Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Bait presentation

Re: Bait presentation

Sergio,
    FISH DO LEARN and they are a damn lot smarter than most give them credit for. It's absolute bull**** to say they are only creatures of instinct. They used to think the same about sharks but with recent studies we are learning that they are constantly learning and adapting creatures. There are so many situations which prove this point to most that have fished seriously. Or just read once again my true story on pg.1.
    One thing that led me to disregaurd the saying that fish only act upon instinct, which means they don't have the ability to self teach new methods or habits, is when I put a Bass I caught in my aquarium. As I released it a week later I watched it swim off a meter only to return back a meter and swim out a meter again. This went on for about 5 mins until my guilt made me throw the fish into the middle of the dam. If anyone sees this fish in the middle of Hinze Dam still swiming back and forth, please troll the fish for a couple of hours for me. (PS-1mt is the length of me tank).

Quote Originally Posted by gunna
    There is a marine in Middle Harbour here in Sydney which has a heap of bream under the pontoon where you get fuel. We have thrown left over berley to them while we fill up. They will shoot out & skoff that quicker than you blink. We have put a hook in it & done the same - they shoot out, check it & ignore it. Now I dunno anything about memory or instinct - but these cunning buggers sure know something is wrong. And we were doing this because the people who work there had challenged us to catch one - cause they can't either !!!
    Gunna.... I bet that if you gave them a lump of cunejevoi they wouldn't resist!!! It's all in the tasty fresh bait and the presentation!!!!!

And Mick is right. People working on tiny Zebra fish (like in the lab downstairs) in research for instance, recognise that there are hundreds of genes, if not in the thousands, specifically for brain development and function. Humans have ~20, 000 genes in total.

I have to add that catching hardy heads from areas where people go and frequent, are also dammed hard to catch. Flick the cast net and zing! the're gone.........

Hate to think how many neurons a marlin has.

Sergio,
    Woke up and read my message. Didn't mean to sound harsh [smiley=furious2.gif]. Just my opinion. [smiley=oops.gif]

I guess it's just one of the things science can't quite solve yet... along with the common cold! And i think i've had enough argueing on here, it seems almost every time i post i get into a heated discussion about something... mabye i should just go buy a houseboat and be a hermit somewhere...

There is a marine in Middle Harbour here in Sydney which has a heap of bream under the pontoon where you get fuel. We have thrown left over berley to them while we fill up. They will shoot out & skoff that quicker than you blink. We have put a hook in it & done the same - they shoot out, check it & ignore it. Now I dunno anything about memory or instinct - but these cunning buggers sure know something is wrong. And we were doing this because the people who work there had challenged us to catch one - cause they can't either !!!
    this is a line class issue, the line is visible to the fish and possibly two other things - one part of the hook is visible or there is resistance to the baits' sinking/drifting action(which can be line class or angler not giving slack line).
    try using 2kilo or 1 kilo line(like platapus platinum!), a pink nipper with a hook that is totally obscured in the bait or a piece of yakka fillet/peeled prawn with hook totally obscured in the bait and then let the fish run off a little so its got it right down.
    there is heaps of good bream in middle harbour.
    damon

Heated - nup, definitely no. Hooked on ideas perhaps tho!!! (which is good)

I reckon the guys with the lazer beams blasting zebra fish neurons will have better understanding than us. Have a look at the link below.....

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/q..._uids=12736343

Marlins are marlins.

DICER

A good example of fish learning, even from a young age is feeding in fish hatcheries. Generally we feed fish larvae live microorganisms, but when they grow up a bit you start to feed them artificial food - if you just stop feeding live food and start feeding artificial food they will generally all die ie. they haven't learned that the artificial food is edible. If you gradually reduce the live food while increasing the artificial food they will learn that the artificial food is edible and 'wean' to it.

Having said that it is difficult to separate memory from aquired reflexes ie. whether the brain activates the action or other parts of the CNS.

oooo... someone who actually kinda sounds scientific about fish and stuff, i think it's time to bleed him dry

Basicly what you said was that fish learn, but they don't in the same sentance!?!?! are things like eels and rays as intellicent as fish or are they worse? as fish get bigger, do their brains also grow allowing more room for 'learning'? just some intersting stuff that'd be cool to find out about.

Thanx,
    Sergio

Sergio,
    No harm intended. I'm no scientist but just have my opinions. About brains growing though, just remember Einstein? had a smaller brain than average.

Now you don't want to teach fish to much, otherwise we'd all be starting to look like fat baitfish splashing around on the surface - I'd hate to see a marlin turn into something like a saltwater geko.

African Chicilid fish (?) are suppose to be fairly smart.

hahahaha fishinmishin, sorry to say this but i was talkin about Leo_N, but i'm sure you'd go close to a marine biologist or something....