Thread: lobster pots  

lobster pots  

When I used to fish the river I always used to take a (usually 2) trap to catch muddies while I was drifting the river.

My mate and I have been rebuilding his (bigger) boat so we can get back out to bluewater fishing and nattering yesterday we were wondering why we wouldn't take a couple of lobster pots with us each time we went fishing. I mean, throw them out and then pick them up again on the way in.

The answer of course is that we don't know j/s about where to begin with lobster. Do you just find a bit of reefy bottom in less than 10 m. of water (NSW reg) and chuck a couple of pots out? Surely there is more to it than that ? Anybody got good suggestions for where to put the traps (nthn NSW - Ballina/Evans Head) and info like what is the best for bait in the trap?

PS did a search on ausfish and found very little - not many seem to try - I guess there is a reason for this - too hard to get a result??

thanks

Re: lobster pots

One of the reasons I think, is that the more northern types of cray, are predominatly weed eaters. Different species down south, the red cray, are more a meat eater, much easier to get them in a pot. Most of the crays from the bottom of NSW north are taken by divers.

Regards, Tony

Thanks Tony

There had to be a reason why there are no amateur traps to be seen offshore from here

I'm not about to take up diving - too many noahs for my delicate temperament - Ill just settle for fish then.

G'day Tony,Lobsters/Crays actualy trap quite well in our area,I only know of one rec fisherman that does it and only when he is hollidaying at Evans,the reason for this is that the crays only feed of a night so pots have to be set late arvo and retrieved early the next day.There are a few commercial cray fishermen that work the area inside Cahors/Kaos Reef and a section of reef inside the bombing range located in close between the control tower and South Reef,I'm not sure if these blokes work through the night but they have been there a lot earlier than I can get there,rumor has it that they are very thoughtfull and will make sure that any traps they come across will be nice and light for the owner to haul up.

Thanks Banshee

Overnight feeders and professional siphoners to contend with. Have to give that some thought.

Hi Tony
    In Tassie its a big thing, lot of people have lost their lives chasing em, the southern rock lobster is also a predomate weed eater but are parcial to a feed of fish. what I have found over the years is the pot needs to be soaked for a couple of days before it is used seriously, I believe the bubbles come out of the pot as they soak in the water scaring the lobsters. As far as where to put them, I like to find a nice clear spot in amongst the weed (to bloody hard to pull up when covered with weed) the lobster walk a lot at night time feeding, that is why night is better, be putting mine in boxing day hoping for a feed when camping.

Good info, thanks Blaze

Not sure where to find weed here - but Banshee wil most likely know.

On the north coast of NSW and don't know where to find weed - you must be getting on. [smiley=devilish.gif]

Quote Originally Posted by Leo_N.
    On the north coast of NSW and don't know where to find weed - you must be getting on. [smiley=devilish.gif]
    Listen,

I've just about had enough of your lip, fella

T

Nimbin aint too far, just ask one of the locals, and they can put you onto some..., er..., ah.., bait?

The Kiwi's are always bringing their lobby pots up this way, and I have never seen one of them bring up a crayfish.

Most of the crays up north cant be caught in pots. However I have seen a few pots down south and they have mouths on the top and they use fish frames for bait. I am told reef with sand around it which makes sense because that is where I find most of my crays as well. I have heard people catch crays on handline using a stocking and fish frames. Heres a piccie of my last cray

A speargun and a good set of lungs is all ya need.

A speargun that dosnt jam up either helps

Where you blokes get them shrimp have to be the smallest crays ive seen pulled of a reef or im just fussy