Thread: Campwin Beach

Campwin Beach

Evening all,
    My daughter has just purchased a house at Campwin Beach east of Sarina. Going up there at Christmas so any info re the fishing or any spots will be most welcome. I know to take the Bushman
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Re: Campwin Beach

Any info out there?????
    Those of you in Mackay must know something
    Or is it that good that everyone is keeping quiet?

Neil_c

Gday Peter

That's my stamping ground If your land based, fishing off the rocks around the point at Campwin can produce some tuskfish (bluies) and the occasional sweetlip (grassies) The bluies love the crabs which can be collected at low tide or fresh prawn bait which will get both the above and various other small reefies. The mouth off Grasstree Ck, looking north from Campwin, usually has grunter, small cod and occasionally salmon will come in with the flood tide. Both these spots fish better on the last and early flood tide. At that time of the year we get some huge tides so keep an eye out

Grasstree beach itself fishes well for flathead and whiting around the top of the tide. We've seen golden trevally and even barra mooching around on that beach also.

If you have access to a boat then this opens up the close inshore reef areas through to the upper Sarina Inlet. The inlet can produce prawns and crabs.

Watch out for the heat and definately bring that Bushmans

Hi Neil,
    Thanks for that info. Does the wind pick up through late Dec or do some days glass out? Will tow the beercan battleship up so I want to get out to some structure if I can. Will Hay Pt be the closest all-tide ramp? Been advised that the mouth of the Campwin inlet dries at low ??? Any Spaniards at that time? Reefies out wider? Where can I get a chart with the new zones? More questions than Sale of the Century

Neil_c

Nice rig Peter

With that you should have no probs getting out to the closer islands, Knight, Cullen and on the better days Prudoe wouldn't be out of the question. They still get some nice coral trout and better quality sweetlip out there along with the usual reefy suspects. The spanish should be about, most folk will run a floater out while bottom fishn.

The ramp at Sarina Inlet should be okay, they launch some biggns from there. The Hay Point (tug harbour) ramp is more sheltered tho. The Campwin Inlet seems to be getting shallower all the time and is a bother on the low, no worries from half tide up or down.

The sou easters can blow for a week or more, like anywhere, but the lulls can be pure magic. The calm days usually will have a northerly come up in the arvo.

Try Barra Bobs tackle shop on Sarina Bc road for a chart, if not there then the tackle shops in Mackay should have something.

I have been in NZ chasing trout since March but will be back in a fortnight, with luck some rain will follow me home.

Thanks again Neil,
    Answered all my questions. Might even be able to catch up for a fish later in the year.

I use Campwin beach boat ramp it is tops, it would have to be very low not to use it, depending on the size of your boat, i can pull my boat 16' glass out with my 4cyl Camry, I am going to Cullen or ther abouts tomorrow.Col