Thread: Noosa live bait

Noosa live bait

G'day all

Having a few days in Noosa next week and will be heading offshore. Are there any live bait grounds in the area? any help would be greatly appreciatted.

Re: Noosa live bait

Try around Jew Shoal. Look for schools on the sounder and try to hold over them. If this isn't an option put out a healthy berley trail to bring them in. I've caught good numbers of both yakkas and slimies in this area using these techniques. Any sort of jig will do as long as you get them fired up.

Thanks for the input Serge, much appreciatted.

I don't know what you intend chasing but i do know that there are still good numbers of very nice snapper coming from the inshore reefs along the coast at present. I have nailed a couple in the last week and I have had word of many more. Get out early, take the time to set your pick perfectly on your spot, burley up (I use a mix of chook pellets, tuna oil, pilchard based tinned cat food and small cubes of mack tuna/pilchards) and drift whole pillies or yakkas with no or very little weight into the trail. Be early, go the berley, and you'll be sure to tie into something decent.
    Best of luck.

i was up at noosa today and i reckon that almost at any of the reefs there should be livies. i agree with serge that jew shoal would be a good spot generally there are always big schools of bait there. as to what you can target with them cobes tuna and snapper are in good numbers.

good luck
    cheers phil
    Bring on the Marlin!!!