Thread: TURKEY BEACH.

CQ_Fisher

Re: TURKEY BEACH.

The ramp at Turkey isnt an all tide ramp. I can vouch for that, i found out the hard way . On low tide the locals use the little sandy beach next to the ramp to launch and retrieve. I spent easter there last year with some real shithouse weather. I got there good friday and that was the last day we could get outside. Being overly excited and keen to get into it while we had favorable conditions we headed off without checking the tides properly. On returning to the ramp the water was just lapping about a foot beneath the end of the concrete ramp so i quickly backed the trailer down and sat the trailer wheels right on the edge of the concrete hoping like buggery that it wouldnt fall off the bottom of the ramp. To cut a long story short i got the boat back on the trailer but i reckon if we had of been another half an hour later i would of been knocking on one of the locals doors with a 6 pack in hand asking to borrow the beloved tractor

JD

How large is the drop at the end of the ramp?? Or is it just really soft sand??

I think it's more like soft mud. If it is sand it's not very clean.

The ramp at Turkey is not the best at all tides, as Craig said, the sth easter is a prob.

I took me Ute ( 2 wheel drive ) as the tow vehicle and had no probs launching the ( 4.2 stessl ) from the beach beside the ramp. I also have Limited Slip Diff.

I had great success inside Rods Harbour. The summer months are better for the creeks etc.

Haven't checked the old marks for a while Smithy, they could be Gooooone !

I'll try to attempt to dig out references to Turkey.

Phil,

I should have bought your Ute , The Fairlane got bogged every time I used the beach to retrieve the Cyclone "Pick the Gumby Tourist"
    Very embarrising getting pulled out by a little Suzuki 4 banger

Even on the big high tides when the front wheels were close to the road, the back wheels still spun the car into a grave.

Cheers Craig.

Little Suzuki 4 Bangers are great!! They float on the sand rather than dig through it.

Different story when your towing though.

Some of the other "Locals" you may want to meet

Anyone heading there for the Christmas/New Year holiday. We will be there for 10 days praying for light winds. A couple of pics from last summer.

and another

Predator, there are heaps of options that time of the year. The rock cod shoals are very popular and there are plenty of lumps to fish inside and outside of there. Plenty of pelagics around Bustard and along the coastline. Inner wides is in your range and can go allright as well. We will be up there alot before your trip. We own a house there and will be relocating our boat up there for 6 months. Get in touch before your trip and I might have some info. Most likely be there when your going too. Tony

Great fish Tony 8)
    Thanks for the replies and the info about the boat ramp. I've been told by a mate thats it is 100m wide ???......

We will be up there from the 20th of Jan and will be taking crab pots and cast nets, hopfully there will be some muddies and prawns around. Not taking any other food, so the fishing better be as good as I've been told

One other ? comes to mind, how hard is it to get your livies, is it the same here( just bash the beacons or the wrecks etc)?

My oldies have a house at Turkey Beach. All the locals use the beach beside the boat ramp for launching/retrieving their boats. From my experience it is better to use the beach because when the Southerlies blow(the prevailing winds in these parts) the concrete ramp provides you with a bit of shelter whilst retrieving your rig. Also the concrete ramp has a few oysters on it and also can get a bit slippery. The locals always know who aren't from around there as the vistors use the concrete ramp.

Also Rodds Harbour/Turkey Beach is a Fish Habitat Area, so you can't use nets to catch any bait. I've got a mate who went to Turkey and was throwing a cast net from the boat ramp, luckily some locals told him the story before any fishos got to him.

Cosmo ya beat me to it regarding the cast net..
    Pump yabbies though...Though dont know for how long as i hear there's word out it maybe a thing of the past before too long ??? > , and i mean evrywhere..lets just hope its only a rumour..

Looking NW towards Blackney Point and entrance to Rodd Harbour.

Turkey Beach township on Left.