Thread: darwin hotspots????

darwin hotspots????

Planning a fishing trip to Darwin area in early October next year! Anyone have any clues on best rivers or places to stay?? Would like to hear from anyone thats fished up there.....We plan to do our own trip over three weeks. Have our own boat and car!!

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Shane

stacer_seagull

Re: darwin hotspots????

Bazzaman, planning ahead a bit hey......never can have enough info...... Mate, i suggest grabbing a copy of fishfinder,it has a heap of good info about all places to fish,rivers,billabongs and the harbour... if you are using the gps coordinate you will see that they arent spot on,but with a bit of sniffing around you will come across what your looking for..... the mag is a must......well at that time of the year the weather is really starting to heat up, so the billabongs are always worth a try,and the scenery awsome, was out there on sat night and boated 4 keepers amd lost numerous other barra. if your going up to kakadu,the east alligator river is a good place, wicked scenery and good fishing.... As for the rivers, you would be better off to see how they are fishing at the time,the adelaide river has been closed to commercial fishing this year,so we should start to see a increase in fish by next year hopefully,and that ramp is only about 45 mins from town...... the harbour is starting to produce a few barra now the waether is warming,plus theres always salmon,bream snapper and a few other species on offer as well, just got to get the tides right. using lures or graba cast net and get live bait.....while flicking around,grab a couple of pots and see if theres any muddies about.. If you are looking at some blue water action just have to keep an eye on late arvo storms,but the water is usually like glass......the fishfinder mag has a number of coordinates in for the harbour,so if 1 spot aint fishing well,its a short trip to the next wreck.... Need any more info, just let me know.
    cheers Brad

yeah thanks Brad i have that mag, i bought it a few years ago when i went to hinchinbrook......Is worth it thats for sure!! Thanks for the info the more the better.... I know that live bait is a goer ive fished Nq before for barra and the likes! Just looking for more info on rivers and where to stayy is best!

Cheers Shane

stacer_seagull

Mate, if you are looking to camp, there is a good camping grounds at the east alligator,i think it costs about 5 bucks a night, there is two boat ramps, i on the fresh water side and then on the tidal side,the tidal side can get pretty low at that time of the year on low tides,the fresh water side,probably isnt as good to fish,but for the scenery it is a must.... On the south alligator,which you come to before the east,there is a hotel and i think they have dorms which is a cheaper alternative, then it is a 2 minute drive to the river,again,it can get very low,so watch for the sandbanks and dont get stuck. another good river is the daly,no doubt you have heard of that, there is heaps of van parks and campoing,and a few that have aircon dorms,which you will probably want in october,relativley cheap as well,and good fishing, just make sure you take a few cherabin pots,because if the fish arent biting on lures they cant resist a cherabin,and that seems to be the best at this time of year as well... a good place to camp there is woolianna on the daly......Well i think i covered most of the rivers,like i said if you need more info,let me know
    Cheers Brad

No mention of long tailed, short nosed, swamp dogs eh Brad!

There are a couple of exellent spots about an hour out of darwin, Dundee Beach is good but my choice is Crab Claw Island , it is on the way to Dundee Beach. There are a few cabins and a small pub there, great fishing and crabbing, sheltered bay of you can head out to some close reefs. I was there a couple of weeks ago and the barra had started running, there was a fly fishing tournement on and they landed plenty of fish over the weekend

Dundee4me

Dundee Beach well someone knows the place my outlaws live there mad keen fisher folk....good for jews and trcky snapper....if you really want to fish but Gove is the place to go...you name it its there in full supply..Nannygai,Mackeral, Emporer...the best place i've ever fished...but maybe my chat name says it best...i'm sold aye......

Talk to a local at a pub thats the best bet. Find somewhere where there are lots of crocs that usually means theres lots of barra. You probably will catch heaps of queenfish and salmon pretty easily as the place is full of them and they are a pain. Good fun though\

Good luck

Devocean

Hi Shane, all the above places mentioned are good, you should also try the Limmen Bight River (Steve Barrets) fishing camp, and McArthur river (king Ash Bay) Borroloola. Both river systems lead to islands off the coast, this will give you a huge range of fishing options, river, coastal and open water. Cheers Mal. 8)

hi there dont know what your budget is or your boat size but i would head for the mouth of the south alligator, if the barra arent biting but should be in oct you can head out to sea about a k or so and bag your limit of big jewies to 15kg plus and big goldies just look for lumpy bottom it takes about an hour and a half from the ramp on the stuart hwy to the mouth you can camp near the boat ramp or live it up 10 min from the ramp .at the bungaloes at the south alligator,i wouldnt venture to the mouth in less than a 4mtr some crocs in these rivers use 3mrt tinnys for tooth picks take notice of the tides add 5hrs from darwin harbour watch the mud banks 2 guys dissapeared a couple of years aggo when there boat hit a bank at low tide they found there boat but the patern on the mud indicated that they got catapulted right out the boat and they were never found all the best anyway........ cheers rob topend .
    Shut up and fish

could you possibly find a bad place to fish in the NT??????????????????

Alice