PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Land locked - options please
Hey guys heaps of good info for those with boats but I'm after some info on places around Brissy to take the tribe and catch some fish.
We've had ltd success off the Hornibrook bridge, don't like the park at Deep bend, caught some smallish bream from Nudgee beach, same at Shorncliffe-cabbage tree ck area.
Looking to try somewhere different, prefferably with some amenities, the cheese and kisses likes clean porcalin.
Anyone got some tips on locations and target species, preferred tactics for that loc?
Have you ever been down to southport spit? Pretty much has all that you need, and if the fish aint doin it for ya, fish'n'chips on the beach while the kids chase pelicans always made my day.
Thanx for the tip. I will check it out when we get a full day on the weekend that is not disrupted with sport etc. We're in NW burbs of Brissy so it's a bit of a hike.
A couple of my kids have "issues" with pelicans, I think it stems from an unfortunate bread roll incident at a wildlife park. 5 yr old and the wife trying to eat and fend off 1/2 a doz of the big buggers. After I picked myself off the ground and stifled my laughter I pretended to be concerned. The missus couldn't see the funny side.
Thanx for the tip. I will check it out when we get a full day on the weekend that is not disrupted with sport etc. We're in NW burbs of Brissy so it's a bit of a hike.
A couple of my kids have "issues" with pelicans, I think it stems from an unfortunate bread roll incident at a wildlife park. 5 yr old and the wife trying to eat and fend off 1/2 a doz of the big buggers. After I picked myself off the ground and stifled my laughter I pretended to be concerned. The missus couldn't see the funny side.
If you dont mind heading towards Redcliffe try the entrance to the canal at Newport (next to Scarborough). It's mainly fishing off the rock wall but still safe and easy for kids if they are careful.
On a low tide it is also a great place to walk out along the sandflats towards the channel beacons and flick for some decent 45cm+ flathead. There are also stacks of smallish Bream there but I have managed to take some 28cm+ as well.
With lots of grassy parklands, bbqs and a toilet block it's a great place to take the family for a picnic and drop a line in the water and unlike the Hornibrook Bridge not all that many people go there either.
Sounds like the goods. We usually try and get a line in most weekends (usually evenings after sport etc). And it's not thyat much further than where we've been going.
G'Day Dave,Have a look at the Meet & Greet posting just put up under General topics,Jacobs Well Tourist Park is a top camping spot & you & the family are more than welcome to join in if it suits for the august trip,I'm sure the kids would love it plus there will be a few spare boat seats available for a few hours fishing if you can get a leave pass for a bit,if not,There is also a good spot we used to take the boys when they were little with a small beach at one end & a rock wall at the other & always managed to get a few whiting/flattie or bream & thats at Hope Island at the top end of the coast. Cheers Touchy.><> ><> ><>
Just saw the M&G post. Looks good should be able to at least make day of it. The kids are keen but getting sick of toadies. And the missus is keen to catch somethin less slimy than the catties she normally drags up. Thanks for the heads up.
Mate another good spot is the gunn jetty or rockwalls in manly. You have public toilets and fish and chip shops near by and also a public swimming pool less than 100m away. Also good fishing tooo which is a bonus. If you wanna catch big fish for yah kids fish for pike at the moment off the gunn jetty. Use white bait with very little sinker and cast and retrive for them just off the bottom and just before high tide it should be one a cast. upto 50 cm