Thread: Favourite slugs for Spainards

Favourite slugs for Spainards

Just wondering what sizes / setups everyone uses to cast slugs for spainards. I'm going to do some live baiting this summer but i would like to be casting metals while i wait. I have a 60gm sniper on multistrand 60pd wire that i think will do the trick but only time will tell. I aslo might try some of those massive snapbacks while i'm waiting for the livies to go off.

Re: Favourite slugs for Spainards

JB

My biggest favorite for spaniards are maverick taipans - without question. They are about 65gm and quite long and flat so that unless you hook a fish on the drop the length of the lure helps to prevent the fish from biting you off. At least this seems to be the case for school sizes spanos. Have tried heaps of others with and without wire etc. I hate using wire cos you just get so fewer bites. However, if you want to use wire really light single strand is probably the best way to go. High speed jigging really takes it out of you, so its great to be getting hookups moreoften to keep you motivated. My other tip would be to go for an ultra fast retrieve. It is a deadly technique. Heaps of times I have not had a touch on nice troll baits only to clean up on the jigs whilst trolling along.

hope this helps

Cheno

The largest sized bumpa bar slugs preferably brass coloured ones. Works really well when jigged aswell

take a couple of beers, some chips and a magazine.. sit back with ya livies out and wait get some burley going too

spinner

Have to agree with Cheno on the Taipans!

I want to know how I get a hold of a few mackmauler slugs. Have read that many posts of their successes.

Cheech, i think if u pm phill he will bring a few for you to purchase at the ausfish xmas do at vicky pt.

hahah, theres no relaxing in my boat jeffo! cast cast cast...

Jason
    By far the most succesful metal around here is the 50gm flasha spoon for the spanish and the 20gm flasha for schoolies and spots. I have a damn hard time keeping up the supply! They are also brilliant on the longtails. The boys on the rocks are now using virtually nothing else. And they are aussie made in rocky!

Regards, Tony

Sounds really good Tony, have u got a pic of one, or a link to a website? I will see if i can find em down here. Getting a big blue on a slug would be a great feeling i reckon, hoping i will get a hookup next month at the tweed.

Jason

JB
    Yeah they are a good allround lure. Some blokes prefer to remove the trebles and replace them with a 6/0 or 7/0 hook. Also worth putting a snapback on the back of em

Regards, Tony

Cool, thanks for the photo mate, i'm really interested in that snapback idea, how does that work exactly? U thread a snap onto the hook of the lure?

I agree with Tony that the Flasha's are an awesome spanish lure. When fishing anything over 20m you can get a bit impatient waiting for them to sink compared to a taipan......your arms will enjoy the time off.

Also keep one with the 8 or so red tear drop shapes painted on (instead of the prism tape) in your box. It is a copy of a GibbsCroc lure. I found they go off with the grey/broadbarred macks. Don't think they come any further south than Hervey Bay though.

I see your on the GC, where do you head out from? I didn't get a chance last summer to fish down there. I got as far as towing the boat down early only to be met by a couple of localised thunderbumpers that made it too risky to attempt heading out.

Clayton

Quote Originally Posted by Custaro
    ........... When fishing anything over 20m you can get a bit impatient waiting for them to sink compared to a taipan......your arms will enjoy the time off

Clayton

Clayton

Are you jigging with these spoons, or do you mean that when you cast them you let them drop to the bottom before you retrieve? Do they tend to splash on the surface a lot with a fast retrieve unless you let them drop?

Tony, yeah I always let the lure drop to the bottom or close to before retrieving. The Flasha's do tend to skip on the top when fast retrieved without letting them sink for a bit. But I do let all slugs sink before cranking them in unless I see the fish working the surface.

Clayton