots they have seen many boats anchored up on. (wrong).
There are some areas in the bay, that never see a boat anchor over it,, and fish life below is abudant, this is what you have to start searching for, and a bit of feed back from others, will help you in your quest.
Some of us could give you a shit load of GPS Marks, but you then have to also no the ideal times to fish these areas, and most only fish best at certain times of the day or night, with certain tides and moon phases.
My best advice is concertrate on one or two areas, that you have read or know certain species visit, and work these areas till you have found out yourself what is the best times.
Once you work out these areas then move on and explore others, till you find your own little niche in the bay.
Learn all about the species your target and this is important, as bay fishing is totally differnt to offshore fishing, where stocks are a lot more abundant, and its quite simple on most occasion to drop some heavy weighted bottom basher down and score on any old bait.
The bay a different kettle of fish with there, feeding, the structure they visit and so on, get a map and i mean a good contour map, blow it up till you see how the contour lines are more detailed and work out a few areas to go and explore, and the best times to explore these areas are at low tides. Fish just dont swim willy nilly around the bay, they visit certain areas at certain times looking for specific foods.
At times you can find better quality fish in the bay, then offshore, yes you wont get the variety offered offshore, but you'll have better fun chasing fish on lighter gear, then fishing with marlin gear offshore.
Anyone can get a m10 and tld25 loaded with 100lb line and drop it over a reef offshore and 80% of the time will catch fish, as far as im concerned thats not fish.
Go seek explore and learn, you'll be susprisd what you find out there.
-
"whats the time"
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Great post Webby [smiley=thumbsup.gif] sums up the bay pretty well.
-
we use 6-10kg outfits for marlin webby, dont get too carried away i agree with you but.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Cheech, fishin off the beaches I reckon Its a lot to do with the time you put in. Once you find a likely looking gutter, hole or area, its a matter of trying the different tides and methods etc. I also try to stay away from the people (although I dont mind a few people fishing for tailor in the same gutter). I always take a few outfits with me so you got the variety.
As with the outside fishing, 99% of the time I troll, when its just not happening I explore the different areas and either punch in anything interesting for another day or stop for a drop. I dont mind the inner reefs even though they get a bashing, it gives me an option when I can't go wide. I suppose my main focus just to go fishing, and fish is a bonus.
gav