Best place to start fishing Morton Bay - Page 2

Thread: Best place to start fishing Morton Bay

Re: Best place to start fishing Morton Bay

Hi guys,
    Some good ideas. Thanks for this.
    Hopefully the weather holds up, I heard we might get some rain.
    If any of you guys get out in the bay look for the white Abalone with the Honda 75.
    Come over and say G'day.
    Lee

Hello again guys,
    We headed out early Sat morning.
    The run across the bay was fantastic, the water was smooth and we had some dolphins pay us a visit.
    We had intended to get some livies at the shipping channel marker out from Curtain then head on over however my mate decided to get sick so we tied up on the beacon. All his 'berley' brought the live bait and bigger fish right up close to the boat.
    We saw Yellow tail kings chasing the bait fish and a shark chasing them.
    1 little Red Emperor...What the???..Didnt expect that and loads of jigged bait.
    Anyway had a top day and will be heading over to Curtain next weekend, weather permitting.
    Look for the Abalone and say g'day.
    Cheers Lee

Good to hear you got across ok. Maybe time to review your deckie if he got sick in calm conditions! BTW, don't tie up on a beacon - there's hefty fines for doing that.

Went for a dive at Curtin the other day,,, a few nice Kingies hanging around the wrecks, there was a school of about 10 hanging around the back of the Melborne (1 of the central wrecks) and most had a set of gang hooks and huge trace,s hanging out of there gobs, so there not being easy.Not a lot of Snapper, that I could see. And thanks to Underwater world, theres still no huge Qld Groper, 14yrs ago you would find a heap of the frendly giants. MQ

We had been thinking of chucking on the Snorkels and flippers for a peak ourselves.
    8)
    The massive shark at the shipping marker sort of put us off a little.
    What's the story with underwater world ??

Abalone_4.9

Good to see some top advice & some success comming your way. Will be looking to head into the bay & yonda soon (as a fellow novice, gotto run in the new motor first) A good mate of mine is based in Manly & looking to head out under his apparent guidence from the original "Rat".
    Happy Days !!!!!!
    Black Rat.

Under water world got there Qld Groper from Curtin , apart from the odd redneck with a speargun they were safe from anything, inc SHarKS. Amazing fish that seemed as intrested in us as we were them. I dont dive as much as I used too but Ive only seen 1 scince that place opened.
    I highly recomend going for a snorkle around the reef, Its a looooong freedive but on a still winters day you can see the wrecks clearlly from the surface. Before I started smoking and drinking and enjoying the finer things in life I freedived Curtin all the time, I wouldnt try it these days but, I got the body of a 90yr old. If you got a GpS, and ask some of the guys on the board nicly you may get the marks for some of the other spots inside the bay, I dont know any. MQ

dudes, if you really want some eatters you would be better off heading to the reefs off caloundra and catching squire n' sweeties(do you have a sounder??? if not the 600l furuno is great value these days $1400colour 350w rms-i payed $2500 in 99). the close in areas around caloundra dont see alot of fishing pressure in comparison to curtin arty- big snapper are rare of the arty, more are caught on the dropoffs of bulwer and cowan. but i reckon for more consistant catches outside is much better, now that snapper are 35cm limit not much point fishun curtain, i reckon tanga wrecks are better for snappery squire and a snorkle etc etc. but u need to be there at dawn or dusk with good fresh bait well presented on lighter line classes then most would fish -6kg. burley up and cast down to the fish. needs to be on the tide change, as the tide rips thru(there was a good report of fishing the tanga wrecks for snapper on creek to coast about a year ago) .
    the club i'm in had a very informative talk last night about snapper fishing and i feel its an accelerated learning curve for the newbie to the reef fishing scene- its a ton of fun when the fish are about but theres alot of water to cover to find them on some days.
    and on getting over there! out of bribie i would hug the island untill i hit skirmish point then cut across straight to bulwer to get to morton(on a clear day you can see the shallows to aviod) she must hurtle with 75 on the tinny what 30knots or a bit more??
    have a ball, damon

Black Rat,
    Good one mate, hope the motor performs.
    Yeah this is a great site, everyone is really helpful.
    It's made my ventures into the bay a lot less stressful and eventful :-)

Lee

Hey Quinney69,
    I to have found the pleasures of cig's and grog so as for the 'free diving'.....I was thinking more of just floating on the top.
    I would love to see one of these Gropers face to face.
    If your not busy one weekend we'll sneak into underwater world and steal back that big Curtain groper :-)
    Bag's not carrying it out though.
    Lee

Hey Damons33,
    I wouldnt know where to find any of the reefs off Caloundra.
    The Abalone tows easily so we are keen to give any places a go.
    We just brought a Matrix 20 gps/fishfinder which we are yet to hook up.
    Where does your club meet ?? Sounds like something I'd be interested in.
    As for the boat yeah it goes. It does around 30kts...I think.
    It's a 4stroke Honda so all you can see is a little bit of white boat and this massive silver thing.
    Have a good one.
    Lee

Hey Damons33,
    I wouldnt know where to find any of the reefs off Caloundra.
    The Abalone tows easily so we are keen to give any places a go.
    We just brought a Matrix 20 gps/fishfinder which we are yet to hook up.
    Where does your club meet ?? Sounds like something I'd be interested in.
    As for the boat yeah it goes. It does around 30kts...I think.
    It's a 4stroke Honda so all you can see is a little bit of white boat and this massive silver thing.
    Have a good one.
    Lee