-
Bluies out from pancake near 1770
around middle & outter rock are bluies best fished near the rocks or out from the rock's?
& are ther any other grounds near the rock's that are good for bluies.
Kleiny
-
Re: Bluies out from pancake near 1770
-
-
Venus Tusk fish I think he means. You catch them where there is heaps of hard coral plate type stuff and the best bait is crabs. therefore close to the rocks are always an option because they often wait fo crabs to be knocked off by waves. However have caught them away from rocks as well. Hope you have some tough gear kleiny as the big ones bust me off several times on 60 pound handline.
Great tasting though better than trout
-
that's what i'm talking about devocean , i have hand lines with 80lb
-
Yeah that will do. Where I am from in NQ they are more prized fish than barras or trout because they are hard to catch. Crabs are by far the best bait and they pull like freight trains. I do spear a few but they are real tough so you need a good sized gun to get right through as they have big scales.
I do find them often ripping the reef to shreds with their teeth. They are great eating though up there in my top 2 for sure
Devocean
-
80lb handline is a bit heavy!
I knew some blokes who fished for them around the Keppel Islands. They fished with nothing over 4kg, and used small hooks and small baits.
While spearfishing/diving up that way around the rocks under any whitewater wash against a oyster infested rock would have about 20+ tuskies doing a patrol for food. The bigger ones (5kg+) with the big smooth head (not sure if same species) would always be nestled up in amongst weed on a rocky bottom.
-
quite regularly around this area people use up to 100lb line because specimen of around 20kg are regular. the reason for 100lb line is they head for cover after hitting the bait & if you don't stop them immediately before they get into the rock snags.however you go for it with 4kg line i'll save my 4kg line for mackeral.
-
Gday Kleiny
If you know Pancake area well we were spearfishing at Jansons which is to the left comiing out of Pancake they were absolutly every where the biggest one we nailed was 14KG and this was in no more than 3 to 4 meters of water. We also got quite a few big trout down there as well. You will see some of the biggest Cod ever that have been there ever since Ive been going up. We even spotted a few Barramundi Cod but they were safe. You also get alot of pelalgics patrolling the area as well. I dont know how you would go line fishing they are pretty easily spooked in that depth. If you are going to try line fishing for one try the red bouy near the mouth of the creek there are some big bommies arround there and there are some XOS bluies & trout down there fished at the right time. I wish I was up there again. Its gods country. Good luck Jamie
-
Jim Bob must have has some good hardware to penetrate that fish what type of gun are you using?
-
One scale of a bluey can get bigger than a 50c piece. Hit one in the wrong spot with the spear and its like trying to hammer a nail into a piece of 2x4 with a drinking straw. Not an easy task at all!
-
Use a four sided detachable mako head and shoot in the head shoulder area.
Regards, Tony
-
Are you referring to the pronged spear heads? Do you stock them? Or do you mean those pyramid types?
-
The detachable heads are a single point with 2 floppers on the side (mako style)
They are usually ground on four sides to achieve the point. The tip detaches from the spear and only remains connected by a short length of stainless multi-strand cable.
You need to be using a reasonably powerfull gun to get the penetration, but they go in a lot easier than some of the other types.
The idea of the tip detaching is so the fish can twist and carry on without being able to bend the spear or use the weight of the spear to lever itself off.
Agreat way to go! Ive always found the multi prong heads useless on big strong fish, ok for small stuff. I do stock most types of heads.
Regards, Tony
-
I didn't meen we nail every fish that swims in front of us there are plenty of fish up there that are missing some bark but if you can get there & stick ya head in the water you will see what I mean maybe Agnes could back me up on that one. I usually use a mates gear from bundy he spears all the time. And he says my gear is too crap for up there not sure of the brand but I know it has 2 rubbers and the actual spear is a thin material similar of that discribed by agnes he mail orders it up there from the place at the Gabba. We do use the four prongers for the cray fish up the holes. The bluies really arent that hard to get in that depth they are usually all hiding up holes & cracks so its just a matter of finding one & hitting him in the hole . But it is with out a dout the best spearfishing experience I have ever had. You will catch more fish line fishing but no where near the quality. Other species in close are sweeties, small cod, pelagics, stripeys, some of the biggest morwong I have ever seen which are good crab bait up the creek & there are shit loads of Wyanetta Cod but we steer clear of them as its a bit grey on the legal length because they dont seem to grow very big. But the bloke i go with has hit a bluey & had to hit it again with cray gun to finish things off.
Cheers Jamie