Thread: Summer Project (Noosa River Jack)

Summer Project (Noosa River Jack)

Ive decided its about time i caught a jack,and the boss(Missus) wants one too.
    Any help would be appreciated as to lures/sps required etc.We have tried throwing lures at snags above the first lake this morning, with no results yet.Any advise appreciated
    THANX

Re: Summer Project (Noosa River Jack)

Years ago we always caught jack in that spot by drifting near the snags with live herring.

Not lures but very effective.

Maybe try trolling a deepish diver as close as you can to the bank...if your not getting snagged up every so often, you're not close enough!!

Good luck

yeh mate i live in noosa and never caught a jack, is it the right time of year ? cause i will go up on saturday and have a try

When tossing lures for jacks I find a smaller plain coloured lure works best. If you see any movement on the particular snag in your first few casts try to keep casting in the same area.I've found jacks are very defensive fish and will attack your lure out of spite not hunger. Hering are the most sucessful bait I have ever used on jacks alive and dead if they are dead makes ure they are super fresh.
    All the best in the hunt Dan

Mate lives in Noosa and he has a Honey hole as he calls it so far this year 5 jacks to 53cm and the season has just started, he live baits for jacks.
    I dont know where he goes but there are lots of magazine articalls in all the usual mags.
    Cheers Cloud 9
    then it realy gets ughly

The fella I bought my boat off who in his own words "Only chased Jacks".

He said his style involve him tearing in to the zone at a pace, and upsetting the jack with waves and noise. The theory was to make it feel threatened and take your lure/SP.

Anyone else try this method?

no
    then it realy gets ughly

sounds crazy... if there was no jack in that certain snag you have prolly ruined your chance of getting a big bream,flathead or anything else that may have been sitting there. last summer my estuary goal was to get a jack, and i did it (in the noosa river) took alot of long nights live baiting and plenty of by catch. i found silver biddys and diver whiting got the most bites. any of the likely looking snags or rock walls from the river mouth up are worth a few hours of live baiting to see if anything is home. i kept my first jack and looking back was one of the bigggest mistakes i have made.. so many hours of chasing it and then kill it when i got it... selfish!! there will be no dead jack photos from me in the future.. ill let em all go so blokes like yourself can get their first. i would hope others would do the same

Thats what I thought... I am from the "quiet as you can" school.

Just wanted other peoples thoughts on his theory.

Mickk

Yeah I kept my first Jack. Come to think of it I have kept most of my first decent fish.

Do you drift with your livies, or sit in a good spot?
    How long will you wait until you try a different place? Sometimes I've waited hours before I'll wind the line in, waiting for that one big bite. Which seems to come when I'm doing something else.

ssssshhhhhhhhh! Mini, in fear of letting out the biggest Mangrove Jack secret ever, I will just say "there is method to his madness".

(I have probably already said too much)

i sit in one spot for a good few hours... try and get the las of the run in and the first of the run out.

Quote Originally Posted by jeffo
    i sit in one spot for a good few hours... try and get the las of the run in and the first of the run out.
    And if you can combine that with dawn, dusk or graveyard shift, your laughing.

Thanx people,(politically Correct terminology)????

From wat i read a lot of patience is required.One other thing,wat time is the best(Roughly) Daylight? Dark? Morning? sunset? Night? Thanx for rhe replys,BTW we release all fish after takin a photo/measure.

all my fishing was done very late arvo into the night... usually on the water at around 5pm and pull the pin at about 9-10pm. no jet skis at night