Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: call to the billfish brigade

Re: call to the billfish brigade

Did someone mention "Spotties" ?

damon- first tiagra ill be buying will be a 80W..

Hi guys,

was out looking at a few reels earlier tonight the trg 2000 "charter special" caught my eye due to the level wind thought it might make the rig a bit more flexible ie snapper fishing next winter(probably just need to get used to guiding the line). Although the level wind looked a bit flimsy, the drag system looked the same as the tld's any thoughts on these reels for trolling? Also the TLD 15 looks to hold alot more line than the 20 is this the case?

Matty

Do not, repeat do not look at either a TLD 15 or Charter Special. #For whatever reason they are not as waterproof as the 20s, 25s and two speeds. #You will forever be changing bearings if you do. #Levelwind is more of a hinderance than a help. #There is not much extra involved to get a single speed 20 anyway. #

There are some pretty sharp deals out there at the moment. #PM me for a scoop if you want. #Just bought another TLD20 yesterday myself.

Tiagaras are really only trolling reels. Try hanging onto one all day when livebaiting. Stick to the TLDs and stretch to a 2 speed if you can afford it.

rob mate, the drag problem was being casued by the stuffed bearing on the left side of ther spool. The reel works like a dream and now has all the upgrades. It is also fitted with 500m of serious braid and a 6 foot graphite prototype Jigging rod. I am trying to go either the xmas weekend or the next one after that if the wind is right. ABout my boat will be picking it up on wednesday with new trailer motor (Yam60 efi) but Will have to pull money out my arse to pay for a colour sounder and gps. Been asked to go offshore on sunday in a Blackwatch 38 but I stuufed my back at work and don't think I will be able to handle 10kg of drag.

yep, dont bother with the charter special.. the level wind will be the first thing to stuff up! the TLD 15's are a good reel, but like smithy said not as water proof. for the money at the moment its hard to go past the 25's i reckon.

Thanks Guys,

Thought that might be the case with the level wind. Well my mind is pretty much made up on the rig now, have found a good deal on a tld 20 and 15kg full roller rod hopefully pick it up this arvo if everything goes to plan.One thing on the 20 does the 20 mean made for 20kg line or 20kg avilable drag ie: 30 kg line and drag set a 2/3 breaking strain? I will be asking the tackle shop guy this but like to have a bit of an idea first. thanks again for all the help, invaluable & sunday is looking the goods for offshore, time to practise some knots & rigs .

Matty

Matty,

the TLD20 is ldeally suited to 10 kg line (20 lb). I think you're overdoing it with 15 kg - most of the fun is in the fight and they fight clean and don't go that hard anyway.

All the info on lure selection and rigging will be covered at our club meeting in January. Hope you can make it, but if not good luck with the new arrival!

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

well nobody denigned the money claims i made! # you are going to bleed hard for fishing gear for a while...but you only live once.

i think that alot of what has been said occurs due to lack of standard maintance- breaking down the reels annually and cleaning and oilling them.(i have two reels requiring service much like a motor car does periodically).
    # if a tiagra is too heavy then a 15 is lighter then a 25.......yes????? #
    # those figures are in pounds for the yank market-so a 30 is 15kilo, nooby dude put 10kilo on your new reel .....then get "out there" and become "leet".....like jeffo'
    # you will love the cd rom if you buy it(i have it)- as it will allow you to look at things perdinent to the moment at the moment.. when you choose to do so ...instead of wait for correspondence.
    # remember you can't get better gamefishing advise then what peter pakula would give you(no offense to the guys here). it would be the fast track to success for you in gamefish, before you know it you will no longer be a "marlin virgin".
    happy hunting...damon

if a tiagra is too heavy then a 15 is lighter then a 25.......yes??

Yes, but I would never own another 15. Some of the Sunshine Coast guys were big fans of the Daiwa LD50Hs. No need to go TLD25. You will never need the 900-1000m of 8kg you can get on a TLD20 anyway. We popped 8kg due to water pressure the other day with only 5-600m out. Do you reckon the 25s balance better or something Phill? Don't see the point in spending a few extra bucks for one over a 20.

Damo,

wasn't your CD a freeby. I seem to remember Pete giving you one at the Couran Cove Tournament.

rob , yes i did get given it.... but i still stand by what i said about it and i don't think you would discredit it either- just expose the fact i got it for free! ok you mighten need it but what about flatmat here? you read some of his lame questions(its easy to see this from a experienced position, i mean no offense to you mat) don't you think he needs some heavy duty orientation?
    i have 2 ld50's, rob, and jack erkine said that the tld 15 had better/larger drag systems. in the end you could catch a 15kg black on the tss4 eggbeater. i have 3 2spd tlds 2/50's and a 30 all are great reels so i would go with the 20,2spd if on a budget over anything mentioned so far for strickly trolling reels. but the bosses are the same price and can pull a couple more tricks, even if as jack erskine said to me over the phone they are "high maintance, like a f1 car".......yes the tld 2spds are the 186 red motor of the fishing reel world.
    its all good !
    damon

Damon,

None taken mate I realize I know jack S**t about game fishing but i'd rather ask a lame question than make a lame decision! (i.e:bought the TRG)Thats the beauty of this sight I reckon it gives people like me the oppurtunity to get an insight into the knowledge of guys like yourself, smithy,jeffo & mackmauler etc so that at least when I'm spending hours trolling for no strikes I know I am at sortof close to doing the right thing. (if only I had known about this site when I started with the soft plastics ).

thanks mate where hoping all goes well to. If the missus gets her way it will be all said and done by the 19th

Matty

damn rite matty' its that attitude which gets results- not afraid to ask!
    #as a school kid i spent alot of time pestering the likes of tim simpson, mark bohm and ian miller - quizing them on "how, when and where" all kinds of stupid shite which must of shit them to tears at times, so your not alone there. its all about doing "your hours" and working it out, so forget about time limits or dates to have it over and done with!
    # #its the "not mince words" answers which i love to see- even if i don't agree with some of the answers, sometimes.
    #its the great fishing talent available here which keeps me "loggin' on".
    # one things for sure if there's a free jumper with smithy on board you'll know about it!
    and i think jeremy will change his opinion about beakies when he gets one he can't lift into the boat for a photo. for me marlin are the ultimate powerhouse sportsfish/gamefish there is.
    damon

smithy (aka gympie 1 ) yeah i like using the 25's a bit more than the 20's. not to sure why.. maybe a balance thing?? just feels a touch nicer.. but each to their own

Damo might be right there - I haven't got one bigger than 20 kg yet, but I didn't hear anyone saying 10 kg was too light and go with the 15 kg either!

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy