-
Ausfish New Member
Rockhampton
anybody had experience fishing the fitzroy river at rockhampton?
fished the river in the city reaches a couple years back and caught barra but cant seem to do it anymore...is this because of overfishing or are the fish just harder to catch? caught some king salmon from time to time aswell, any places where they can be targeted?
ive been told Port Alma is a barra hotspot if you know where to fish...any suggestions or help would be appreciated. been fishing there but only caught grunter and salmon, along with plenty of sharks.
-
Re: Rockhampton
G'day Bugai,
I do a bit of fishing in the Fitzroy, but i'm yet to score myself a barra in there. I know they're in there cause my cousin gets em all the time (particularly between the bridges around the rocks on low tide). Its shouldnt be overfishing thats causeing the problem as there is a stocking program in place. I cant comment on Port Alma being a barra hotspot as i've only ever crabbed in that area, but this summer i'd like to do a bit of fishing in there too. Keep trying and good luck.
JD
-
bugai ,
have caught heaps of barra in the fitzroy. lats part of the runnout and firt little bit of the run in. cast minnows at the eddies behind the rocks from the town reach down as far as you want to go.
Get the tide to coincide with late arvo. If there is fresh in the river (ie the barrage gates are open ) then forget it. put in the time and it will pay off. some great fishing to be had in there.
cheno
-
They catch heaps of barra in the fitzroy at the barra bash right in town. If youve never caught a barra before it is like a curse until you do and then you will wonder what was so hard about it. keep on trying ( live bait is best mullet,prawn, herring)
goanna
-
i put my hand up for anyone going fishing there and has a boat spot to fill.
i'm yet to catch a wild barra.. and working at the Catch-a-Barra fishing park doesn't count.... not in my books anyway.
all i ever catch is Catfish in the river.. but i haven't fished there in years.
-
Bugai
Cheno was spot on the money about fishing the last of the runout and a bit of the run in tide. This is by far the most productive part of the tide for all fish in the River. If your going to target King Salmon they can be productive for the entire run in tide. Especially along the shallow mud banks found in the down stream parts of the river and around Port Alma.
If you want to target King Salmon fish the mud banks casting live prawns into the shallow dirty water on the edge and let the current bring it slowly back into deeper water. Keep it light as possible. Also, keep a live mullet or a bigger prawn in the deeper water for the occasional barra or whatever is lurking around.
This is a catch from Port Alma at Easter while I was home. The larger King were about 4kg and all (except the crabs) were caught on little tiny live prawns about 1" - 2" long.
Good luck!
-
Quality catch there, Vic. I'm heading to Rocky this weekend with the tinny. Heading to Thompson Point and gonna run some pots around Casuarina Creek on Sat arvo and Sun morn. Hoping to get a decent feed of crabs to have with the couple of kg's of prawns and keg of beer that we ordered for the Grand Final on Sunday I'm glad i have monday off
JD
-
Thanks mate! Do you launch at Thomo's or at AMH? I'm not to fond of that road into Thomo's but back in those days only had a 3.5m with a 15hp so there was no choice really. I'm planning on throwing some pots in here tomorrow. I'll be out on the roof doing the rain dance this arvo praying for a good flush out. Enjoy your weekend and the crabs!!
Vic
-
Have launched from Thompson's in the past and your dead right, the road is very dodgy, not to mention the ramp itself. Last time it cost me a few hundred bucks cause i hit the suspension with a huge rock on the ramp cause my car is too low (i really need a 4wd). Pick the boat up 2day from being serviced so I'll put in at AMH this weekend cause im keen for nice cruise down the river with a freshly serviced motor I'll let ya know how we went.
-
Ausfish New Member
Have fished the fitsroy for 5 years lures only love the place BARRA heaven
-
Krakatinnie,
So dont keep us in suspense. Share the knowledge, where, when and what lures? I see its ya 1st post on the site, welcome.
-
Ausfish New Member
CQ_Fisher # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # # I start 3 hours before low & fish till 2 hours before high # #all things going right on a bad day throw the rule book out . results can be mind blowing . a 30 + barra bite late 1 afternoon . Lure #RICHO EXTRACTOR 11 #
-
Ausfish New Member
Local_ Guy Sold boat last week new boat 475 Quintrex topender 3 weeks away will keep you posted
-
kool. much appreciated
-
Crikey.... been tossin' bait and lures from the bank in that river for a while now .... 2 b 4 high to 1 after, till I was red in the face. Now I am red in the face , wrong time.
That's the good thing about fishin'... always something to learn.... no matter how long yer been fishin' fer, or how old ya may be
Now, when is my next day off?